We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
111
122
85
47
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
122
85
47
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freshwater bay sea view swimming pool and jacuzzi course meal sound of the waves superb location breakfast and dinner restaurant staff bath and shower birthday treat balcony room enormous bathroom public rooms big room couple of nights isle of wight changing rooms
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The sea view family room was superb. Way to the sea beaches were literally 1 min walk and the view is thrilling. Not very far away from Ferry terminals.
Beds and service was enjoyable throughout. Indoor swimming pool was lovely too.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank honestman906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We booked last minute and forked out a bit extra on the Albion. Not sure it was worth it.
Absolutely stunning location and we reckon the owner is missing a trick or two.
In keeping such high prices not indicative of what you actually get, the footfall is low. With low footfall there’s no money to give the hotel a much needed lift.
The decor is dated but clean. Very spacious rooms and very big bathrooms. The bathroom has the underfloor heating on all the time. Can’t find a switch to turn it off.
The heat in the room was unbearable (no aircon).
We were on the 1st floor so we were wary about opening the one window which opens onto the balcony. It opens up so wide an adult can get through easily.
I reckon it is very safe to open your window or balcony door in this beautiful town but better safe than sorry.
We also reckon someone can easily access the balconies.
No effort was put into making the balcony a pleasant space which looks out onto the picturesque bay. Each room is provided with only 2 white plastic chairs for the balconies.
Just such a missed opportunity to sell the place to potential guests.
For the price we paid and the few guests staying at the time, I would expect the staff to at least give the breakfast menu cards a wipe. My menu was dirty with coffee stains on it.
We were surprised that they didn’t have a part breakfast buffet where you can select cereals, make your own toast, jams, cheese and cold meats etc. and order the hot food.
Suppose it is not cost effective if you have low footfall.
The fruit salad was lovely and fresh.
The English breakfast is not as in the promotional picture but understand it is not indicative of what you actually get.
In the pic you get two pieces of bacon and two sausages instead of just one each that you are served.
The main dining hall had 2 tables occupied, one with 2 people and another with one person. There were several tables made up but we were put in a totally separate room with 3 tables put together because the other tables were booked. We were 5 in total. There was only one more table of four present in the main room and another group of 3 as we were leaving. Still don’t understand why we were put in a separate room.
I think the hotel has a lot going for it because of the amazing location.
The owner should consider revising it’s prices. Possibly have deals for backpackers and school groups too etc. who come for surfing, paddle boarding and canoeing etc. We saw loads of groups coming for these activities. We reckon walkers would make good use of deals too as there’s plenty of beautiful walks across the cliffs.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Faghma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights during the heatwave.
We changed our room to a junior suite as the first one we were booked into overlooked the car park and had just two small windows. The heat in the room was impossible.
The room we moved to had doors onto the balcony and beautiful sea views - worth paying the extra for.
The hotel was slightly ‘odd’ the whole place lacked proper staffing levels - the bar in particular.
It was also completely airless - all doors were kept closed at all times - apparently there was nothing to keep them open !
Breakfast on the first morning was reminiscent of Fawlty Towers !
However the room was very clean but the view onto the flat roof below could do with attention. Plenty of cigarette ends and old plastic bottles !

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lincopm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

It was our wedding anniversary and planned to visit the island to celebrate, this hotel was recommended by a friend coz looking for the sea view room,
The staf was very friendly, the room was very big with separate living room , and the toilet bath was the biggest i seen in the hotels , very good neat and clean hotel
With free car park
Will definitely visit again

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JimmyR250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Although the location was great, right on the seafront. The hotel could do with having a bit of modernisation. It ticked my boxes for being clean, friendly and some staff were efficient. It just seems to be locked in a time warp. Can’t quite put my finger on it. Bed was very comfy, room was spacious. Bathroom large and everything was there, but please install a bigger and better shower in all that room. Good point was we had a balcony with chairs provided. The restaurant and bar decor could do with an update and some staff needed a bit more training before being let loose on the customers. All in all yes a nice quite stay, just not really my cup of tea.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony and you can’t go wrong.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews