We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Haywards Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Epping
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: An exquisite fine dining restaurant located on the outskirts of the charming market town of Epping and the beautiful Epping Forest. Haywards offers modern European cuisine across a range of menus - the great value set lunch menu available Thursday to Saturday lunchtimes, the varied a la carte menu available for lunch and dinner Wednesday through to Sunday (including the special 'roast style dish' on a Sunday), and the exceptional Taste of Haywards tasting menu, available Wednesday to Saturday evenings. The main restaurant accommodates diners of 10 years and over, yet our private dining room seats up to 14 guests and is available for families with children of all ages. Experienced staff ensure all guests are welcomed and have a memorable visit whatever the occasion. Fantastic packages are available for all celebrations including weddings, either within our private dining room or through exclusive use of the main restaurant. Accommodation is available at the Gate House B&B.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve been here a few times and love it! Fresh and lovely cocktails, tasty food and nice and friendly staff.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank rosyt688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We visited Hayward’s for a family birthday, being huge foodies and having been lucky enough to have eaten in brilliant restaurants all over the world due to work, we are so excited to find this amazing restaurant local to us!

Service is professional but friendly, just the right level of “formal” without feeling stuffy or pretentious.

Food is fantastic, a culinary experience not to be missed, with lovely explanations of the exciting menu at each stage. Amuse Bouche and petit fours were greatly appreciated and delightful.

Hayward’s deserve every success, brilliant all round, we will be back soon.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Spiders1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

There is too many fabulous things to say about this restaurant to pick out just a few! From the homemade rolls to the excellent staff, thank you very much, food and service was A***** xxx

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jennyandalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

There were seven of us and as we booked quite late they offered their private dining room which was perfect. Not too big and still atmospheric. Everything we ate was excellent- the amuse bouche were delicious and complimented the main dishes. The portions weren’t big but every mouthful was delicious and we left perfectly satisfied. Our first bottle of white wine wasn’t to our taste and it was changed without any issue. We had the a la carte menu and tried just about everything with no one disappointed with anything they chose. Service was excellent. £600 with three bottles of wine and quite a few g&t. We will certainly return to sample the summer menu.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank JustineV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile


There are many reasons why I'm a frequent diner at Haywards but the main ones are 1) the food is always amazing created by Chef Jahdre Hayward and his wonderful team 2) the wine which we often asked to be matched with each course is chosen superbly by Restaurant Manager Amanda Hayward and 3) the service is very professional from the excellent young and friendly waiters/waitresses and it was a pleasure to have witnessed all three ... once again on Saturday as we took friends to experience a Tasting Menu & Matched Wines evening. On arrival we were greeted so warmly before being shown to our table where we enjoyed a lovely cocktail while perusing the menu. It didn't take us long to decide that we were all going to have the Tasting Menu. After enjoying some delightful snacks it was time for the first course a fabulous Chicken Leg & Sweetbread Ravioli with a Roast Chicken Consommé. Our second course was the Optional Extra Course of Scallop , Octopus , Red Pepper Purée & Chorizo Foam serves in the Scallop Shell. This led us onto the fantastic Mushroom Risotto topped with Black Truffle We then moved on to a beautiful fish course of a Fillet of Cod and a Brussels Sprout Purée before going on to the main course a Braised Short Rib of Beef with miso & aubergine purée which was equally as fantastic. Before moving onto to the desserts we all decided have the additional cheese course as the restaurant has a wonderful selection of British & Irish Cheeses Now it was time for dessert and another memorable dish a nice a light Chocolate & Hazelnut Mousse with an Orange Sorbet & Yoghurt Foam we then received a lovely surprise as the Chef sent us out an extra dessert a stunning Apple Crumble Soufflé & Cinnamon Ice Cream which brought us to an end of a very memorable evening. I would really like to Thank all of the team at Haywards for such a fantastic evening. To Jahdre for the amazing food , to Amanda & assistant Anne for the wine selection which included a delightful wine from a local supplier Parvills Farm in Epping and to the waitresses for exceptional service. This restaurant to me is the Best in Essex and the county really should be so proud of it and one that should definitely be placed on anyone's places to dine lists

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Lloydstevens29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haywards Restaurant also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Haywards Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing