We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”
Review of Haywaggon Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haywaggon Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hartfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I remember being taken to the Haywaggon quite a while ago and it was pretty gloomy with unsmiling staff and nondescript food. I was therefore delighted to find that it has changed!! It is now a cheerful place with a lovely varied menu and on a recent visit with a group of friends, we all had a really fabulous time. Lovely lovely food together with decent reasonably priced drinks and nice efficient friendly service. A good time was had by all. We will be back and we are delighted that the gloomy old place has been transformed!!

Thank you and see you soon :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OGTOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thespotteddogpub, Owner at Haywaggon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on the Pub. We are trying very hard to get the pub back on the right track. Always lots of problems along the way, but I think we are getting there slowly. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Haywaggon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

We discovered The Haywaggon three years ago and have patronised the pub on a two or three times a month basis for pub meals at the weekend. The main feature of the meals, speaking as a hungry bloke, was the quantity combined with good, if not exactly spectacular quality at reasonable prices. Good beers, no muzak, dog friendly, plenty of friendly local regulars. Now, we have muzak (UGH), restricted beer selection, 1970's serving trolleys and placemats. The food is now reasonable but smaller portions, but for me it's the poor drinks choices now available, and worst of all the hideous pervasive music (Heart FM ?) that kills the atmosphere. I'm waiting for another change of management, and we were told that so are the locals.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thespotteddogpub, Owner at Haywaggon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor. We have read your review and taken on board.
With regard to your comments about the food:
Quite right, under the previous ownership the emphasis was on quality not quality. Its cheap and easy to overload a plate with chips or salad! we now have a new chef and menu and the food quality is now our emphasis. a good thing , I'm sure you'll agree.
The pub is still "dog Friendly", more so now we have our own pub dog Chelsea.
The bar only used to sport 2 real ales whereas now we have 3 permanent ales and 1 guest ale, including the excellent "black Cat" which is brewed just 2 miles away in Groombridge. We also offer Becks Vier, Budweiser and 1664 as draught lagers, a draught cider and Guinness on draught too. So, more on offer than the previous ownership.
There has always been music playing in the background, until the sound system broke down about 4 months ago. we have now fixed it and people generally agree that music adds to the atmosphere. There has never been a radio. Dean martin and Ella Fitzgerald crooning in the background hideous?? Surely not!
Our locals are very happy that somebody's taken over and saved this fabulous pub from a very uncertain future. Sometimes change is necessary, sometimes people have difficultly accepting changes, but stick with us its early days and you'll see, and be part of, a new era at The Haywaggon when it will go from strength to strength .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We called in on the way to Brighton to check for the evening. We found the most warm of welcomes from the chap running the bar. He showed us round and the menu. We returned at 1830 and bagged a table in the bar. Great beer, as usual, from Larkins one of our great local breweries. Extensive and inviting menu both on the fixed menu and specials board.

We all chose something different. The food turned up in good time and on very hot plates. One in our party of 4 had superb scallops with a roe. All meals were super. No Puds were taken as we were full up!

Only minus point is 2 horrible dogs in bar area "where the are allowed not in restaurant" says Manager. This cannot be fair to dog hating diners. Why did both those owners think other patrons like being sniffed while they eat? I asked one chap standing at the bar to hold his dog while I passed to be told " he doesn't bite!" not funny Sir.

Anyway it's a beef of ours as we had visitors from Oz with us who loved the timbers from the Amarda Ships but didn't like dogs in the bar. Time for Haywaggon to get real with hygiene. Either it's food or dogs.

£25 a head for super food and a few beers plus a bottle of Chardonay was not bad at all.

When you go and hate dogs eat in restaurant.

Big Plum & Little Plum

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank LittlePlum&BigPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at this delightful pub. The rooms were extremely well appointed, clean and cosy with fantastic beds. A good night's sleep is almost guaranteed. We ate in the pub all 3 nights and the food was fantastic. A very comprehensive menu with food to suit everyone, which was extremely well cooked. Breakfast was great too - and plenty of it! What we were most impressed with though was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. We are looking forward to returning to the Haywaggon Inn as soon as possible.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra £10 for the executive room. The bathroom is lovely and the room is...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEWNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Stayed one night while exploring Ashdown forest. Room was excellent, good size, spotlessly clean, lovely bathroom, and VERY comfortable bed.
Ate in the restaurant in the evening, food superb, very varied menu service was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was just as good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelson1805_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Haywaggon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywaggon Inn

Address: The Hay Waggon High Street, Hartfield TN7 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hartfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hartfield
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing