We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and excellent food”

Mortimer Arms Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 108 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Would highly recommend The Mortimer Arms for a fantastic family meal. The staff were really attentive and the food was excellent. Would especially recommend the smoked cheddar and garlic mushroom starter. Will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank stoner_uk_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Went here to get some food, after staying at the campsite over the road. Upon entering the older woman serving at the bar was so miserable and rude. Told people she only had 1 chef and if they want food order quick…. Great customer service. That put me off even bothering to order food. Got a drink for my son and i, pint and a fruit shoot - £7 something which was bloody expensive, needless to say we didnt stay long and won’t be going back in a hurry with those prices and miserable staff!

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank 789uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Nice people, nice location, poor evening food service but good breakfast.

Kept repeating credit card mistakes. Over three weeks later I’m still having problems

Would not recommend

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank iand842
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2021

Went here as a convenient (just off the motorway) place for a working dinner.
Atmosphere good, friendly. Everything is clean and in order.
Food choice is very good. Particularly for Carnivores, although veggies seem well catered for as well. Great Steak, Incredible Burger and all the sides well cooked.
Despite it being bustling (Paulton's park chucking out time), the service was busy but still good. The staff Pat, Sarah and Neve, were all efficient, polite and engaging.
Not the cheapest but quality costs.

Go again - YES
Recommend to a friend - YES

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RicShaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

I moved to the area few months ago and was recommended the Mortimer Arms for some where to go for a lovely drink and great food. Well where do I start I was not mistaken soon as we walked in we were treated like royalty and the atmosphere was great. The staff were happy and laughing and the lady that served us was good she made us feel like we been coming for months in the year this world gone thought going out for food made it worth it with the serve we got .. I want to thank the Sarah, Katrina for the great laughs ... I ordered a steak and my wife had mussels and just say cooked great .. will be coming again and bringing more people .. so thank you !

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank stevemG6133ZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Mortimer Arms Restaurant also viewed

Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Emery Down, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Mortimer Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.