We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
169
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homecomfy bedlots of choicefull englishrooms are cleanlovely ladyevery morningmoment you arrivelarge tablefantastic breakfasta great stayrailway stationanyone wantingcooked breakfasttwin roomlong weekendbiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I have written before about this guest house and its bed and breakfast, but feel I must do so again. I have been going to Gladstone House once a fortnight for a long weekend, for just over a year now. I certainly would not be doing this if I did not love the place. Our host is a lovely Irish lady called Mary who does her best to make you feel at home with her hospitality and a great sense of humour. The bedrooms are too comfortable. You really struggle to get out of bed and despite being on a busy road leading into the town unusually quiet. You do feel home from home. There is a good choice for breakfast from cereals, fruit, yoghurt to a full English, but the mushroom and cheese omelettes are a particular favourite of mine. Mary will do her best to accommodate where the breakfasts is concerned - just for warn her. The guests sit around a table for breakfast and Mary soon has us all chatting. The guest house is situated within a short walking distance to the town and the railway station and there are plenty of places around for lunch and evening meals. I highly recommend Mary's guest house and cannot imaging staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I have experience all the rooms and like them all very much
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you once again Maureen xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I have now stayed with Mary twice, both times for work and could not be happier. Rooms are comfy and the beds the same. Breakfast was amazing and Mary could not be lovelier. It was like staying in a family home, with the added benefit of not having to help with the washing up! Would not hesitate to stay again. Highly recommend Gladstone House!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosiemay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Rosiemay !! Next time you are down for washing up duties !!! Come back soon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We've almost lost count of how many times we've stayed at Gladstone House and the main reason we keep going back, is to experience more of Mary's amazing hospitality and great personality. Everything is wonderful - the rooms are clean and comfortable with lovely en-suites.
Mary makes everyone feel at home and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are delicious and Mary is always on hand to encourage the guests to get involved in all the interesting and amusing banter. We usually end up almost crying with laughter! Until the next time.........
Karen & Stewart

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDSDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Another mad weekend at Gladstone !! This is becoming a habit folks. It was a pleasure having you here again. It would be no fun without my whacky guests !! (not you of course) Please don't mention the sneaky 99 ! See you next year xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Could not fault this place. The house is really lovely, the room spacious and clean, bed comfortable, bathroom well-stocked. But best of was to have such a friendly and welcoming person in charge. Mary really made us feel at home. Breakfast was excellent too. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Lisa thank you ! Come back soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Recently returned from an overnight stay at Gladstone Guest house our welcome from Mary was extremely welcoming and she was very helpful with local directions. We had a very comfortable night sleep and her breakfast was amazing nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend her guest house and the service that she offers .

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank amylouisechand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

You are welcome back here anytime with a review like that !! Thank you and come back soon the kettle is always on. M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews