We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Pond Cafe”
Review of The Pond Cafe

The Pond Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Bonchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Relaunched under new culinary direction in February 2017, the Pond Cafe is situated in the beautiful village of Bonchurch, near Ventnor, on the sunny Isle of Wight. Offering carefully prepared modern British and European plates to order, Chef Andy uses local fresh ingredients wherever possible. With its outside terrace overlooking the picturesque duck pond it is the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed meal. Reservations are recommended for lunch (Wednesday through Saturday) and especially for dinner (Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings). An expanding range of fine wines, quality beers and Island and international spirits is available.
Reviewed 12 August 2017

You have to seek out the Pond Cafe Bonchurch but it is well worth the effort.
A pretty spot and isolated from the pressures of holiday makers in nearby Ventnor and we found our host both welcoming and anxious to give us an excellent dinner.
A bit on the pricey side but our fish dishes- lemon sole for one and local sea bass for the other - were cooked to perfection.
Well recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank itchentolearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2017

Thank you so much for kindly leaving us positive feedback, we really do appreciate it.

We're glad that you enjoyed our offering and look forward to hosting you again.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Phil
The Pond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Very good food and service.
We felt that pricing the food on the high side ... £10 for mackerel pate (it was good though!) ... led to high expectation, and sitting close to a terrace with loud children and smoking parents didn't quite fit with the high class restaurant vibe inside.
That said, we loved the food and will certainly go back, probably for dinner next time!

1  Thank kkevvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave some feedback.

We are very pleased you enjoyed the food on offer.

We';re sorry your experience was slightly marred by other guests' behaviour - the terrace is something that is an asset to the space, enjoyed by all - however we are reviewing policies for it given your comments.

Thank you once again and we look forward to hosting to both again soon.

With best wishes,

Phil
The Pond Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We went to Bonchurch for cake and coffee and were amazed to find The Pond Cafe had undergone a complete transformation since we last visited. Absolutely fabulous! We had the warmest of welcomes from a delightful gentleman who explained a few things on the menu before we made our choice. One of us chose steak and two of us had a light lunch of smoked mackerel with pickled vegetables of chef's choice - and we all had the "thrice cooked chips!". Utterly scrumptious! One of us drank Lager the other a Pinot Grigio and the poor driver had to be satisfied with water - but it was, I believe, special Isle of Wight filtered water. Background music was so beautiful - I just wanted to stay there all day to eat, drink, listen and relax. Thank you Pond Cafe for such an enjoyable lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mazti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really do appreciate you taking the time to feedback.

We were delighted to host you and very pleased that you had an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,

Phil & Andy @thepond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

During our recent week's holiday in Ventnor, my family discovered a newly opened café/restaurant in Bonchurch one morning. We stopped for coffee, which was exceptional Italian coffee. While we had our coffee, deliveries of ultra fresh vegetables arrived - whatever was best on the day, also wonderful fresh fish as might be expected. This gave us the impetus to come back for dinner that evening and we were not disappointed. Only a short menu but excellent quality and attentive friendly service. We were made to feel special in very pleasant relaxed surroundings. Also an excellent wine list and the cost good value for money. Only been open 16 weeks when we arrived two weeks ago and deserves real encouragement and custom. We had a memorable evening !
David Leon

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 July 2017

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review, we do appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you again and hope to make it a five star experience for you.

Many thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This was a sentimental journey for us - we first met in Bonchurch 50 years ago (the Summer of Love and all that), so we went back to see what had changed. In those days The Pond Cafe was spaghetti on toast with an option on brown sauce. But it's a stunning, and sophisticated restaurant now with food that matches anything on the southern island, and we sampled a fair bit that week. Andy's cooking is top notch with terrific flavours and some great ingredients (those crunchy purple carrots!). The lemon posset really had a kick, but smooth too: a delight. It's a very relaxed place which is really good at its job and Phil as maitre d made us really welcome. A delightful evening...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Matlockian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2017

Dear Ian,

Thank you very much for your review and the time taken. It is really appreciated.

It was delightful to meet you both and to serve you and we're happy that you enjoyed our offering.

Hope to host you again soon.

All the best,

The Pond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pond Cafe also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Pond Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing