We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best”
Review of Gladstone House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Faversham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gladstone House
Ranked #4 of 15 Faversham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I have written before about this guest house and its bed and breakfast, but feel I must do so again. I have been going to Gladstone House once a fortnight for a long weekend, for just over a year now. I certainly would not be doing this if I did not love the place. Our host is a lovely Irish lady called Mary who does her best to make you feel at home with her hospitality and a great sense of humour. The bedrooms are too comfortable. You really struggle to get out of bed and despite being on a busy road leading into the town unusually quiet. You do feel home from home. There is a good choice for breakfast from cereals, fruit, yoghurt to a full English, but the mushroom and cheese omelettes are a particular favourite of mine. Mary will do her best to accommodate where the breakfasts is concerned - just for warn her. The guests sit around a table for breakfast and Mary soon has us all chatting. The guest house is situated within a short walking distance to the town and the railway station and there are plenty of places around for lunch and evening meals. I highly recommend Mary's guest house and cannot imaging staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I have experience all the rooms and like them all very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you once again Maureen xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

I have now stayed with Mary twice, both times for work and could not be happier. Rooms are comfy and the beds the same. Breakfast was amazing and Mary could not be lovelier. It was like staying in a family home, with the added benefit of not having to help with the washing up! Would not hesitate to stay again. Highly recommend Gladstone House!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosiemay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Rosiemay !! Next time you are down for washing up duties !!! Come back soon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We've almost lost count of how many times we've stayed at Gladstone House and the main reason we keep going back, is to experience more of Mary's amazing hospitality and great personality. Everything is wonderful - the rooms are clean and comfortable with lovely en-suites.
Mary makes everyone feel at home and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are delicious and Mary is always on hand to encourage the guests to get involved in all the interesting and amusing banter. We usually end up almost crying with laughter! Until the next time.........
Karen & Stewart

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDSDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Another mad weekend at Gladstone !! This is becoming a habit folks. It was a pleasure having you here again. It would be no fun without my whacky guests !! (not you of course) Please don't mention the sneaky 99 ! See you next year xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Could not fault this place. The house is really lovely, the room spacious and clean, bed comfortable, bathroom well-stocked. But best of was to have such a friendly and welcoming person in charge. Mary really made us feel at home. Breakfast was excellent too. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Lisa thank you ! Come back soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Recently returned from an overnight stay at Gladstone Guest house our welcome from Mary was extremely welcoming and she was very helpful with local directions. We had a very comfortable night sleep and her breakfast was amazing nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend her guest house and the service that she offers .

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank amylouisechand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryjmackay, Owner at Gladstone House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

You are welcome back here anytime with a review like that !! Thank you and come back soon the kettle is always on. M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faversham hotels
0.1 km away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Faversham
108 reviews
0.6 km away
Faversham Creek Hotel
Faversham Creek Hotel
#1 of 15 in Faversham
159 reviews
2.2 km away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Boughton-under-Blean
213 reviews
7.5 km away
Huntingfield House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 km away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#2 of 15 in Faversham
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Address: 60 Newton Road, Faversham ME13 8DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Faversham
Price Range: €57 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gladstone House is a friendly Irish guesthouse located in the center of Faversham, just minutes away from the shops, railway station and all facilities. It is a comfortable Victorian town house on Newton Road, only 200 yards from Faversham railway station with its frequent trains to London and the Kent coast. It is only minutes from Junction 6 of the M2 motorway by car, with Canterbury 15 minutes away and Ashford, with its International Station, 30 minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing