We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay”
Review of The Bakehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bakehouse
Ranked #2 of 5 Biddenden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

I was delighted with my stay at the Bakehouse in Biddenden. I received a very warm welcome and I was very impressed by my room. The Bakehouse is a Tudor building with an amazing sense of history. It really is an incredible place with wonderful original tudor features and craftsmanship throughout. It is also very comfortable like a home away from home. My room was very comfortable and very nicely decorated and furnished. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed staying in a place so much. Breakfast was top notch served in the delightful tea rooms downstairs. The views are great because the street is lined by historical buildings. Thank you very much for a really delightful stay and I look forward to visiting again.

1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

In a country that seems to have forgotten service and friendliness this is an oasis of English charm.
The ladies running this cozy and eclectic establishment made us feel welcome and nothing was a problem. Food was delicious and hearty.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We spent a night here recently on a special occasion, when we had booked to eat at the West House Restaurant a few doors away. Caroline made us very welcome. We stayed in the attic room which is reached by very steep stairs and low beams, but historic buildings like this aren't built to todays standards. It might not suit the infirm but for us it was wonderful. Breakfast was very nice and as we stayed on a Saturday night we had the breakfast area all to ourselves as the Bakehouse is closed on Sundays. The breakfast area is in the main tea shop so on a normal open day, if you had breakfast after 9am there might be a few people coming in and out. This was also a convenient location to visit the West House restaurant and Sissinghurst Castle the following morning. You can park in the main road, right outside The Bakehouse if you're lucky

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms to choose from, can't comment on the other but we loved the Attic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffyskulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Just went for coffee but were disappointed. Longish wait for order to be taken.Average coffee but both cups had chips on the handles. Not nice. Cheese scones were probably over warmed in the micro wave and the large slab of butter had melted into them making them soggy. Cat on stool by the counter not a good idea.
We paid £12.00, - far too much. Probably wouldn't make a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Lovely owners, very welcoming and full English breakfast very tasty. The accommodation is very quirky but we had a very nice room and it is very good value for money. Really good area to explore with lots to do. Thanks, we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jander2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biddenden
4.2 km away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
5.9 km away
Little Dane Court
Little Dane Court
#3 of 11 in Tenterden
117 reviews
0.1 km away
Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The White Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.3 km away
Oak Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
1 km away
Barclay Farmhouse
Barclay Farmhouse
#1 of 5 in Biddenden
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse

Address: 10 High Street, Biddenden TN27 8AH, England (Formerly Biddenden Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Biddenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Biddenden
Price Range: €61 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bakehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome is guaranteed at our family run Bed and Breakfast, providing comfortable, olde worlde accommodation and an excellent base to explore the beautiful Kent countryside. We insist on using fresh local produce were ever possible to provide you with a taste of Kent for your full English breakfast.The village of Biddenden itself is a picturesque village with a Michelin star restaurant and a Vineyard all on our doorstep. Only a few miles away is the village of Pluckley, which is renowned for being the most haunted village in England.The City of Canterbury and the towns of Tenterden, Maidstone, Ashford and Royal Tunbridge Wells situated within a short drive, with Ashford having excellent links to London and mainland Europe with the new High Speed rail taking only 38 minutes to London and Eurotstar taking you to Paris in under 2 hrs makes Biddenden the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing