We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ”
Review of The Oak Inn

The Oak Inn
Ranked #6 of 52 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Whether you’re arriving on two legs or four, we’ll have the perfect refreshment waiting – just something we’ve picked up from years serving ramblers, riders and regulars. Add quality food and ales to a beautiful Lyndhurst location and it’s clear pubs like this don’t grow on trees.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped here with our little ones, our friends and heir little ones. Weather was great, took a walk around the forest and ended up here for lunch. Super place. Friendly management and staff and very good food. Even the children’s menu came well prepared and presented.

1  Thank InMyHumbleOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakInnLyndhurst, Assistant Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear InMyHumbleOpinion,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review.

We really appreciate it.

All the best,
Mindau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We were so fortunate to take up a recommendation and book the Oak Inn near Lyndhurst it was fabulous. The staff were very tentative and polite a real can do attitude throughout.
We had a lovely round table in the front bay and ordered a couple of starters and then a variety of mains which all six of us really enjoyed. All meat produce is locally sourced with a blackboard outlining which meats are from which local farms/farmers, I was reliably informed by both my mum and husband that the lamb was amazing.
The manager was lovely and chatty, and very proud of his team and how hard they worked. They offered our girls aged 6 and 9 the opportunity to have an Easter egg hunt which they loved.
Everything was well priced and presented I look forward to going back given the chance. There was an outside area which I suspect would be lovely in the summer especially with the odd horse wandering past.

1  Thank jhuntingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakInnLyndhurst, Assistant Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello jhuntingford,

Thank you so much for the amazing review. We hope you had an amazing Easter Sunday.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Mindau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Popped into this nice country pub for dinner while staying in the new forest for a few days. The pub was nice and warm and plenty of tables. We have three courses each and a drink totalling £70approx. Food was good, all three courses and service was great. Very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely return here when next in the new forest

Thank Tclarkjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakInnLyndhurst, Assistant Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Tclarkjnr,

Thank you for the nice review! We are glad you enjoyed it.

Looking forward to having you back here!

Mindau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We used to visit regularly when our American cousins visited, as they loved it so much, but they weren't over this year, and what with one thing and another, we hadn't been to The Oak for almost 18 months. So friends from Scotland were visiting, and we took they today for a flavour of a genuine New Forest pub. It was a atmospheric as ever, the welcome very warm and staff lovely. And the food better than ever.

1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakInnLyndhurst, Assistant manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you Patricia!

We are glad you enjoyed it. And we hope it won't take another 18 months to see you again! We are bringing our new Summer menu next month too!

Best regards,
Mindau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We visited the Oak for dinner based on a recommendation from the receptionist at our hotel. We had to book for a later sitting as it was fully booked but it was well worth the wait. The pub is classical for its country look and feel and a great atmosphere. The menu is varied, at a good price and locally sourced. My wife and I shared the prawns to start which we exquisite followed by the salmon for my wife and I had the grazing bar board which was heavenly. The service throughout was attentive and the manager was interesting and knowledgeable to talk to. In all a great dining experience which I would repeat without hesitation and many thanks for the great recommendation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Whiskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakInnLyndhurst, Assistant manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

thank you Whiskywalker (a nice nick by the way!)

we are very glad you liked it. We always try to do our best to give our customers the best service possible while keeping a nice and friendly atmosphere in here.

We'll be looking forward for your return!

Regards,
Mindau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak Inn also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 

Been to The Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing