We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 3 Avocet Quay

External View of the Property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External View of the Property
External View of the Property - west facing balcony External View of the Property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
External View of the Property
External View of the Property - west facing balcony
External View of the Property
External View of the Property
The Kitchen & Dining Area
The Kitchen & Dining Area
The Living Area - sliding doors leading into west facing balcony
The Living Area - sliding doors leading into west facing balcony - (sofa bed to left hand side)
The Living Area - sliding doors leading into west facing balcony - (sofa bed to left hand side)
The Master Bedroom - sliding doors leading into west facing balcony
The Master Bedroom - sliding doors leading into west facing balcony
The Second Bedroom - full size bunk beds with a pull out 'trundle' bed at bottom
The Bathroom - electric shower over bath
External View of the Property in its Context (the property is in the centre of the photo)
View Looking West from the Balcony (Chichester Harbour lies behind the deckhouses in view)
View Looking North West from the Balcony adjacent marina in view)
External View of the Property - looking across the adjacent pond to the property
View of the Property's Surroundings - shared 'green' to the rear of the property
View of the Property's Surroundings - shared 'green' to the rear of the property
View West from the Slipway into Chichester Harbour (50m from the property)
View Across to Emsworth from the Slipway into Chichester Harbour (50m from the property)
View Across to Emsworth from the Slipway into Chichester Harbour (50m from the property)
Looking Down the Stairs
Utility Area at Bottom of Stairs (freezer, washing machine & tumble dryer)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Emsworth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VectisOne
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We found the deck house very comfortable and well equipped. Peaceful and relaxing watching the wildlife outside on the ponds.
Emsworth is a short walk away and has an assortment of Pubs and Places to eat.
There are many places of interest and nice walks in the surrounding area.
We are looking forward to our next stay in the Deck house.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladybird1...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable accomodation, a good base from which to explore the local area”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We found 3 Avocet Qauy to be as described on the website. It was very clean, well equipped, comfortable and had everything that we needed to enjoy a few days in the area. It is easy to walk to the shops, but it's location near the yacht marina makes it feel "away from it all". It was nice to be able to walk straight onto the footpath for Thorney Island.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique,homely and in a great location.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Stayed for a long weekend and were not disappointed.The "House on Stilts" is in a quiet area close to the Sea. Emsworth is a great place to eat,drink walk and people watch and we loved it.The" House" is very well appointed and is obviously used by the owners.Will hopefully be returning in the near future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2014
Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patian495...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location and outside appearance, great - interior needs attention”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The location and architectural concept of the Deck Houses, No.3 Avocet Quay in this case, is very interesting and a big part in choosing this holiday letting.
However, the interior contents leave much to be desired.
• Lighting in the kitchen / dining room is deplorable and needs urgent upgrade so you can see what you are cooking.
• No extractor fan
• Various saucepans, frying pans with worn non-stick coating
• No oven trays except a round pizza tray
• No instructions evident for the microwave and the oven and the lighting so poor that it is impossible to see markings on dials and switches
• Considerable old bottles of sauces of indeterminable date clutter the fridge. Drawers contain junk of odd plastic children’s bowls, straws etc
• Cracked mugs
• All kitchen equipment should be in excellent condition and listed on an inventory
• No coffee table
• Sofa Bed very heavy to open up and too low to the floor, poor quality
• Outdoor furniture stacked and unsightly behind sofa in sitting room
• Take your own “Fairy Liquid” nothing supplied
• Only one good tea towel
• Kitchen cabinets suit those 6ft tall+
• Mould on shower wall in bathroom – better to take tiles all the way up
• Deplorable fault in flush mechanism of toilet
• Lack of mirrors in bedrooms
• Children’s room tiny
• All walls in staircase need painting
• Keys on arrival secured in very awkward box fixed too high on a post and no light to see the numbers on keypad to enter – same when leaving
• Owner took 6 days to return security deposit
If your letting requirement is a rough and ready place for 2 adults and 2 small children it’s OK, just. But for adults or anyone who has nice amenities in their own home this place will be quite a come down, and costly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2013
I'm disappointed and unhappy to have received a negative review for this property. I hope that prospective guests will take into consideration the review for the week immediately prior to this booking.

In addition, I have had 14 separate bookings for this property since the end of April this year, one has already booked for next year and whilst there is the occasional request or comment, I have not had any complaints.

The guest had my mobile telephone number prior to arrival and was invited to call or text at any time if there were any problems, as with all bookings. I did not receive any communication for the duration of the stay.

In response to the specific comments:

Lighting - is as per the photographs - but I will look into additional lighting in the Living Room / Kitchen

No Extractor Fan - there are two windows immediately adjacent to the hob, which is deemed to be sufficient to comply with the Building Regulations

Saucepans & Frying Pans - they are not brand new, but are considered to be satisfactory

No Oven Trays - there is a round tray for the combination microwave oven and a grill pan and roasting pan for the oven as well as a number of ovenproof dishes.

Microwave instructions - there are instructions for all appliances in a clear folder in the bookshelf in the Living Room

Old sauces - the fridge has a few items such as ketchup / jam which we believe guests welcome

Drawers - there are two drawers in the kitchen which contain items of children's crockery, such as bowls, drinking cups which we believe families will appreciate

Cracked mugs - I am unaware of this; any unsafe mugs will be removed / replaced

Kitchen equipment condition - I don’t see the purpose of an inventory when a formal checkin does not take place - in my experience most guests pay for breakages without discussion. I would say all appliances are in excellent condition and very clean, most of the equipment is in good condition, but it’s not brand new

No coffee table - the property listing doesn’t state that there is one - all furniture is as per the photographs

Sofa Bed - the sofa bed was purchased from Muji, and I believe is actually very comfortable. I’m not sure the height is relevant

Outdoor furniture - during the winter months is stacked behind the sofa in the Living Room - the week prior to this booking the St Jude Storm hit and I felt it was important to limit the amount of furniture left outside

Fairy liquid - fairy liquid, and cleaning products are normally supplied, this was an oversight

Tea towels - a selection of tea towels are normally left in the hot press, this was the case on this occasion

Kitchen cabinets - these are as per the photographs - the height of the wall cupboards is at a standard height above the worktop

Shower walls - we recognise that the decoration on the bathroom needs upgrading and intend to do so in Spring 2014 - the photos of the bathroom are accurate and recent

Toilet - there is an occasional fault in the flush mechanism when pressed hard, we are trying to solve this

Bedroom mirrors - there is a small mirror in the small bedroom and a mirror in the bathroom

Children’s Room - the property listing notes this as a bunk bedroom and the photos are accurate

Staircase walls - we would agree that these need painting and intend to do so in Spring 2014

Keys - the keys are secured in a key box - unfortunately the outdoor light had not been left on. If visitors are unhappy with this arrangement, alternative arrangements for the handover of the keys can be discussed.

Security Deposit - I endeavour to return the security deposit as quickly as possible, whilst I recognise 6 days is not ideal, I endeavour to do this within 1-2 days. It is subject to the usual bank transfer timings.

On the final ‘rough and ready’ - the property is let for holiday rentals, we believe that the amenities are appropriate for the use and enjoyment of the property. The listing accurately states what amenities are included.

This particular visitor paid £60 per night, which I believe to be good value for the accommodation offered.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarlach20...
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely space, great for visiting Hampshire / Surrey”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Lovely "box on stilts" (our nickname) to stay for the week. despite the weather (St Jude storm weekend) the Deckhouse was warm & cosy. Everything you needed in the kitchen to cook proper meals, and the whole place was clean and comfortable.
WiFi an added bonus which kept 15 year old very happy.
Looking forward to returning next year if available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the location & the simplicity of the Deckhouse that still had everything we required
Liked least: Lighting in the lounge - though the owner has acknowledged this & plans to amend
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review - much appreciated! I hope you can come again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing