We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, amazing staff”
Review of Mangetout

Mangetout
Ranked #51 of 721 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$40
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a family run BBQ smokehouse and cocktail bar. Our catering revolves around the true food-lover! We serve seriously tasty food made with the best locally sourced produce.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We visited South-End for the first time and had and incredible time here, food was great and the bar man called Greg was so lovely. Would definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangetoutGrill, Manager at Mangetout, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello Charlie,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mangetout and for taking the time to write a review on our TripAdvisor page.
We are pleased to hear that you first ever visit to Southend was incredible and we are happy to hear that we helped make your time special.
We will feedback to Greg to let him know how much you appreciated his service and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

booked for a table of 5 for lunch on easter friday. Place was at 50% capacity. an hour wait for food which arrived luke warm. my partner complained and received 25% off his food order. Waitress offered fresh chips however after the long wait my partner refused. Service was hit and miss, we had a brilliant time previously however after this trip we felt very deflated. Seems to be an issue with the kitchen and receiving piping hot food, after my partner had complained last time and was assured food was tested before served.. sitting right next to the kitchen we could see food was sitting for minimum 5 minutes before arriving to our table and was barely above "warm" think be giving this a miss for a while and trying somewhere else

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Emz_1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangetoutGrill, Manager at Mangetout, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you writing us a review of your recent visit. We appreciate customer comments both good and bad and constantly use them to improve everything that's offered at Mangetout.

We're very disappointed to read the recent visit was a let down and you left feeling deflated. Food should never be served anything other than piping hot and while we're happy a discount was offered in an effort to compensate, we apologise for your food not being perfect.

We hope you realise from other reviews of Mangetout that our food and service are both usually top-notch, so the fact you did not experience this was a reflection of our true standard. Please get in touch with us so we can make this right next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic food and staff very polite and they even asked was any of our party allergic to anything. My steak was cooked to perfection my daughters burger was Huge and very tasty. Good service and children are catered for must say it’s a brilliant restaurant we will go again

Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangetoutGrill, Manager at Mangetout, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Jackie,

Thank you for leaving us a Trip Advisor review for your recent visit.

We're pleased to read you had a nice afternoon with fantastic food. As a Grill & Smokehouse we pride ourselves on our steak & burgers so are thrilled both you and your daughter enjoyed your meals. If ever you'd like to return with the kids, please know we offer children to eat free Mondays- Thursdays between 4-6pm.

We look forward to having you back at Mangetout!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

This place is absolutely awesome. Great position, great atmosphere, music and out of this world food!
Was introduced to the owner and inspiration for all the wonderful food on offer. Big portions and real quality. Been a few times and on each occasion have never left disappointed!
You have got to go here!

Thank davidhzsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangetoutBistro, Manager at Mangetout, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hello David,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mangetout and for taking the time to write a review on our TripAdvisor page.

We are pleased to hear that you find Mangetout absolutely awesome and that you received great food and enjoyed our atmosphere!

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Well this is the first time my family and I have been to this restaurant and it was brilliant,food plenty lots of choices, I have a picky family when it comes to food and the staff where lovely and made sure we got what we ordered.Thia place is ideal for family’s as they have a children’s menu .

Thank Fran139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangetoutBistro, Manager at Mangetout, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Hello Fran,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mangetout and for taking the time to write a review on our TripAdvisor page, we are pleased to hear that you and your party found your very first visit brilliant. We hope to see you again soon, and please keep an eye on our social media pages for upcoming events and specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangetout also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Mangetout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing