We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of The Dining Club

The Dining Club
Ranked #4 of 124 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Dining Club although now established for 7 years, is a new style of dining venue. It is unique in that you book a table and will be seated in individual dining rooms that feel more like a private dinner party than a restaurant - Proprietors Scott & Suzanne Roberts offer unrivalled hospitality that can be a discreet or familiar as your company requires. Scott (Head Chef & Proprietor) has been cooking for over 20 years and has previously won 2AA Rosettes for 6 consecutive years whilst running his family owned hotel in Boscastle, North Cornwall. Wife, Suzanne (Front of house & Proprietor) has been in the hospitality industry for 25 years and will provide a warm, friendly welcome and ensure that your experience compliments the food
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Glorious menu of all things fishy...(apart from the scrumptious dessert ).
Scottie surpassed himself, each course was a sumptuous creation. Brown shrimps concoction- perfect; bouillabaisse -divine; sea bass with fennel- just right; and the treacle toffee, coffee granita confection to finish was sublime. Round of applause for waiting staff and Maitre de Suzanne. Wonderful time was had by all of us

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank AnnieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2018

We came across The Dining Club whilst wandering around Deal's conservation area and noticed the menu for a 5 course meal consisting of 4 fish dishes and a dessert for £30.50 per head (the menu changes each week and also includes a veggie option), but being fish freaks we immediately booked dinner for the following night. On arrival we were warmly greeted by the chef who was happy to answer questions about the dishes and ingredients. We were seated in one of the five tastefully decorated dining rooms that make up the little restaurant, which is housed in one of the charming fishermen's cottages. I couldn't wait to start eating and was very happy with the excellent tuna sushi and nose watering wasabi apetiser. Next came a rich, red bowl of delicious spider crab soup served with basil oil and freshly baked sour dough. The starter consisted of some delicate monkfish cooked scampi style, which was served with a fine fennel and orange salad. For mains we were served roasted hake with a fresh tomato sauce and greens. Dessert was a mango parfait served with a coconut tuile. The flavour and presentation of all of the dishes was outstanding; and the service was perfection, with sufficient timing allowed between each course to make you hunger for the next one. You take your own wine, and the lady who took our booking recommended taking more than you need, which turned out well as we spent a most pleasurable three and half hours here. Will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Floydette9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I love this restaurant. Everyone sits and eats at the same time, plus you all eat the same menu. We took our own drink which they charge £2 a head for corkage. It was a 5 course meal plus we ordered a cheese board. I think they decide on the menu about a month in advance. The food was brilliant.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank casamedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Where to begin? We have listened to our relatives rave about this place for years and were so pleased when they said they’d treat us for my husband’s 50th birthday celebrations.

From the moment we stepped inside we felt welcome and at home. There seemed to be a mixture of general dining area and private rooms. Due to our numbers, 10, we had a private area but this didn’t mean that we were forgotten about. Service was spot on, very on the ball but still allowing for a relaxed dinner.

The menu is a set menu and from what I gathered you supply your own drink and pay corkage rate. As we were treated I’m not sure of the exact costings but am assured that it was all reasonable for the level of service and quality of the food.

The menu was fancier than I would normally choose, I’m not an adventurous eater. Having said that there wasn’t anything served that I didn’t like including fish soup which I would never ever have ordered! As a really nice touch the menu had been tailor made, to our relatives approval, to make the celebration even more special.

The decor throughout was lovely and the washrooms were clean during the whole evening.

On leaving I was lucky enough to meet the chef and pop my head round the kitchen door and I still have no idea how on earth he manages to produce that amount of food, for that amount of dinners and it all be so good.

This is a restaurant that deserves a full 10 out 10 and can’t recommend it highly enough.

Booking is vital.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Having seen The Dining Club featuring as a top destinations in Deal we went last Saturday. Our thanks to those that rated this in the past. It was certainly one of our best meals in this part of Kent, and we have been to quite a few. For the price it was extremely good indeed. We were a little disappointed with desert however overall we give it 4.25 out of 5. Going back for Sunday lunch in a couple of weeks. Definitely looking forward to that.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Clack2947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Dining Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing