We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveller rating
400
332
159
77
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
332
159
77
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course afternoon tea new wing lovely grounds golf break golf club orangery restaurant scones bridal suite lovely hotel wedding breakfast wedding venue course dinner four poster wedding reception lovely room christmas party
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very big and impressive, a bit of a maze to find our room to be honest, but an interesting building. We tried to call a number of times in the days before our stay to see if we could get into our room early to change. No answer three days before, the day before or on the way there.

Room was nice and staff were friendly. However TV not working for the duration of our whole stay. Called reception to see what the problem was and they say a man was coming out to fix it but he couldn't fix it. So that was that - no TV. I've stayed in Mexican border town motels in the middle of nowhere that managed to have TV.

Anyway, a nice place but lacking a few basic facilities like being able to call reception or a working TV. Read somewhere that this was a 4 star hotel which I would be quite surprised about.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bozmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

This is an interesting place. The building is beautiful and the grounds expansive. Our room was large and clean. They didn’t have the beds I had requested for my family but they did rectify this quickly. The television wasn’t working and neither was the lift to our top floor room. They said they were fixing them but they weren’t fixed during our stay. The food in the restaurant was ok but service was slow and difficult. Menus not taken after ordering, only when we asked, glasses not cleared when new ones brought, long waits to order, the wait to order pudding was so long we had to leave as the children were tired and had enough. Staff were polite but I feel they lacked training and organisation. There didn’t seem to be a good serving system. We ordered a side dish of vegetables but it didn’t come and after we asked 4 different members of staff one came and said they didn’t have any vegetables. The decor around the hotel was shabby and in need of repair and repainting. However the decor in our room was good. All in all, ok but not up to 4* standard. We probably wouldn’t go back and certainly not at the cost we paid.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Shendish Hotel is in a lovely quiet location on the edge of Hemel Hempstead. It has a small nine hole golf course if that’s your thing! It is a grand looking building with some nice gardens and a couple of bars. When there is a function, certain parts of hotel are segregated. The staff were fine, the service at the bar and in the restaurant was slow, food was ok though. There are some new sections of the building, which are to a good standard but general wear and tear in the old sections, make the hotel a bit tired looking. This is obviously due to it being a busy venue for weddings etc, not that that is an excuse for lack of decorating! An injection of cash is needed to bring up to another level. We paid £112 for a double room, which despite the review, was worth it, I would stay again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shendishmanor, Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Shendish Manor.

Your feedback has been passed on to the team who will review your comments and action any improvements that may be needed

We are glad you will be visiting again soon.

Kind Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Took my partner here for her birthday before heading to harry potter world. Grounds are beautiful, the food was nice and the room spotless. £140 breakfast dinner and the room . With out a doubt somewhere we'd consider returning to and even look to have a wedding there in the future

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Black_dann99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shendishmanor, Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Shendish Manor.

We are pleased to read that you have had a lovely stay with us and hope Harry Potter was magical!

We do hope you visit again soon to try our New Wizard Themed Afternoon Tea...!

If you have not already done so please email the sales team who will send you out a wedding brochure.
salescoordinator@shendish-manor.com


Kind Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Lovely sized bedroom and good toiletries provided, generous sized towels. Particularly liked the choice of fresh fruit at breakfast. The driveway can be a bit of a challenge depending on the speed of other drivers coming round the bend. Delicious blackberries on the bushes down the driveway, the ones in the grounds were not so sweet!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shendishmanor, Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Shendish Manor.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. We are also glad that we were able to provide you with a blackberry snack for your walk up!

Your feedback has been passed on to the team.

We do hope you visit again soon.


Kind Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews