We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
White Horse Inn(Boughton-under-Blean)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Inn(Faversham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Railway Hotel(Faversham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shepherd House(Faversham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
167
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from hometrain stationcomfy beda real gemfull englishrooms are cleanlovely ladymoment you arriveshare experiencesfantastic breakfastwide choicea great staybeautiful place to stayanyone wantingtwin roomlong weekendcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Don't be put off by the exterior of this guesthouse. Stayed in two other more expensive places in Faversham when visiting family until we found this and will now never stay anywhere else. Mary who runs this place does so with a spirit of generosity I have rarely encountered elsewhere. For example when we stayed there was a German party who liked cheese for breakfast. Instead of a couple of cheeses, Mary provided an amazing selection without being asked. Breakfasts are truly fab in the sunny conservatory with a selection of anything you could possibly want. First place I've been that had my Lady Grey teabags! Cooked breakfast plentiful and perfect, home made bread selection, fruit purée .The whole place runs on trust, relaxed ambiance with lots of chat thrown in. Twin room had lovely roll top bath was very comfortable and quiet. No noise from the road. Felt so relaxed staying here. A real gem

Ce

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

How very kind Cath ! Its was fun having YOU here. Its the lovely guests that make it such fun. Lady Grey awaits your return !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for Saturday night to visit friend and celebrate a special birthday.
Gladstone House is a beautiful place to stay, just a short distance from the train station and easy to get into the town.
The room was lovely and comfy bed and bedding all ultra comfy. The bathroom was really well laid out and nice toiletries all a lovely touch.
Breakfast, well you sit around a large table and able to sit and chat, Mary brings you all together and this is truly lovely. We chose to have the traditional english breakfast all freshly prepared and scrumptious. All the different teas are on offer.
So nice to chat, laugh and share experiences, well done Mary for doing this.
Do hope we get the chance to stay again, to enjoy the perfect hospitality.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank edandlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Edandian it would be no fun without people like you !! Come back soon

Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here in January 2015 & still look back with fondness. The inn is conveniently located close to the train, which was nice for my day trip into Canterbury. In addition to the prime location, there was the comfortable bed, wholesome breakfast, and excellent conversion with Mary in the morning. I highly recommend Gladstone House, and will certainly stay there again when I'm in town!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank sbaker789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Come back soon. The kettle is always on !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

A lovely period house with a very warm welcome. Mary is a wonderful and accommodating host, she works hard to provide a lovely experience for her guests. Lovely room" , nice and clean, comfy bed, great shower and a yummy breakfast. Close to all amenities and handy for the train. Can't wait to visit again. Thank you.

Room Tip: All quiet rooms, not too many guests.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Locket73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you for your kind words and come back to Faversham again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I have written before about this guest house and its bed and breakfast, but feel I must do so again. I have been going to Gladstone House once a fortnight for a long weekend, for just over a year now. I certainly would not be doing this if I did not love the place. Our host is a lovely Irish lady called Mary who does her best to make you feel at home with her hospitality and a great sense of humour. The bedrooms are too comfortable. You really struggle to get out of bed and despite being on a busy road leading into the town unusually quiet. You do feel home from home. There is a good choice for breakfast from cereals, fruit, yoghurt to a full English, but the mushroom and cheese omelettes are a particular favourite of mine. Mary will do her best to accommodate where the breakfasts is concerned - just for warn her. The guests sit around a table for breakfast and Mary soon has us all chatting. The guest house is situated within a short walking distance to the town and the railway station and there are plenty of places around for lunch and evening meals. I highly recommend Mary's guest house and cannot imaging staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I have experience all the rooms and like them all very much
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you once again Maureen xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews