We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
127
184
120
71
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
184
120
71
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street old english inns watercress line weekend break superior room comfortable hotel car park eggs benedict town centre smoked salmon real ale bar and restaurant large room breakfast was excellent lounge area hot breakfast enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Our room was lovely, clean and was a good design mixing tradition with modern fittings. It had everything we needed including a hairdryer.
We ate in the restaurant with our family, which was reasonably priced and pleasant.
We shall stay here again when visiting our family again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank MrsBCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_Alton, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Stayed here for 1 night as we were booked to go on a real ale train which started and finished at Alton.We had a very large,extremely clean and comfortable room.Beds very comfy and bathroom top notch.The staff were lovely.Breakfast was very good choice wise but wasn’t keen on the eggs benedict as the sauce was much too strong,but that’s down to personal choice.Would definately recommend this hotel for staying in,and it was a very good price too

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank dianne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_Alton, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

The Watercress Line Real Ale Train is always a fun night, so brilliant to know you had an enjoyable time in Alton and with us at the Swan.
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights- eating in the hotel for one of the nights. We could not fault the staff- really helpful and hard working. The room was on the top floor and we had to negotiate a maze to reach it! Rather pleased that we are fit! Really comfortable room with a good sized bathroom. The shower was rather slow, but that was probably because we were so high up. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems then ask for a ground floor room. We will
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lida75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan_Alton, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you have the opportunity to return in the future.
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Stayed at The Swan after a friend's wedding.We arrived early in the morning hoping to leave are car in the car park and get changed in the toilets as we knew we were far to early to check in.As soon as we arrived the staff were extremely helpful ,offering us complimentary coffee and breakfast in the restaurant.Then they managed to swap our room so that we could check in early and actually get changed in our room.We had not asked for any of this and were really impressed with the service offered.The room was lovely,very spacious with a huge bed and facilities to make tea and coffee.Breakfast was great with lots of choice and we would definitely recommend this hotel and will be coming back to stay.Thankyou to everyone who was working on Saturday 21st October.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

I always avoid pubs when booking a room but so pleased I made an exception. The rooms are brilliant and finished to a high standard. There is safe ample and most importantly free parking next to the rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and bar with an extensive menu. Food is amazing and staff are super efficient and friendly. Specials are available daily and service for fresh home cooked food is super fast. I needed a place close to work and stumbled on this by accident. The small town has a lovely vibe with several chic boutiques and restaurants. It is a place I will come back to with the wife and cannot recommend this place more highly. Its also a short drive to Winchester so get the best of both worlds. Explore the city and unwind in this great hotel. Outstanding!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank NorthStar737555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews