We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely relaxing break”

Review of The Piggery

Piggery and quayside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Piggery and quayside
The Piggery viewed from the stream The Piggery
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Piggery and quayside
The Piggery viewed from the stream
The Piggery
Quayside and seating
The Piggery sitting room
Sitting room
Sitting room
Bedroom
View from paddock
Moss Cottage
View from stables of the piggery
Riding on the forest
Stream bordering the garden
Path to the quayside
Gravel courtyard and garden lighting to Piggery
The Piggery in summer
Seclusion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hartfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Chelseash...
1 review
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in April 2014

We have been meaning to write a review for sometime. My boyfriend and I stayed here for our three year anniversary back in April 2014 for the weekend.
Jenny the owner was lovely and accommodating.
Providing us with fresh food for breakfast to eat in the piggery in the mornings. As well as extra logs for the fire. The wood burner, surroundings and the quite atmosphere is what we loved most. It's very intimate and great for romantic get always.

My boyfriend and I took a stroll into the nearby forest. We walked for many miles and came across a lovely coffee shop "Pooh Corner" which was fantastic! We enjoyed cream teas and scones at lunch time.
(Maps are provided as well in case you get lost)
In the evening we walked to the local pub/restaurant down the road from the piggery (booking in advance is recommended and taking a torch)
At the pub the food was delightful with friendly staff! The manager even offered to give us a lift home as walking in the dark with no street lights can be quite scary!
We really enjoyed our stay here and we loved playing with Jenny's dogs! Who often came and visited us in the garden.
We also had the pleasure of a tour of the main house and enjoyed looking at cars! (If your man like's cars he will be in his element)
Take a camera to capture the nature and surrounding areas. Remember your wellies if you go out for walks!

Thank you so much for a lovely stay! I hope we can return again soon.

Chelsea & Neil

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeneyes...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Piggery at the end of last year, the place is GORGEOUS- full of charm and unbelievably cosy. Jenny the property owner was so friendly and welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. the Wood-burning fire is the highlight of the place so perfect for cold wet winters so spent most of our stay curled up next to it watching movies and drinking wine! The kitchen has everything you could possibly need to cook and even-though we couldn't seem to pick up and WIFI their were a number of DVD's we could watch. This place is perfect for couples wanting a romantic getaway with beautiful views over the river and a great pub just up the road. HIGHLY recommended can't wait to return again soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadjia D
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“When can we come back?”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We were delighted with our stay at the Piggery which we booked at the very last minute as an early Christmas treat! We were right, a treat it was! What a beautifully secluded cottage Jenny and Paul have! They were very helpful hosts and recommended countless walks in the area, beautiful viewpoints nearby and more if you are a fan of Winnie the Pooh.
The cottage is an actual old piggery, nicely decorated, very cosy, yet surprisingly functional. We picked the self-catering optional as we wanted to make our own early Christmas meal and were very pleased as the kitchen has everything you can need.
The wood burner adds a very romantic touch to it all. We definitely would come back and have already recommended the Piggery to friends who have just booked their own stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cosiness of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen F
Gibraltar
1 review
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Loved everything about the location and accommodation. Lovely cosy cottage. Had everything we needed. Very clean. The hosts are very helpful and kind. Thank you so much, hope to be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyPen
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely, tranquil location overlooking the stream. A perfect place to rest and totally relax plus great area for walks through the woods and Ashdown Forest. Felt like a child revisiting nearby Pooh Bridge and throwing Pooh sticks (A.A. Milne's Wiinnie The Pooh).

The cottage was extremely comfortable and more than fully equiped..lots of extras! Lunch at nearby Hatch Inn was excellent. We had a wonderful week and will certainly be back. Very friendly and helpful owners.

Possible problem for older or handicapped people having to climb steep stairs to attic bedroom ..but we are in our late 60s and loved the cosyness of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage/lovely location
Liked least: Having to leave after a week of bliss.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing