We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
203
73
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
73
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf tuition playing golf shower attachment main clubhouse white company toiletries james andrews golf lovely big bed rooms are large carr taylor vineyard separate building round of golf queen room excellent golf golf shop two single beds quiet location evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Overnight stop near Battle which we were visiting. Although at a golf club the hotel rooms are situated in a separate building a short walk from the clubhouse and restaurant. First impression was one of not being to sure as some of the buildings we're in need of painting and tidying on the outside, but once inside and the warm welcome soon allayed any fears. The room was superb with bags of space a super king size bed and a large sunken bath.
We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal , there was a seafood festival on in Hastings this weekend and they also had a seafood themed menu on which we both opted for and it was delicious . The small team of staff although busy we extremely attentive and completely on the ball.
Breakfast was in the same restaurant and the full English was indeed a full English.
Summing up, this is ideal for short breaks and golfing breaks , unpretentious and excellent value , super friendly and great food.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ed6192013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We were staying in the area fir a wedding . We arrived quite late on the Friday so got a bit confused when we checked in as it was dark. However we soon checked in and managed to get to the restaurant before last orders.

The menu is not that large but sufficient and good value. The portions are a bit on the large side, which meant we didn’t eat all of our main as we had a starter, we also couldn’t manage a dessert. The food was beautifully cooked and service prompt and friendly

The room was spacious and lovely and clean. My only criticism would be that there was no shower. The bath had a shower attachment but nowhere to clip I on the wall

The setting was beautiful and lovely and peaceful. For the area it was also great value . We will definitely return and recommend .

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheCBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Family room was perfect for our needs. One king and two single beds. The evening meal was superb. I recommend the rump steak. And the breakfast was one of the best i have ever had. Thank you ans see you again soon

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Great location!

Loved everything about it from the lovely location to the rooms which are well fitted out and decor is lovely.

Bar area is very nice with really friendly staff. So much better than the chains of hotel which can be a bore.

Loved the steak for dinner, cooked amazingly well!

Loved it!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Q8238MWsandrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Location fantastic. Hotel on appearance fine. However major problem with hotel toilet and bathroom cisterns. Every time somebody used a bathroom in the hotel, it set up a piercing wail in room 20. Woke up several times a night to this. Mentioned this in the morning to reception who looked at us as if we were mad.This a major problem that will ruin your stay.

Room tip: Find another hotel
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank psychlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews