We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Base for large family or friends”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Spring Cottage

Spring Cottage - front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spring Cottage - front of house
Front of House from the side Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Spring Cottage - front of house
Front of House from the side
Lounge
Dining Room
Double Bedroom 2
Double Bedroom 1
Double Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5 - Bunk Beds
Double Bedroom 3
Hallway and stairs (before gate was fitted)
Floor Plan
Bathroom
Games room
Conservatory from the back
Bolton's Bench - 5 minutes walk
Baby New Forest Pony
New Forest Ponies
Spacious Lounge
Local Playground
Paulton's Park Theme Park - home to Peppa Pig world
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lyndhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John B
Sandy, Beds
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Base for large family or friends”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a very pleasant stay at Spring Cottage with our children and grandchildren. The area is excellent for its situation in the middle of the New Forest. The Cottage is as described. The rooms are a decent size. The master bedroom with ensuite is huge; likewise the bed. The kitchen is well stocked and, again, is large. However, the sitting room is a little small to accommodate 10 people but there is an adjoining games room/conservatory which helps. The dining room is large enough and has a high chair. Unfortunately, none of the bathrooms/toilets had a decent lock which meant a lot of singing
The games room was well used by the youngsters with pool (missing 2 balls though), table football, air hockey.
The driveway is on a main one way system and can be a little hairy exiting especially when there isn't a queue as some drivers go too fast! We were there when the New Forest Show was on so it was much busier than usual.
We would be happy to stay there again.
BTW: the entrance is a little hidden. When you reach Shrubbs Hill Gardens it is the next drive a mere 50 feet. Be aware!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The good size of the cottage
Liked least: Busy road at times, mainly due to show
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deliadell...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Functional but lacking upkeep and tlc”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the cottage at 5.30pm already knowing we could not gain entry as the other parties got there sooner. They had been there for over 2 hours trying the lock to no avail. There were 3 children in the party aged 6,5, and 2 who were needing the loo and rest after the journey. When we got there and all had been unable to contact the owner since 3 0'clock we called a local locksmith who quoted nearly £200 assuming he could get in. By now this was out of hours and weekend! Finally my partner managed to jiggle with the front door, one key worked but he confirmed the 2nd lock did not work with the key and was locked from the inside.There was a patio door key but a key was left on the inside, the back door was bolted inside and the brass privacy lock, like the front door, was locked inside too. We rapidly phoned the locksmith back and cancelled.
Once inside the property we found it grubby and unkempt. The beds were made but the carpets were clearly not vacuumed, the dining room had food and fingerprints all over the table, mats and chairs. The kitchen floor was black so we mopped but found it to be the dirtiest mop ever, probably never changed the head. Bathrooms not particularly clean. All hands on deck, big clean throughout made the place feel and look cleaner and fresher. The children were unable to play in the garden as there are a number of large and dead/dying trees there and the grass and pathway covered in dead rubber tree leaves and pine needles. We cleared this during the stay. The garden furniture had obviously been left out for ever, one chair broken, no sign of barbecue mentioned. Washing line a nice touch but no dry as too overgrown all round. A prop would be useful and it hangs very low.
We found 12 bags of stinking rubbish bags left in the carport, many had been split open by an animal?, plus 2 bags of bottles. Once again the boys cleared and tided all this, they discovered much of the rubbish was recyclable. Luckily the council refuse collect on Tuesday and took it all as we moved it to the end of the drive. We felt this was not just one weeks' rubbish and clearly had not been noticed by the cleaner who we are advised has a window of 5 hours to clean.
Many light fitting did not work, bulbs out, worst of all one exploded in the dining room shattering everywhere, the electrics need attending to. No outside lights working at all, pity any winter visitors.
We had a visit from the local council saying they had had a complaint about the state of the hedge overgrown on the pavement side. Also made parking difficult inside as brambles growing there too. We told him it was a holiday let, which he seemed to know, and gave him the owners phone and email number.
There is a toy box in the living room, not many work and we found a biscuit and a used hairbrush in there too.
Carpets throughout the house are stained. The conservatory carpet is particularly grubby with a light patch by the doors showing a considerable lighter cleaner carpet. Curtains have all been removed, holes filled above windows but not painted over. Difficult to darken the rooms for children sleeping. No bins or mirrors upstairs plus lack of power points. Our room had a bedside light which did not even plug in anywhere! Suspicious smells in the family bathroom, urine possibly as area is carpeted, shower screen not properly fixed and leaks when used. Living room sofa smells distinctly musty.
We then discovered that a stain on the ceiling in the downstairs bedroom had got larger, indeed water was dripping though the ceiling onto the bed below. This accounted for the damp smell in that room! Luckily I was able to contact the owner who sent plumbers out the next day (Friday). Curiouser and curiouser, when they arrived they knew about the door lock problem, had told the owner many times and had even had locksmiths in, but she denied any previous problems. We left them to it and not sure leak was fixed as they only disturbed sealing in top of cistern in en-suite.
Overall the property is in a sorry state of repair which is disappointing as I imagine when it was first rented it was probably very nice and many of the issues raised have been put in the visitor book, but have been ignored. When we left the house it was much cleaner than we found it. It is a shame as although it is on a main road which is mentioned, although the traffic is constant and often jammed around the one way it is spacious with a good layout and in a good location.
Lyndhurst is within walking distance with good local amenities, good tea rooms, takeways, pubs, a busy flourishing little town.
The owners guide needs updating (2102) to include safety tips and guidlines. There are stairgates neither fit the stairs.
This list goes on, toaster only worked one side, no locks on bathrooms/loos, no coat hooks in large hallway.
I am arranging to email the owner with an update as I did eventually speak with her and to send some of the photos taken which are on here too. She was aware of some of the problems encountered i.e. cleanliness, locks, leak but told her I felt there were a number of things that need addressing, including risk assessment, including fire, electricity and we will suggest that she is available on arrival day/time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large family house, good layout
Liked least: Upkeep
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Wow! What an essay. This guest seemed to focus more on finding problems than having a fun holiday sadly. They locked themselves out of the house by locking the door from the inside - this has not happened before. As they said, a bit of jiggling and it was fine. I go to stay at the house regularly and this has never happened to me or my other guests. The rubbish was unfortunate and we do ask guests to leave the bins as tidy as possibly by bringing the recycling to the local recycling if possible before they leave. Rubbish is collected on Tuesday and unfortunately I cannot change that :(

The stair-gates do fit the stairs if fitted by those who know what they are doing - I have used them since my own daughter was a baby and they are very sturdy!

There was a very very small leak in the shower due to the silicon coming away from the tray - this has now been fixed and my wonderful handyman Adrian said the leak was very unlikely to have caused any significant dampness.

The house is checked yearly by a gas and electrical safety engineer - we change the light-bulbs when we can and we have a full overhaul of the house at the end of each summer season as thats our busiest time.

We LOVE Spring Cottage and we want our guests to love it too. We will do everything we can after this season to address the specific issues that this helpful guest raised!

Sharon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suzibeato...
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Fantatsic Family Stay in New Forest”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked into Spring cottage for a family holiday and to be close to family in Southampton who had just had a baby. Myself, husband, disabled mum and sister all stayed here and was perfect for us.

Correspondence with Sharon was a bit slow initially due to her being away but anything else was fine and plenty information given prior to our trip.

Sharon was very accommodating as we were travelling from Scotland and allowed us to drop off our luggage at the cottage early in the morning which was much appreciated.

The directions were spot on and we found the house easily. The house is just as its advertised and was so beautiful and so close to the gorgeous town of Lyndhurst and only 20 mins from my family in Southampton so perfect.

There is ample parking in the car port and garage and at the side of the house for 3 cars. As its a one way street into the property the road was often busy and we liked to reverse in for ease of getting back out but most of the times this was fine though sometimes other drivers not so patient!

There is access to the house via the utility room next to the car port which we used most of the time and the front door is round the side of the house.

The 5 bedrooms were perfect for us so we could all have our own room. The bedroom downstairs was ideal for my disabled mum and she managed down the 2 stairs and the WC on same level was perfect for her too. She had a wardrobe and a small chest of drawers which was great for all her clothes etc and a lovely double room.

My husband and I had the master en suite room which was huge and a gorgeous room. Bed was extra comfy and plenty of room due to being a king size. There was 2 double wardrobes and again plenty room for clothes. The en suite was a good suite and the shower was a bit small but did the job in hand.

The other double room next to the family bathroom my sister had which meant we all had our own double room and own bathroom which made life easier in the morning. Her room was lovely at the front of the house and not noisy from traffic. The shower was a bit slow in the family bathroom but again did the job and there was also a bath too.

There was another double room and a bunk bed room which wasn't used. The beds were all made up for us on arrival and we stripped then on day of departure. There was pillows and extra bedding in the linen cupboard.

The heating when put on heated up very quickly but meant some rooms could be alot warmer but we coped with this and there was a dial to adjust temperature.

The kitchen was huge and there was information re takeaways, restaurants and other handy information which was a nice touch and we used quite a bit. There was also provisions left which saved a trip to the supermarket right away. There was tea, coffee, sugar, some cereals, cling film. There was plenty plates and cups for us. There is a dishwasher which we used once or twice and was easy to use. There was also a microwave, stereo, fridge and freezer in utility room.

The utility room had a large cupboard with an array of cleaning products, dishwasher tablets, hoover, clothes dryer, iron and ironing board which was great. There was also a washing machine which we made use of and was great as meant no washing to do at home.

Outside in the garden there was a retractable washing line and there was pegs which was handy for us as the weather was good we hung out the washing and went away for the day and on return the washing was dry. There was some furniture in the garden that i sat out on a few times and it was lovely.

The conservatory games room was perfect for us as I sat in there in the morning as it was a sun trap and just relaxed on the comfy chairs. At night my husband enjoyed relaxing in there away from the girl chat. There was a few games there for kids snooker table football table.

The lounge was where we spent our evenings and was lovely. The board games and books were a welcome touch and we enjoyed an evening playing articulate. There was plenty seats and they were comfy. The TV had an array of channels which was good for watching something different.

I was unsure if my mum would manage in the house as I didn't realise there was 2 steps down from the front door to the ground floor bedroom and another 2 steps down to the living room but she managed fine.

There was WiFi which was easy to connect to and great fore all us techno people and finding places to go.

The main high street in Lyndhurst was within walking distance and a short distance by car. The supermarket Budgeons catered to everything else we needed.

Alot of previous reviewers have commented on the condition of the house and yes there were some marks on the walls but we loved this house and for 4 adults for 1 week at £600 we got a bargain and we were all happy with this house and would defo book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved having so much space that you don't get on top of each other.
Liked least: trying to reverse park off main street as very busy and people not always patient!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing