We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another fabulous week”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wainlete

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with open fire, backet of logs and coal provided. Kitchen with all modern amenties
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Lounge with open fire, backet of logs and coal provided.
Kitchen with all modern amenties
Dining area, and bookshelf with local information and large folder of walks, walking books and maps.
Pingry Lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Clearwell, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NessBB
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another fabulous week”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our 7th visit to this wonderful cottage. Truly home from home and easily the best self-catering cottage we have stayed in. Very comfortable bed. All the kitchen essentials you need. The village is also well situated and has lovely places to eat and drink. Highly recommended as a base for a walking holiday or a romantic getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many things! Bed, kitchen essentials, fire, maps and walking books, location
Liked least: Couldn't find the DVD player
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thanks very much Ness. Reviews from frequent guests are the best endorsement Wainlete could have !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen L
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect little cottage, perfect location!”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Wainlete is exactly as it is described; A haven of tranquility!. My husband have stayed in the cottage for at least the last 5 years, usually in the Autumn for a walking holiday with our dogs.You will not find a better equipped more comfortable, more dog-friendly property than Wainlete. Everything (and I mean everything) has been thought of and dogs are not grudgingly accepted with a long list of do's and dont's, they are obviously very welcome indeed, with snacks, blankets, dishes etc all provided. There is also a very welcome bottle of wine (and always a nice one!) for the human visitors. The cottage is ideally situated for exploring the Beautiful Forest of Dean and equally beautiful Wye Valley. The lovely towns of Ross on Wye, Chepstow and Monmouth are all only a short drive away.There are several pubs and restaurants within walking distance, however, we much preferred the Ostrich at Newland (5 mins drive). delicious home-cooked meals,a daily 'specials' menu, and an olde worlde ambience that is second-to-none!
if you're looking for a quiet, rural retreat to get away from the rat race and re-charge your batteries, then look no further, Wainlete has it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peaceful location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for Wainlete and the area, you are both welcome to stay anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YimYem
Oxfordshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A fab place, so well equipped and super dog friendly!”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned home having spent 3 nights on a break at Wainlete in The Forset of Dean. What a great place - perfect for a couple (with the most comfortable king sized bed) and so dog friendly. The cottage is perfectly located in the great village of Clearwell with 3 x dog friendly pubs within walking distance and so many lovely places to visit / walks to do. Jayne was so helpful and accomodating and her cottage is so well equipped (second to none). Highly recommended and we will return to this cottage many times I am sure.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElleJay19...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a good find”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had such a lovely stay in a place that we knew nothing about. We booked a last minute break and were very happy with the outcome. The communication was great and the advice/information provided was great. The cottage had everything we needed. We could happily stay in and cook, watch a film or stroll down to the local pub. He house is perfect for 2 but we ended up taking our inlaws plus a dog and the sofa bed was definitely adequate and easy to use. We will definitely be looking to return in the future!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing