We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much a cafe, but a bistro!”
Review of The Pond Cafe

The Pond Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Bonchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Relaunched under new culinary direction in February 2017, the Pond Cafe is situated in the beautiful village of Bonchurch, near Ventnor, on the sunny Isle of Wight. Offering carefully prepared modern British and European plates to order, Chef Andy uses local fresh ingredients wherever possible. With its outside terrace overlooking the picturesque duck pond it is the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed meal. Reservations are recommended for lunch (Wednesday through Saturday) and especially for dinner (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings). An expanding range of fine wines, quality beers and Island and international spirits is available.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Delightful restaurant with a very friendly waiter called Phil. We enjoyed a 3 course meal with a bottle of fantastic French Shiraz. I have some dietary issues, and Phil relayed this to the chef who kindly adapted items from the menu for me. There wasn't huge choice of items on the menu ie: mackerel appears 2x as a starter option. The soup was lovely but the most expensive we have eaten at £8+ a bowl. Scallops were delicious as a main course, a little extra veg to accompany them would have made all the difference to our empty looking plate! Do not miss out on dessert, they were amazing!!! We had a lovely evening, and look forward to visiting when the menu is updated! A vegan option on there would be great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2017

Dear Charles,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.

All the best,

Phil

The Pond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Well we where really impressed with this place , everything was absolutely perfect , we sat outside looking at bonchurch pond , beautiful peaceful setting , we where given blankets as it got cooler , (nice touch)
The white and red wine by the glass where really good and my husband was recommended a really tasty German blonde beer , we both had the specials , fillet steak and haddock which where both cooked to perfection, for dessert, local cheeses and the sweet special recommended, we have never been looked after so well and had such high quality food and we eat out all the time , we have been coming to isle of white for 10 years and now think this is the best food on the island , Andy and phill see u next year x

1  Thank jubbarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2017

Thank you so much for you very kind words and feedback, we do appreciate it.

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and it was lovely to meet you.

We look forward to your return visit,

Many thanks and all the best,

Phil
The Pond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

You have to seek out the Pond Cafe Bonchurch but it is well worth the effort.
A pretty spot and isolated from the pressures of holiday makers in nearby Ventnor and we found our host both welcoming and anxious to give us an excellent dinner.
A bit on the pricey side but our fish dishes- lemon sole for one and local sea bass for the other - were cooked to perfection.
Well recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank itchentolearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2017

Thank you so much for kindly leaving us positive feedback, we really do appreciate it.

We're glad that you enjoyed our offering and look forward to hosting you again.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Phil
The Pond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Very good food and service.
We felt that pricing the food on the high side ... £10 for mackerel pate (it was good though!) ... led to high expectation, and sitting close to a terrace with loud children and smoking parents didn't quite fit with the high class restaurant vibe inside.
That said, we loved the food and will certainly go back, probably for dinner next time!

1  Thank kkevvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave some feedback.

We are very pleased you enjoyed the food on offer.

We';re sorry your experience was slightly marred by other guests' behaviour - the terrace is something that is an asset to the space, enjoyed by all - however we are reviewing policies for it given your comments.

Thank you once again and we look forward to hosting to both again soon.

With best wishes,

Phil
The Pond Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We went to Bonchurch for cake and coffee and were amazed to find The Pond Cafe had undergone a complete transformation since we last visited. Absolutely fabulous! We had the warmest of welcomes from a delightful gentleman who explained a few things on the menu before we made our choice. One of us chose steak and two of us had a light lunch of smoked mackerel with pickled vegetables of chef's choice - and we all had the "thrice cooked chips!". Utterly scrumptious! One of us drank Lager the other a Pinot Grigio and the poor driver had to be satisfied with water - but it was, I believe, special Isle of Wight filtered water. Background music was so beautiful - I just wanted to stay there all day to eat, drink, listen and relax. Thank you Pond Cafe for such an enjoyable lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mazti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really do appreciate you taking the time to feedback.

We were delighted to host you and very pleased that you had an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,

Phil & Andy @thepond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pond Cafe also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Pond Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing