We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and somewhat cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Hotel Epping
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Stayed recently for one night for work. arrived into Epping on the tube and walked to the hotel (probably a 15minute pleasant walk along a main road, but there is a footpath.

Check in was quick and easy, I had a superior room booked, and this looked like an ex-Holiday Inn room, with the same wooden window shutters, wall colours etc... The room had everything you would expect but no iron/ironing board, which I do find strange and is not a common occurrence now.

The layout of the hotel may put many off as its a series of building and walkways inbetween combined with car parks which is fine on light, warm, dry nights but if anything other I wouldn't be comfortable as the blocks for residential rooms were not secure at all, and anyone could have wandered into the hallways unseen (other than by 1/2 cameras that may/may not work)

It was however pretty cheap for this part of the world @ £65 per night, but you get what you pay for - and most oddly is that the wifi is child friendly only and wouldnt allow access to anything deemed remotely 'adult' such as the National Lottery etc... and just came up with the TalkTalk content blocker (very very odd and I have never encountered this in a hotel ANYWHERE)

Worth noting that this is no longer a Best Western property either (unlike what the 'professional photos' depict)

Room Tip: all much of a muchness tbh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alorotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

The worst afternoon tea ever. Have been to many afternoon tea's and have never been disappointed until today. We arrived and had to wait for a short time and then led to a very dull corner of the restaurant, which was totally empty. Asked if we could sit by the windows which the man said was fine. The six of us sat there for several minutes in the totally silent dining room. Eventually the food came out and I have never seen such a disappointing spread. The cake's were dried up and not very pleasant, certainly not home made. The sandwiches were very poor. Cheese and cucumber,beef and horseradish, chicken salad and ham and tomato. The cakes I think had been frozen and as a result looked unappealing. The waiter was polite but had curry stains all over the front of his white shirt and all up his right sleeve, which didn't look very good. We asked if we could have some music put on which they did, only problem was it was playing in reception. Eventually after asking if we could have the music on in the dining room they managed to do so. Can not recommend this place at all.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank nannycakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

When you pay half of what the local Premier Inn wanted its a bit rich to complain about what you get for the money.
This Hotel or rather Motel is clean and warm all clean towels and tea and coffee provided it is in an ideal location for access to London central and further afield.
We would not hesitate to use again can't say anything about the food as we ate out.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed to be in a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Bleak room very run down no signs to follow and no staff to ask. Room clean but bathroom tatty with cracked basin. Breakfast in edible with no toast or cereal and cold coffee. Epping town just down road. Didn't see any other facilities nearby and their certainly wasn't any at the hotel. Just extremely worn and tired with unhelpful staff. We will not be returning and do not recommend at all.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The reviews for this place are pretty bad but to be honest for an overnight for business or so you can have a drink locally with friends, at £55 per room it's really quite adequate.
We found it to be clean and pretty inoffensive, breakfast was surprisingly nice with everything you needed.
The communal areas are a bit run down and I wouldn't recommend it for a luxury stay or for a special occasion but it does what it says on the tin. So booking with that in mind you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
5.2 km away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
52 reviews
4.9 km away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
800 reviews
10.6 km away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
7.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
8.3 km away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel Epping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range: €56 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing