We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
45
14
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
14
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attic room west house goat the owner first floor well behaved dogs steep stairs well worth a visit sissinghurst castle tudor building made us feel full english breakfast great breakfast comfy bed couldn't do enough saturday night b and b
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

In a country that seems to have forgotten service and friendliness this is an oasis of English charm.
The ladies running this cozy and eclectic establishment made us feel welcome and nothing was a problem. Food was delicious and hearty.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank scandude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We spent a night here recently on a special occasion, when we had booked to eat at the West House Restaurant a few doors away. Caroline made us very welcome. We stayed in the attic room which is reached by very steep stairs and low beams, but historic buildings like this aren't built to todays standards. It might not suit the infirm but for us it was wonderful. Breakfast was very nice and as we stayed on a Saturday night we had the breakfast area all to ourselves as the Bakehouse is closed on Sundays. The breakfast area is in the main tea shop so on a normal open day, if you had breakfast after 9am there might be a few people coming in and out. This was also a convenient location to visit the West House restaurant and Sissinghurst Castle the following morning. You can park in the main road, right outside The Bakehouse if you're lucky

Room tip: Only 2 rooms to choose from, can't comment on the other but we loved the Attic room
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffyskulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Just went for coffee but were disappointed. Longish wait for order to be taken.Average coffee but both cups had chips on the handles. Not nice. Cheese scones were probably over warmed in the micro wave and the large slab of butter had melted into them making them soggy. Cat on stool by the counter not a good idea.
We paid £12.00, - far too much. Probably wouldn't make a return visit.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Lovely owners, very welcoming and full English breakfast very tasty. The accommodation is very quirky but we had a very nice room and it is very good value for money. Really good area to explore with lots to do. Thanks, we will return.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jander2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Lovely little period eating place in beautiful Biddenden. Warm welcome, cosy interesting surroundings, excellent menu for daytime eating, 9-4 I think. Suitable for all ages and families. It was recommended to us by a local person so that is always a good sign. I believe it is also run as a B&B but we had no experience of this.
All the food being served to table looked very appetising.
Nice to see that well behaved dogs were allowed in.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews