We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
39
83
137
89
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
83
137
89
104
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a night. Paid 90 pound for a room that's not even worth 50. The bed was as hard as rocks. The window wouldn't shut. The wall paper was falling off the wall and the whole place was about 20 years out of date. Even the beer from the bar tasted like it was about 4 months our of date. I really would not recommend this hotel. I'd much rather go a bit further out rather then stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank laurarose213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped overnight at the Bell, Epping having made a reservation weeks earlier. We were using it as a stopping off point en-route to London. On entry it was like the Marie Celeste, with no one at reception, doors left open to what appeared to be the office. After a couple of minutes, our enquiries with a person enjoying a beer 'where were the staff?' revealed the receptionist at the bar. Having introduced ourselves as possible guests the very friendly receptionist quickly greeted us, got the key ready and offered us breakfast as an add on, with the proviso that if ordered that night we could enjoy it at a reduced rate. We gladly accepted the offer. Having negotiated the various stairs and corridors we found our room. The corridors and exterior of the hotel building looked tired and in much need of a refurbishment. The room itself was even worse, very plain walls and carpet, the only bright spot was a throw across the bed. It appeared clean and habitable. Entering the bathroom, found it very unitarian, I have seen public toilets that looked better. Then we espied a vertical crack at least 2-3 mm wide running down the tiled wall for about 1 metre opposite the shower hose. Having decided that since it was for only one night we could do without a shower, we went to the restaurant to see the offerings. At the bar, the barman, waiter, hotel manager, and possibly the chef were all together, that is they were all the same man. We were given drinks and offered the table of our own choice, four other people were dining. Food consisted of mainly Indian curries with a choice of continental cuisine thrown in. I tried a 1 chilli dish whilst my partner chose a Korma. Food was presented to us after a very short wait. The chef must have had a heavy hand with the chilli with even the Korma being fiery, my dish was hot and I could not taste other spices present. To bed and after an uncomfortable night spent on what felt like planks of wood, we staggered down for breakfast. This was a very pleasant surprise with an abundance of fruit, cereal and hot cooked food. The barman/waiter/hotel manager/chef was present and we enjoyed the breakfast experience. Both the staff we saw, yes the evening receptionist was back as the morning receptionist, were most pleasant and extremely helpful. They were only let down by the condition of the hotel. Next visit to the Bell Epping, no thank you, best avoided.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank klondike-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Stayed here for the athletics world championships. It is just over a mile to the Central Line tube station which gets you to Stratford in 30 mins, so ideal for quick access to London. Efficient check in. Rooms are spacious and parking is plentiful. The rooms were clean but tatty around the edges. Our carpet had moved 2 inches up the wall! The bath enamel was marked through age and use. The hotel is a 'motel style' arrangement with several corridors stretching away from the main block. The rooms on one of these corridors appeared to be being refurbished. The hotel is in an excellent position and would be excellent with some money spent on it. We did not use the restaurant.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank HelenC3188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and used it as a base to travel into central London from. Accommodation was clean and spacious but whole hotel was a bit dated and in need of an upgrade. Strange layout as has obviously been extended and extended over time. Overall good deal and location (20 min walk to Epping centre or tube station) but could be amazing with a few updates!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Not good not bad, expect what you have paid for, as it's not expensive so what to expect more. Closeno to epping so convinient when needed to be there ( like me ) should not book it when epping was noy my destination

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank zierikzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews