We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good base for the area”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kington, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
3069jones
Baglan, S Wales
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good base for the area”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here over the Easter weekend. On our arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner Hetan. He gave us a full briefing for the cottage and area. We were primarily there for a walking holiday and Hetan gave us some local tips for walks plus where to eat and drink. The cottage was clean and very warm and contained all you would need. There is ample room for two possibly three adults. It is located centrally for all the local attractions and a short walk to Hergest gardens and it is only a short steep climb to the ridge. We walked over the ridge to offas dyke path and back to Kington. We also travelled to Hereford Cathedral by car to see the Weeping Window installation. We did some other walks down towards Hay on Wye which is a little bit further away but ok by car. Overall a lovely cottage in a good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, great hosts, great location.”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cute cottage has lovely decor and is modern and very clean. It is well equipped, the shower room is exceptional and we felt extremely comfortable throughout our week's stay. There are lovely views from the property, and being on the edge of the village, it is a very short walk to shops, pubs and restaurants.
Hetan and Sylvia are great hosts, they made us feel so very welcome, always friendly and helpful, and happily recommended walks, places to visit, and restaurants.
The location is ideal for visiting all of Herefordshire and the Welsh Borders.
We had a wonderful holiday at Castle Hill House, and fully intend to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcTravels...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic picture postcard cottage. Will be back!”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Three friends, one car and the weekend to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of London.

We chose to stay in the Cottage as it would accommodate all of us together. Upon arrival we were not only greeted by this picture postcard property but also the owners Hetan and Silvia. For me this was a nice touch and really showed a personal side that some B&B’s lack these days.

The cottage has its own separate entrance located away from the main B&B entrance and was bright and airy, fully equipped with a kitchenette and all the essentials that we needed, with one of the best showers I have used in a holiday rental. From the raw brick wall of the shower, the wooden flooring of the bedroom to the modern kitchenette, this cottage was a contrast of old and new. The personal accents of vintage styled pieces really set the tranquil scene. The owners had left us some board games and DVDs to keep us occupied and were more than helpful in showing us the right direction to the local pubs and restaurants. We enjoyed an amazing steak dinner at the Swan and plenty of drinks at Royal Oak Inn (which are less than 5 minute walk away).

We decided to have breakfast in the B&B rather than cook ourselves and the Full English was just what the doctor ordered. The Breakfast room overlooks the grounds with an abundance of wildlife and Great British greenery which was a great way to start the day. There was even a set of binoculars to use to view the birds.

This weekend was filled with relaxation good food, great company and a lot of laughs. This was primarily down to hospitality of the owners. The cottage itself is situated in a small village but this didn’t limit us in anyway thanks to their directions and advice. Country air seemed sweeter here and we all had a truly great time.

I cannot recommend it enough and will definitely be back with the Mrs in the coming months, perhaps in the summer to enjoy a picnic within the grounds and the beer gardens of Kington.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gem in Kington!”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had 2 fantastic nights at the cottage in February. It is beautifully renovated, comfy and spacious with all of the essentials you need for self catering.

There are wonderful views of the surrounding areas, and Hetan and Sylvia were extremely welcoming - helping us find local walking routes and a good local restaurant in the evening.

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing