We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just stunning!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beach Sun Retreat

Safe Indoor sunbathing in the Real Sunlight Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Safe Indoor sunbathing in the Real Sunlight Room
The 'French' Bedroom Cinema Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Safe Indoor sunbathing in the Real Sunlight Room
The 'French' Bedroom
Cinema Room
The Beach Sun Retreat
The front garden and the Koi pond
Beach adjacent to house
The dj setup in the sunroom
'St Tropez Style Living Area
Living Area
'St Tropez' style living area at night
Living area at night
The Living Area by Day
Hallway/Entrance
Staircase
The 'Bling' Bedroom
The 'bling' bathroom featuring Jacuzzi roll top bath
'French' Bedroom
'french' bathroom
The Kitchen
The Beach Sun Retreat
The  Range Cooker
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dymchurch, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Swetara G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just stunning!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I was there for my hen do with 7 other girls. Despite the horrible weather, we had an amazing time at the villa. The trip & the weather was all worth it. We made use of all the rooms- The sun room, cinema room, Lounge, beautiful bedrooms and the huge bathrooms with jacuzzi.Kitchen was a big surprise! Massive kitchen with sinks as big as bath tubs.The DJ booth was so much fun, we danced all night. In summary, I would recommend this place to everyone. It is as beautiful and attractive as it looks in the picture. A must go place definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2014
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. So pleased to hear you had a great time and that the house worked well as a backdrop for such an important occasion! Hope the wedding goes well. We'd love to welcome you back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Sun Room
Liked least: Surrounding area had no high quality restaurants or special pubs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2013
Family time is special time. So pleased you and yours enjoyed our sunny retreat - sunshine 24/7/365!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mikepdews
Tonbridge, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Quirky With Bags Of Potential Still To Be Realised”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My family of five including three daughters of 18, 15 & 13 had a very enjoyable stay at the Beach Sun Retreat over the May Bank Holiday weekend (second one for 3 nights). We all loved the Beach area and constantly had the setting on Miami. The girls enjoyed the cinema room (even if the seats did become a little uncomfy after a while) and the disco decks, lights etc. There are two good bedrooms but the third is a little small which led to a bit of an issue but nothing that wasn't sorted by the more placid of the three agreeing to have the smaller room. Kitchen has all the mod cons although to be fair we ate out most nights as the sun shone outside as much as it did in and then you just have to have fish and chips on the front don't you. The strange thing for us was once the sun shined outside everyone wanted to be outside so the main attraction became a little redundant but with the UK weather that is one thing you can't guarantee. Consequently, visiting this property gives you the best of both worlds as the beach is terrific and Dymchurch although small has a couple of nice pubs close by and some quaint coffee shops as well. If the potential could be realised by updating the upstairs and maybe buying a bit of land out the back and putting in an indoor pool ( I appreciate that is not going to be cheap) , I really can't see where could be better for a relaxing break in the UK. Take a chance, it's well worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach Area is novel and quirky
Liked least: Has the potentail to be even better
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2013
Mike, so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in our sunny retreat. How lucky to be able to enjoy sunshine inside and out! But whatever the weather outdoors, we can always guarantee sunshine 24/7/365!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach of course!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2013
So pleased you East London girls enjoyed your stay. Our sunny retreat is the perfect place for good times with friends & family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
holidayje...
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing, extravagant, unique, fun haven by the sea”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of September last year for 1 week, we are a couple but our son, daughter-in-law & two grandsons (7 & 4) came to stay for 2 days and didn't want to leave & neither did we! Family & friends came to visit during the rest of the week and everyone was amazed; sunbathing to disco tunes at midnight is something not to be missed in life! There is a lovely, sunny front garden with plenty of parking space. We were very fortunate & had an amazingly sunny & warm week, so staying inside & out was wonderful, but even if it were cold outside, the accommodation is warm, large & very comfortable. We loved the fact that the history of this accommodation in that it has been a hotel in the past, has been incorporated in the current redesign, such as the reception desk and the bar areas.

The kitchen is 'industrial' in design but well equipped and it was lovely that some basic food stuffs were in the cupboards for use. The American style fridge is great, although the ice maker was not working during our stay, but Karl (very helpful owner) did send an engineer to try to fix it, no problem, we bought ice from the local Spar shop which is well supplied & within easy walking distance along the sea wall in Dymchurch. There is a washing machine plus pegs & a line in the garden for drying clothes.

The main living area is huge & tastefully & imaginatively designed with a wonderful bright seaside theme with a bar & stage areas, with those wonderful sun lamps, two sun beds & disco decks, little touches like books on how to be a DJ are around the place.

There are 4 bedrooms, two of them are small singles, so it could be difficult for 3 couples to stay (unless one couple are happy to stay in separate rooms!). The other two rooms are amazingly extravagantly decorated, both have limited wardrobe / drawer space, we felt perhaps a small chest of drawers would be a great improvement as we were staying for a week. The bathrooms were wonderful, but again, could benefit from a shelf or two for toiletries which would make them perfect.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and are saving up to stay again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the fact that this place is different and truly special
Liked least: Lack of clothes space in the bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled and hope you'll come back soon for more Midnight Sunbathing in our Disco!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing