We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
368
313
109
25
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
313
109
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apsley station sausage calzone beans apsley lock canal side train station harry potter the grand union canal car park hi express nice pub included in the price pub next door pub restaurant free parking sofa bed
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

An excellent stay once more, with particular mention for June , staff member, who went well beyond her duties to ensure our son's 21st birthday was extra special. She was instrumental in organising a present to him from the hotel-such a thoughtful act.We hope to be back very soon.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you for your review and i will pass on your comments to June for making your stay such a special one!

We hope you will stay with again in the future!

Kind Regards

Thomas, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed here a number of times to visit friends as we used to live in the area before moving away.
Place is clean and convenient for the motorway and mainline train to London.
Food is good, but there is always the option of a number of good places to eat in the area, including the local pub, Indian, and Veggie restaurant within 3 mins walk.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boicey570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear guest, thank you so much for your great review following your stay with us. It is lovely to read that you are a regular guest of ours and that you choose to stay with us when you are visiting your friends. It does mean a lot to us to hear how much our guests enjoy staying with us.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit so that we can welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Suzannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel and there was a lady serving at the bar. We waited for 5 minutes whilst she served as there was nobody behind reception, (bar joins the reception) then she went off somewhere else. Nobody was to be seen for another 5 minutes, after a 4 hour journey I was getting rather impatient. Then a gentleman appeared from behind a door at reception with an empty plate and said what's your name? I proceeded to give him the details and no pleasantries were exchanged, he gave me the room cards. Asked how I'd be paying, took the payment and then proceeded to go back to the room behind the door. The member of staff's name was Martin and it really felt like he didn't want to be there. If you're not happy in your job you should just leave. There was absolutely no customer service given, didn't even detail where our room was either.
Breakfast the following morning was poor, the cooked breakfast was very overdone and overall the stay wasn't satisfactory.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Fredlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear guest, thank you for your review and may I apologise for the wait you received when trying to check in. Your comments have been taken on board and reviewed with the team to ensure we improve. I would like to re assure you that this is not the impression we want our guests to have about our hotel and certainly not to our usual high standards. I am also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast buffet and that your stay was not satisfactory. I do hope that this has not deterred you from using our hotel again and if you are back in the area please do contact me directly so that I can ensure your stay is more comfortable.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
gm@expresshemel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Great hotel! Location is lovely by the canal and near the station. Easy parking too. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy at night with traffic and pub goers walking past. But rooms are trendy and comfortable.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Amanda, thank you for your great comments and feedback. It is so nice to read how much you love our hotel - this really means a lot to us to hear these kind words. I am so pleased how you find the hotel to be comfortable and conveniently located. We have installed secondary glazing to the road side rooms now so this should have helped reduce traffic noise to these rooms. I very much hope you will be choosing to stay with us again soon so that we can welcome you back and ensure you have another great stay.
Kind regards,
Suzannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Really lovely hotel with friendly staff.Clean and modern and the breakfast was good.
We also had a delicious dinner at the papermill opposite the hotel.
Highly recommend ! The hotel is so close to the canal we had a lovely stroll down the canal on Sunday morning plus great views of the canal from our room.Would stay again without any hesitation.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mcgom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Dear guest, thank you for your amazing review and comments regarding your stay with us. It is lovely to hear how much you liked our hotel, the cleanliness, the staff, our breakfast and our location. I am pleased to read that you had time to take a stroll and admire the local scenery which also pleases us to be so conveniently located and gives our guests a nice option to be able to walk outside the hotel along the canal.
We very much hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards, Suzannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews