We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grove Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Two Brewers Hotel(Chipperfield)
US$73
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$82
US$74
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn London Watford(Watford)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Watford Central Hotel(Watford)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,926)
Filter reviews
2,926 results
Traveller rating
1,714
643
319
137
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,714
643
319
137
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseafternoon teaglass housewalled gardenoutdoor poolspecial occasionsandwichesround of golfbuffet lunchplay golfbirthday treatspa treatmentsdeluxe roombeautiful groundsrelaxation roomstaff were attentivebuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 2,926 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

The quality of the service and the warmth of the welcome has barely changed over the years. On this visit the hotel was full with a Conference going on. However such is the size and versatility of the business centre you were hardly aware of this.

Apart from a pretty long walk to hotel bedrooms ( tip - valet park and get the concierge to deliver your luggage) this is a comfortable place with nooks and crannies to find to sit in peace.

Golf and a Spa are added attractions - both of great quality .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank ahomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear ahomer1,

Thank you very much for your patronage and for taking the time to write this brilliant review.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at The Grove and that we were able to look after you so well.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!

Best regards,
Johanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

We went to The Grove last night as part of a large group for a Christmas party. I have been to The Grove in the past and been impressed. Not last night though. On arrival the welcome drinks were being handed out by staff who clearly had no or little experience. This became more evident during the evening when pre-ordered meals for guests with specific dietary requirements were no different to the other dishes served- for example no pork resulted in a plate with pigs in blankets on it.

When we wanted to order additional wine this proved to be a real challenge and we resorted to having to point at the bottle we wanted on the table and wine list.

Mass catering is a always going to be a challenge but in truth I expected so much more of The Grove. Unremarkable food, amateur staff and expensive to boot.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear Paul R,

Thank you for returning to The Grove and taking the time to share your comments with us.
I am very sorry to read about your disappointment with our events team, which marred your overall experience and I would like to apologize for the food quality which did not meet your expectations. I have personally shared your feedback with our Events and F&B Teams for immediate action and rectification.

We would appreciate the opportunity to further discuss the issues with you. Should your time permit, could you please reach out to me at guestrelations@thegrove.co.uk.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future to restore your faith in us.

Best regards,
Johanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

My husband & I were treated by our lovely neighbours to afternoon tea as an 80th birthday present. We were met by Noemi who made us feel welcome immediately. We were taken to a beautiful, comfortable lounge & shown to our table. We were served by a truly wonderful waitress, Vera, and another young lady called Dorian.
We could not have been taken care of better, even if we had been royalty. The afternoon tea was first class, extremely tasty, varied and plentiful. The champagne went down a treat too. We will definitely be going back and will recommend it to all our family and friends. Stan & Hedy Beecham from Hertfordshire

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hedy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear Hedy B,

We feel privileged that you chose our Afternoon Tea at The Grove to celebrate this special occasion and would like to thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us.

Our Lounges Team go above and beyond to provide all our guests with an exceptional experience and I am really pleased that you had such a wonderful time with us, enjoying our fine teas and meticulously crafted delights.

Please rest assured that I have shared your kind words with Noemi, Vera, Dorian and the team and we all look forward to welcome you back again in the hopefully not too distant future!

Best regards,
Johanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with happy faces very efficient staff on reception, the room was big and bed great. Very old and charming atmosphere. The Stable restaurant was nice and also the Glasshouse bar.
The walled garden was great, the heated pool awesome. The grounds where stunning, recommend taking the free bike and cycle with the lake......
Breakfast was great with lots of choice and the room service menu was several pages long, not the usual stripped down version. And the quality did not disappoint.
Balcony with beautiful views into the formal gardens was fantastic with beautiful modern art sculptures.
Even the car park was amazing... being filled with exotic cars and more fancy cars than I've ever seen in one place and a bright red Lamborghini and Ferrari parked at the front.

The minus is. Very big and confusing corridors. Very expensive cocktails in the bar....

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonpall001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear jonpall001,

Thank you so much for your brilliant review and for staying at The Grove.

I am really pleased that you truly enjoyed your room with its stunning view over our gardens and that we all were able to curate such a positive impression and looked after you so well.

Furthermore, it is fantastic to know that you had the chance to unwind in our Sequoia Spa and had time to go for a bike ride to explore our grounds! I am glad that you had a lovely time during your dinner at our Stables Restaurant and that you enjoyed some cocktails in our Glasshouse Bar.

Thank you again for your generous praise and we all look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Johanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend live within the surrounding area and have always wanted to visit The Grove having heard wondering reviews.

As a Christmas present, my boyfriend booked afternoon tea for us and in particular we had the Christmas menu.

From the moment we walked into the main reception, the service was exceptional. As we were shown to the area were afternoon tea was being served, we walked through beautiful, grand rooms - tastefully decorated.

The wonderful Vera was our host, witty, patient and very knowledgable. She made the whole experience worthwhile. Even converting my boyfriend from being a coffee drinker to a tea lover. She never made us feel rushed and always had a smile on her face.

The food was fantastic and service was above and beyond. I will be retuning again with my mum and sister to show this wonderful venue.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGroveHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to enjoyed the afternoon tea experience. We do look forward to welcome you back to The Grove

Kind regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews