We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab B&B”
Review of Gladstone House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Faversham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gladstone House
Ranked #4 of 15 Faversham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Lovely house and garden. Delicious breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere (down to the wonderful host Mary). Close to the centre of Faversham, with the train station on the door step. Well worth booking...do it!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ToadSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Gladstone House. Thank You ! Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Late booking for a bit of Rand R for one night. This is our third stay with Mary...and now we feel like family. Nothing's too much trouble and she offers the best medicine for stress...a good laugh! Add to that a smashing brekky, comfy bed and beautiful house you are in the perfect home from home.See you next year Mary .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debsgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

The kettle will be on !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The highlight for us was our hostess for our two night stay, Mary. What a character and what a force of nature. Has more stories than the Brothers Grimm from nursing Peter Cushing to having a world renowned diamond cutter stay in one of her four rooms for rent.

The rooms are a good size, even the attic where we stayed which has a roomy wet room style shower. Tea and coffee making facilities are in each room with biscuits.. nice touch.

The house itself is narrow from the front but very deep and a fantastic breakfast room extension where Mary "entertains" whilst she serves. Just pick your breakfast time and sit round a large communal table and chat to whoever is there. Many cereals are available and of course a full English - The holy trinity (bacon, egg and sausage) with mushrooms, beans and spuds (Mary is Irish). Make your own toast and tea/coffee.

Mary also sorts out parking tickets and has a book by the front door. Just rip one off, scratch the date off and put a pound in the pot which will sort out your parking permit for the day... you will need this.

The location is good as only a couple of minutes walk from the main high street.

When we go back to Faversham I would not consider staying anywhere else. Other guests were repeat stayers for many years.

Room Tip: Only four rooms, two twin and two doubles. We staying in the attic room which was absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you Patrick S for such a lovely review. It was good fun having you both to stay even though you were in the crow's nest ! I am delighted to hear that you will both come back someday soon. The spuds await !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Needing somewhere to stay at short notice all the hotels were fully booked except one that wanted £180 for one night, I decided to try a guest house. We had never stayed in a guest house before so had no idea what to look for, or what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with this one, a regular home from home run by a very lovely lady. The room was spotlessly clean very cosy and very comfortable with free wifi. The breakfast we had was a full English which was freshly cooked and very filling. A big plus for us is that it caters for allergy sufferers and my wife has a nut allergy. If we ever need to spend the night in Faversham again, this will be the first place I contact.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thanks Danny. It was a pleasure having you both to stay. Hope to see you again before too long

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Last minute booking required for stopover after seeing Hamish Stuart Band at the excellent Alexander Centre in Faversham. Mary very helpful, and provided a superb breakfast, & company. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rolandbasscube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you both for your kind review. Hope you will be back to more concerts at the Alexander Centre very soon

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faversham hotels
0.1 km away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Faversham
108 reviews
0.6 km away
Faversham Creek Hotel
Faversham Creek Hotel
#1 of 15 in Faversham
159 reviews
2.2 km away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 3 in Boughton-under-Blean
214 reviews
7.5 km away
Huntingfield House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 km away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#2 of 15 in Faversham
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Address: 60 Newton Road, Faversham ME13 8DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Faversham
Price Range: €57 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gladstone House is a friendly Irish guesthouse located in the center of Faversham, just minutes away from the shops, railway station and all facilities. It is a comfortable Victorian town house on Newton Road, only 200 yards from Faversham railway station with its frequent trains to London and the Kent coast. It is only minutes from Junction 6 of the M2 motorway by car, with Canterbury 15 minutes away and Ashford, with its International Station, 30 minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing