We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Bagel & Breakfast Sandwich Joint”

SteamRoller Bagel Sandwiches
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Granville
Price range: US$6 - US$9
Description: Hot steamy bagel sandwiches that have become Granville's Hot New Obsession. Whether you want Delivery, Dine in, or Takaway, this fast casual restaurant is a must try!
Restaurant details
Description: Hot steamy bagel sandwiches that have become Granville's Hot New Obsession. Whether you want Delivery, Dine in, or Takaway, this fast casual restaurant is a must try!
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Ordered the "Eggtastic" Bagel Sandwich (egg, cheese, bacon on an everything bagel). I think they either steam the sandwich or microwaved it, because it was extremely hot (too hot to eat) and the bagel lost its body/texture. A bit letdown but willing to give it another try next time I'm in Granville. Really nice people!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteamRoller B, Director of Parades, Explosions, and Weather Management at SteamRoller Bagel Sandwiches, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thanks! and thanks for coming. Yes, we steam our sandwiches with compressed high temperature dry steam, and not at all like a typical toasted bagel joint - we don't even one a microwave or a toaster. In fact we are really a sandwich joint where everything happens to come on bagels! Come try one of our lunch/dinner options when you get a chance. The full understanding of what we are and what we do (I think) is in the BBC, Reuben, Beats & Booty, and Jailbird. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

It is pricey for. A bagel sandwich. But that is not the issue. However they heat the bagel does not make it chewy it makes it sticky. Nothing worse than a stick bagel. Toppings were fine but nothing to write home about.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank plevin2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, Owner at SteamRoller Bagel Sandwiches, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thanks for coming, sorry you didn’t have an earthshattering experience! We decided early on that we were going to focus on being a truly unique place that makes for really passionate customers, rather than being something that is easily obtainable everywhere and everyone thinks is okay. We make our sandwiches with a compressed superheated steam instead of toasting, and they all are made on bagels. By far better to think of it as a sandwich first and a bagel second. Nonetheless, the good news is that you can get other options at most shops across the country and we hope you find something that makes you passionate someplace. While we wish our place was a better fit for you, and we are aware that a small segment of the population still prefers a traditional toasted bagel, we have a tons of really dedicated regulars that are as obsessed with steamed bagel sandwiches as we are, and that’s exactly what we hoped would happen! Thanks for trying it for yourself. Now you know, you owed yourself that much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Very limited menu but that's OK because what they do they do well. Very small eat-in ...about 12 stools. All bagel sandwiches. Good fillings, good prices...the BEST part is they are using BLOCK's Bagels the only REAL and freshly local made bagel around. Chips and drink make a combo and that's it. A couple of breakfast bagel options and turkey, roast beef etc

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lindacrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Great idea, since I always thought that a bagel made a much better sandwich than flat bread or buns however; the price-point is too high. $8.00 for a bagel sized sandwich with no sit-down service or without a drink and side, is nigh roberry.

Sandwiches are made from fresh ingredients and the bagels are nice and chewey.

I wont be going back but only because of the cost.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjolnir68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SteamRoller Bagel Sandwiches also viewed

 

Been to SteamRoller Bagel Sandwiches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing