We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Hotel Epping
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

The above is the best thing I could possibly say about this hotel. It had an ok room. Cannot complain about that.

I booked the hotel on late rooms, on check in the receptionist attempted to charge me more than the booking fee. He could not make eye contact and I could not hear what he is talking about. A confusing welcome!!

We ate dinner in the hotel that night to make life easy. PLEASE DO NOT EAT HERE!! The burger seemed to be made of mystery 'meat' - it was grey. The waiter came to take our order and when we were about to speak he walked away realising he was in the middle of serving someone else!!! He also shouted at a young waitress in front of me.

Needless to say we did not stay for breakfast.

I have noticed that some other reviews on here mention that weird bit of wall in the car park... It's still there and just as weird!!

Bad service and bad food.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed this weekend our first time here, as we were attending a wedding, first impression I didnt quite like the look it was a bit drab. Walking into the reception the girl there didnt welcome us and seemed quite unhappy and made us feel a bit awkward like we shouldnt be there. We had had rooms booked for us for months by the groom, an arrangement had been made enabling us to get into our rooms early as we had to be at the wedding for 1.45. The receptionist knew nothing of this arrangement and said we couldnt get into our rooms until 2pm. We were not happy, then she said we can get into our rooms earlier if we paid £20 each person as we had booked 2 rooms for 4 people. No way were we going to pay this extra on top of the £80 we were being charged for each room. I asked to speak to the manager and she said he wasnt around, then she said she would speak to the manager and get him to call me. We asked if there was any food available, my hubby checked with the barman and he offered crisps and peanuts no sandwiches available, he was rude. We asked the receptionist if she knew of anywhere we could eat as we dont know the area and she didnt have a clue. So we left to find somewhere to eat. I would recommend a lovely little pub down the road go to traffic lights turn left and its called The Forest Gate Inn lovely food and lovely friendly staff. While there the manager rang my hubby and not accommodating at all quite rude and aggressive and wouldnt let my hubby speak. When we got back our rooms were ready, considering what we paid and that didnt include breakfast our rooms were basic and really could be with updating, there were tea stains up the wall. There were noisy people running up and down the corridor and people outside my daughters room outside chatting loudly no respect early hours of the morning. We were told by a couple of people not to have breakfast as it wasnt that nice so we went back to the pub and had a lovely breakfast there.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jgardner272016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016



Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

Our Check Inn time is 1400 hours and we can not guarantee a room before the check inn time. Guest's are able to request for a room for an early arrival and the hotel will accommodate your request if possible.

To be able to check in earlier the hotel charges an early check inn fees of £20.00, which was requested in your case.

It is rather unfortunate that you had booked your room with out breakfast and were expecting the rates to be inclusive of breakfast. Breakfast is available to the guest who have booked room only and would like to add breakfast to their meal plan.

Our restaurant is open during dinner hours only and hence the Waiter offered Crisp's etc.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Did my booking through laterooms when I arrived at the hotel they couldn't find the booking and they had no more of the twin rooms available so they upgraded us to family rooms.Although the rooms were fairly clean it was very basic and dated the shower was either freezing or scalding and very difficult to control so didn't manage to have a shower no extraction in the bathroom,no air conditioning so the room was very hot had the window open but the room faced onto the main road through to Epping so very noisy and to top it all the couple in the room next door decided to argue to 1.30 am when I then went and banged on their door. Such a shame I know the area very well grew up around there and the hotel Used to have a good reputation.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Omg! Just phoned this hotel for a potential room booking. The person that answered the phone was so rude. I asked him why it was cheaper to go through booking.com and he told me he had people in front of him that needed serving!!! He then started to argue with me! Will NOT be using this hotel!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank WendyandBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel. We booked online and read nothing on the website about a deposit but when we arrived we were informed we needed to pay £100 deposit as well as the £70 for our room. I asked when the money would be paid back and was told the very next day when we checked out.
Arriving in our over heated, over priced room. We were met by a mouldy bathroom ceiling. No soap. And a smell of cigarettes.
When checking out the receptionist tried to charge us a second time for our room.
We stayed on the saturday night and still hadnt received our deposit by the monday. I phoned the hotel to be told 3-5 working days. I asked to speak to the manager as i was not happy with this only to be hung up on!! Disgusting customer service.
I was then charged the £70 AGAIN!! This took me over drawn in my bank. The mouldy room had cost me £240 plus daily bank charges!! I finally received my deposit back 9 days after my stay!!!
Terrible rooms and even worse customer service. Will never stay here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank sofeywofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

We have advertised on all online travel agency website that hotel will need a pre-authorization. If you do not have a credit / debit card which can b pre-authorised then only we request for a deposit of £100.00.







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
5.2 km away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
52 reviews
4.9 km away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
790 reviews
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
7.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
11.5 km away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel Epping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Epping
Price Range: €54 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing