We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Angel Hotel(Alton)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Hart(Holybourne)
US$89
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Odiham)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Trooper Inn(Froxfield)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
121
181
110
70
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
181
110
70
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetold english innswatercress lineweekend breakcomfortable hotelsuperior roomeggs benedictno liftcar parkfamily roomtown centresmoked salmonlarge roombreakfast was excellentreal alelounge areahot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2017

I've stayed here on 5 separate occasions for 4 nights at a time. All the rooms I stayed in where clean, comfortable and plenty of room. Breakfast is really good with lots of choice. The dinner is also good with lots of choice and a saver menu. All staff are friendly an happy to help.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_Alton, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for the positive feedback Tom. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff managed to suit your needs.
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

The staff were nice and friendly. Our room was massive, warm and lovely. The bathroom was modern, nice and clean but could do with a radiator as it was cold. Breakfast was ok.
Will we stay here again ... Yes !!!
Kudos Swan

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank oby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_Alton, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you very much for the positive feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The heating has been very temperamental in the cold weather but we are doing as best as we can to ensure that all of the radiators are working.
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Hotel room good size and modernised bathroom fine. Bed comfortable but only a double not king size. Staff friendly.

However staff need retaining. We were pleased that we could order food at 2150 on Sat evening. But not pleased that our dirty plates were still on our table an hour later, while bar staff chatted to known customers.

We were pleased with the quality of food at breakfast but not pleased that those arriving later were served cooked breakfast first, that we had to wait 20 minutes for our breakfast which even then wasn't with the eggs we ordered. My partner accepted his incorrect order but I didn't. This meant a further wait with my breakfast being redelivered as my partner was finishing his. It was all a bit faulty towers. A shame in a nice hotel and dining room.

The coffee at breakfast was absolutely shameful. In this age when most people know what good coffee should taste like, the coffee offered was an insult. At £85 B&B I expect drinkable coffee. Not flasks of warm brown liquid that tasted of weak, stewed instant coffee.

This Green King hotel has very nice public areas but better management is needed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_Alton, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at The Swan Hotel. We are glad that there were some positive aspects in regards to your stay. However, we will take on board the negative aspects and make improvements to provide a better experience for all future customers.
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

By "mean," we mean that the hotel is stingy: the "superior room" we had provided no tissues and just a small bottle of shampoo and shower gel. At breakfast, the coffee urn was filled with instant coffee, and it was so weak that it is likely they skimped when adding the coffee to the water. While the staff is helpful and friendly, some of the rooms (including ours), while relatively freshly painted, had stains on the walls in both the bedroom and bathroom; the furniture was old, nicked, and shabby; the sheets on the bed, while clean, were old and of low quality.. Speaking to some local business owners, we learned that Alton is divided in terms of those (like these business owners) who recognize that Alton, being the nearest town to Chawton, which is Jane Austen Country, attracts lots of visitors. So the hotels have a captive audience. But the business owners to whom we spoke said that they were disappointed that the local hotels, like The Swan, knowing their "captive audience of Austen fans," were reluctant about making their accommodations really nice by upgrading them. So while The Swan Hotel has helpful staff, go to nearby Costa's Coffee for your coffee and buy a box of tissues at Boots pharmacy across the High Street. The Swan is part of a chain called "OLD ENGLISH INNS." While this hotel has historical roots, our perception is that "old" meant furniture from the 1960's that had been overused.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room that is newly refurbished.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_Alton, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you for your time in writing your thoughts on your visit to Alton. We're sorry that you didn't find everything was to your total satisfaction. What we offer in our Superior rooms is currently under review so I will make sure your thoughts are fed back in this regard.
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Our room was lovely, clean and was a good design mixing tradition with modern fittings. It had everything we needed including a hairdryer.
We ate in the restaurant with our family, which was reasonably priced and pleasant.
We shall stay here again when visiting our family again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank MrsBCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_Alton, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews