We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
96
140
69
56
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
140
69
56
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red jet superior room passenger ferry high street handy location top floor isle of wight bath and shower comfy bed excellent stay full english breakfast sunday lunch excellent breakfast roast joe festival
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

I have never been in a pub that is so welcoming and accommodating especially your staff... Charlie, Hannah, Lewis and josh !
Lovely pub to drink in and if all your staff were like Charlie you’d make a killing ! The most genuine and lovely guy I have ever been waited on in a pub !!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Danika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thanks will pass on to named staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Been here several times and always positive. The rooms are nothing special to mention, but ok for some days. It is not a place for children unless it is only for a place to sleep.
The bar, restaurant has a high quality and especially the breakfast is perfect.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank JesperUth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. It has been passed on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

We booked here on Old English Inns summer deal. The hotel is right next to the Red Jet terminal in Cowes.

It’s more a pub restaurant with rooms, very well situated facing onto the High Street.

We had Room 1 which is huge, with a big bathroom with shower and bath! The furniture is a bit old and quirky but gives you all the storage you need.

The rooms aren’t air conditioned but we had a fan provided which did the job on some of the hottest nights in twenty years!

The bar, restaurant and hotel staff are friendly and helpful!

We enjoyed an excellent breakfast but otherwise didn’t use the restaurant.

We’d be happy to visit again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. It has been passed on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

After a two night stay . We found it to be very noisy from pub next door that has a late licence until 2am.Room not as good as last year. Food had gone up and also tea and coffee. Hence ate one night only. Breakfast looked poor. Fresh fruit dull and no Danish pastries. Poor show. Would not stay again, which is a shame as the area outside is lovely to walk along and nice shops to explore, Room 17.

Room Tip: From my own experience the higher you r room more noise.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you for your review, I can only apologise that the hotel was not as was expected inside. It is only through reviews such as this and feedback that we can continue to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Arrived 28th June & left on 2nd July 2018. When we arrived it was extremely hot day, the room was like a furnace for heat. I opened the windows & requested a fan. Within 10 minutes a brand new fan was provided. The whole hotel looks very tired & sadly that is my experience of a lot of oldenglishinns which I have stayed at frequently over the years however they are very competively priced especially with the deals that are available. The rooms & amenities are clean & the food is a good pub grub standard & again competivly priced especially for Cowes. Alan the manager & his team supplied a very good service & passed on a few local tips. Parking is a problem, however I did find free parking within a ten minute walk, paid parking is just 100 yards closer. Special mention for Joany & the local duo that entertained on the Friday night. I certainly would not have a problem returning. Nev & June.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thirst2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. It has been passed on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews