We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Olde Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No thanks”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

From arriving to some locals swearing in the bar to leaving 30 mins later I'm afraid my experience of the Old King's Arms wasn't great. Bed hadn't been made up (as laundry company had failed to turn up), taps and shower were dirty (toothpaste, soap), and the bathroom bin hadn't been tidied. Asked for the room to be changed and was told they were all the same so decided to leave and check in to a local Premier Inn.
4 stars it is not. 2 stars maybe - if they sort out their bed linen!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    43
    12
    7
    14
See reviews for
14
57
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Had a room above the pub, I feel in the original part of the building...right above where the DJ was.........although slept well, nice room, wonky floor but that is due to the buildings age, superb shower.......nice black out curtains.

Breakfast on the small and light side, however, when we set off back to Yorkshire the lady made us some bacon sarnies free for the journey nice touch...

Makes a change from Premier Inn types just ask for a room in the original part of the building....

Nice - we enjoyed it!

x

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Al_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Booked for me by my employer as slightly cheaper than Holiday Inn (although I think Holiday Inn would have done a deal if asked) booked in advance for B & B and evening meal. On arrival there was no record of my booking it turns out that it was booked with previous manager who had left the day before got that sorted and found they did not now do evening meals "great when its valentines day and every where is busy" I was informed that I was the only one staying there that night 2wonder why". Shown to my downstairs room which was small dark and smelt damp the kettle was furred up and the cups were not clean and there was a large damp patch on the wall in the bathroom. The next morning discovered that the shower did not work very well and leaked more out of the hose than the shower heads there was no shower gel but there was shampoo and body lotion presented on a rusty plate. Some of the bulbs and the extractor fan were not working the power socket was loose on the wall and for some reason the light switches were fitted upside down. There was also a strip of wallpaper at the side of the bed that had peeled off due to the damp and had been sticky taped back down. I reported the shower and was told it would be sorted out but this never happened. The thing is colleages stayed here a year or so ago and it was nice it even looks like the rooms have been up to a reasonable standard of decoration in the recent past just neglected of late. It would seem that this place has changed hands twice since they stayed and things must have slipped. Be sure that I dont think that anyone will be staying there from work in future even though we do have to go to Hemel quite often.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joesam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I stayed at this very tired pub with rooms above in mid February when the temperatures were very low. When I made comment about the condition, and access to the rooms I was told that they had recently changed hands but "new broom sweeps clean" would have been noticeable. My room was accessed through a maze of staircases and corridors but was clean and bed comfortable. Bathroom - radiator didn't work and used containers from previous guest were still left in shower. Couldn't get room heating to work so shivered most of the night ....until about 4am when I was abruptly woken by very loud overhead heating kicking in. Breakfast was a non-starter - I had fruit juice and cereal and then waited forever for my order to be taken. (Another guest's room had no electricity as plugs had fused so this naturally took priority) Big builders mug of tea (why not a pot?) which I couldn't drink as it was made with the cheapest tea bags imaginable. I had to have another glass of juice to take taste away. I opted for scrambled eggs on toast because I thought this wouldn't take long to prepare. Wrong. By the time it arrived I took a couple of bites and decided to leave. No-one to leave the key with so I left it on my table. I would point out that to stay here cost more than local "chain" hotels

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1949blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Sat nav got me to the door, however the parking is at the rear. I normally stay in decent hotels, however I thought I would give this 1 a go.

On the outside, I thought .... what the ...

On going inside, I thought ... what the ....

The welcome was warm and friendly. I was shown to my room and was very suprised. It was not far on a par with a Crown Plaza hotel room ( 4 star)

They didnt have a restaurant to speak of, however as it was in the town, there was 1 close by.

The breakfast in the morning had limited fruit / fruit juices, however the cooked breakfast was immaculate.

For £60 inc breakfast for a delux room, was good value ( I was in room 5) and highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald10166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
2.6 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
392 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
712 reviews
1.1 km away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
406 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
612 reviews
2.5 km away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Kings Arms

Property: The Olde Kings Arms
Address: 41 High Street, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Olde Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The Olde Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Kings Arms Hotel Hemel Hempstead
The Olde Kings Arms Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing