We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
19
24
6
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
24
6
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

First the good points, friendly greeting on arrival. Shown to room 1. Found the room clean, nicely decorated. House keeping first few days, nothing last day.
Downside, heating not explained cold first night, as beds under window, cold air. Had dinner, nice meal, however no one explained we could not eat next evening due to an organised event!! So had to go elsewhere. Felt as guests totally ignored, from arrival never saw any staff, told to use fire exit. Won’t return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janwoo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Our expectations were exceeded - home cooked lasagne (veg and non veg), salad, chips and new potatoes followed by pavlova's and chocolate brownie was prepared with skill and was completely delicious. The Greyhound staff were attentive to our needs, making sure the food didn't run out and ensuring there were ample supplies of water and unlimited tea and coffee. The rooms available were conducive to all the catching up that needs to happen at these events. We somehow managed to be adrift in our numbers so they rustled up another lasagne without being asked, a typically generous and farsighted response. We were happy to pay for this in the final bill. Big thanks to Natalie, the chef and the rest of the Greyhound staff. Good parking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roedear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for leaving us such a fantastic review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your buffet and we hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards

Natilee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We didn't stay as we live fairly locally. We went for a birthday meal, paid for by my father. We had scallops (no flavour) with chorizo (over cooked) and new potatoes, under seasoned. New potatoes in their skins and scallops, not a happy marriage. Chicken liver pate was good but came with what looked like a small loaf of bread.
Lamb's liver - we asked for pink and it was dry and over cooked. Fish pie good flavour but not crispy on the top.
Trio of desserts: tasteless cheese cake, something that called itself a syllabub that certainly was not, and a very acceptable chocolate pot.
Over all I'd say they were heavy on the bulk (bread, potato etc) and light on the quality.
It all looked fancy but didn't live up to expectations

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

To Sue,

I was very sorry to read how disappointed you were when you dined with us recently.

We do pride ourselves on the standard of our food, which is all freshly prepared, however, we are a village pub serving traditional pub food and do not claim to be anything more.

It is a shame that you felt you had to tell us about your experience on Trip Advisor and you did not say anything to any member of staff while you were here, even when we asked if everything was ok with your meal. We would have been more than happy to try to rectify anything you were not happy with.

Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Food is always delicious

However - always seems to be an issue. This time, they said they were fully booked, the place was EMPTY except a 4 tables. Waiter told us that they were fully booked, when questioning the tables he said he only had 2 chefs working .... surely this is plenty of chefs for 4 tables (soon to be 5)

Seems such a disappointment they aren't trying harder to encourage people to use their pub and explains why it could well be up for sale.

Would hope they'd be more accommodating and not turn people away.

The food is always great, and good price too

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bottomle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundWigginton, Manager at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

To Bottomie,

I was a little confused by your comments as you said that the waiter told you we were fully booked when you visited recently and he explained the reasons why. We have a very small kitchen and all our food is freshly prepared. We always advise customers to book as, although there were only 4 tables seated at the moment you arrived, we were expecting many more guests who we book in at staggered times. We always take the maximum number of people that we can accommodate without compromising on the food quality or service.

All of our team members work very hard to encourage people to use our pub, this is why we are so often fully booked.

We are really pleased to hear how much you enjoy the food here and do hope you will visit us again. I would strongly advise booking ahead to avoid disappointment.

Regards

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here and really enjoyed both evening meals. There was a good varied menu, good beer and very helpful, friendly staff. The room was adequate, pretty comfortable and cleaned daily but it had a tired motel feel about it. The rooms let you down Greyhound, (particularly poor shower). It's the food that would make us consider staying there again in the future, however, hopefully the rooms will have undergone a refurb!

Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreyhoundWigginton, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Donna B

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your evening meals with us and you found the room to be clean and comfortable, I have taken on board your comments on the shower and I will get this looked at,

Kind Regards

Natilee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews