We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
171
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home from home train station host mary warm welcome mary makes wonderful irish hospitality comfy bed b and b lots of choice breakfast was amazing lovely lady full english short walk moment you arrive various hotels every morning stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Late booking for a bit of Rand R for one night. This is our third stay with Mary...and now we feel like family. Nothing's too much trouble and she offers the best medicine for stress...a good laugh! Add to that a smashing brekky, comfy bed and beautiful house you are in the perfect home from home.See you next year Mary .

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Debsgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

The kettle will be on !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The highlight for us was our hostess for our two night stay, Mary. What a character and what a force of nature. Has more stories than the Brothers Grimm from nursing Peter Cushing to having a world renowned diamond cutter stay in one of her four rooms for rent.

The rooms are a good size, even the attic where we stayed which has a roomy wet room style shower. Tea and coffee making facilities are in each room with biscuits.. nice touch.

The house itself is narrow from the front but very deep and a fantastic breakfast room extension where Mary "entertains" whilst she serves. Just pick your breakfast time and sit round a large communal table and chat to whoever is there. Many cereals are available and of course a full English - The holy trinity (bacon, egg and sausage) with mushrooms, beans and spuds (Mary is Irish). Make your own toast and tea/coffee.

Mary also sorts out parking tickets and has a book by the front door. Just rip one off, scratch the date off and put a pound in the pot which will sort out your parking permit for the day... you will need this.

The location is good as only a couple of minutes walk from the main high street.

When we go back to Faversham I would not consider staying anywhere else. Other guests were repeat stayers for many years.

Room tip: Only four rooms, two twin and two doubles. We staying in the attic room which was absolutely fine.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you Patrick S for such a lovely review. It was good fun having you both to stay even though you were in the crow's nest ! I am delighted to hear that you will both come back someday soon. The spuds await !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Needing somewhere to stay at short notice all the hotels were fully booked except one that wanted £180 for one night, I decided to try a guest house. We had never stayed in a guest house before so had no idea what to look for, or what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with this one, a regular home from home run by a very lovely lady. The room was spotlessly clean very cosy and very comfortable with free wifi. The breakfast we had was a full English which was freshly cooked and very filling. A big plus for us is that it caters for allergy sufferers and my wife has a nut allergy. If we ever need to spend the night in Faversham again, this will be the first place I contact.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thanks Danny. It was a pleasure having you both to stay. Hope to see you again before too long

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Last minute booking required for stopover after seeing Hamish Stuart Band at the excellent Alexander Centre in Faversham. Mary very helpful, and provided a superb breakfast, & company. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rolandbasscube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you both for your kind review. Hope you will be back to more concerts at the Alexander Centre very soon

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Such a warm welcome from owner Mary, who insisted in carrying my extremely heavy suitcase to my room. Lovely big room; the bed was sooo comfortable; everything I could possibly need during my stay was provided. Breakfast is served in the conservatory round a huge table. Don't know many places that would offer you smoked salmon for breakfast...yes please! I have been to Faversham many times researching my family tree, staying in various hotels/guest houses but I won't be staying anywhere else from now on. Mary makes you feel right at home, genuinely interested to hear how successful your day has been. And her garden! Such a lovely place to sit and chat on a warm evening. The location is perfect as just a few minutes from the station and a short walk to the medieval town centre.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Missing our morning chats Christine !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews