We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely lovely lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Heron Cottage, just 200m from the beach Cosy winters with a glass of wine by the fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Relax in the quiet back garden, great for a morning coffee
Heron Cottage, just 200m from the beach
Cosy winters with a glass of wine by the fire
Beach on the doorstep
Modern, well equipped kitchen with kitchen staple items all available
Relax with a bottle of wine, they'll be one in the fridge
Enjoy and home cooked meal or takeaway in the open plan dining area
One of my favourite places, reading the paper with a coffee in the sunroon
The master bedroom has lots of space, blackout blinds and a ceiling fan
The double room has a ceiling fan for warm evenings and a blackout blind for a good nights sleep
Follow Hythe's history on the short heritage trail
St Leonard's Road - right between beach and high street
The twin room looks out over the garden
The twin room has a ceiling fan and blackout blind for a good nights sleep in summer or winter
Space for a game or two, or just a glass of wine
Eat alfresco with a barbeque or just a picnic
Enjoy a long soak in the jacuzzi bath or a quick shower in the separate shower
Working beach with fresh fish daily, not Sundays, at Griggs from 7am to 1pm (12pm Saturdays)
The large 11th-century church is up the hill; restored in 1750
There's always something to watch on the beach
Great walks for a view over Hythe
The Royal Military Canal at Hythe from the Ladies' Walk footbridge
Engraving of 'The Barracks and Town of Hythe, Kent' from Ireland's History of Kent, V
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hythe, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen R
Crayford, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely lovely”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A beautiful cottage in a beautiful area. Lovely home, all you need is there. Will definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
I love that you have referred to the cottage as home. As we use it ourselves we have tried to make it homely - glad you found it that way
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8654rega
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We adored Heron Cottage and had a fabulous weekend. The cottage itself is beautiful and very welcoming and its location is ideal for exploring Hythe and enjoying some fresh seaside air. The owners ensure a warm welcome and it was a wrench to leave this oasis of delight.The kitchen area is wonderful and despite inclement weather we did manage to find a pocket of sun and enjoy some time in the garden.We would recommend staying here and look forward ourselves to returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
We're delighted that you had a good stay. Thank you for such a positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venus67
North East England
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Charming Heron Cottage ”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Perfectly located and well equipped little house that was a really comfortable home from home.
Short distance to the beach and a nice private garden to the rear.
Helpful and responsive owners.
Only one suggestion would be the addition of a rail to assist older aged adults on the stairs. Otherwise a wonderful location for a relaxing escape.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are going to look into getting a handrail fitted in the quieter winter months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdm-bass...
Stourbridge
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very clean, very comfortable, simply the best. We enjoyed a refreshing relaxing, holiday. We will go back and explore more of the area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable, well appointed
Liked least: We only had a week
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
So glad you had a good time, there's certainly lots to see in the area - we keep going back and still haven't done it all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DARTFORDS...
SOUTHEND-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hythe Cottage ”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent a lovely week at Heron Cottage from 7 August. We loved the house especially the really comfortable beds, the well equipped kitchen and its closeness to the beach. Our son and daughter loved spending the evenings sat on the pebble beach. Everything has been thought of in the house. It was particularly nice being able to sit out in the garden with a drink when the weather was good. Hythe is a 10 minute walk away with its lovely traditional high street. The kids loved travelling on the Romney Hythe and Dymchurch railway. The softplay Kidz Planet and the Silver Screen cinema (both at Folkestone) were great value. Lovely food at the Castle in Saltwood. We loved our week in Heron Cottage and would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
We're so glad that you had a good week at the Cottage. Its funny how attractive a pebble beach is for children...and with the added benefit of no sandy feet to worry about! Hope we can welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$73
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing