We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and pastries ”
Review of Mathilde's Kitchen - CLOSED

Mathilde's Kitchen
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Great cappuccinos and pain au chocolate. Definitely will be back for more. Didn't get a chance to check out the macaroons will wait till tomorrow.

Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Visited for a breakfast, not a great choice of things but coffee was ok. Fresh bread great but pastries soggy and look like baked from a pre-prepared packet. Not very inspiring.

Thank martinbrown73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Third time here, this occasion for a Sunday 'breakfast'. No juices, not even carton apple or orange juice. We ordered bread but they didn't even have butter - so bread and jam it was! Staff didn't seem very concerned. Pain au Raison was soggy and had a cheese sort of taste to it, either baked with other cheese pastries or was a bit rancid, couldn't even eat it. Personally I'd prefer less of the French theme and a bit more focus on the quality of good you'd usually expect from a French cafe. Disappointing, a real shame.

1  Thank Bibiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathilde M, Propriétaire at Mathilde's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

First of all, thank your review and you for coming at Mathilde's Kitchen!

We do apologies if you didn't find what you expected. You need to know we never change our products and the way how to bake them, also the quality of products are the same from the beginning.

Unfortunately you don't like our pain aux raisins et you felt the staff not concerned but it's not the view for the most of our customers.

Then, your complaint about butter, juice, etc, I don't think we to justify for everything.

There is many place in Bexhill to have a breakfast and I think you could find your happiness somewhere else.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Coffee is really good staff friendly. My only grizzle!
On asking for a "strong cappuccino staff didn't know how to do this ( I suggested using less milk more coffee!)
Also asked for croissant with ham & cheese (which was delicious!!) At first staff told me they didn't know the price so couldn't make it! A little bit silly I thought! Got there eventually!! Not giving up on this place just yet!

Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Lovely vibe. Great coffee. Good People. Don't miss this place out, as its one of those cafés that you look forward to visiting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank The_Coffee_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mathilde's Kitchen also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing