We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit for family party”
Review of Dunselma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bexhill-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunselma
Ranked #6 of 23 Bexhill-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Very friendly welcome. Cup of tea and slice of sponge cake on arrival. Beautiful room overlooking Marina. Good selection of food for breakfast. Cereals and a good selection of sliced fresh fruit. My husband had a full English, and I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooking Marian and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

The moment you walk through the door you are welcomed by Jackie the main host and Brian. We usually visit to go to family events as we have family in Hastings and St Leonards-On-Sea; so we usually drop off our bags early and collect our keys and go off, so for us staying in and around the hotel is not the reason we go, but if that is what you are looking for then you have everything you need for an amazing stay.

The hotel itself has everything you could imagine. The rooms are spotless and every kind of room for every visitor from Solo to couples to families.

The rooms have a hospitality tray full of everything from hot chocolate, cappuccino, decaf and original coffee to Earl Grey and Breakfast tea choice to cream, milk and brown and white sugar. They also have biscuits and fresh bottled water with glasses and cups and if you require fresh milk or larger mugs they are in the utility room on the first floor. There is also cutlery, microwave washing and drying machines and a fridge for you to put things in to keep cool, etc.

The bathroom has hand soap dispenser and there is also shower and bath gel and a shampoo and the hand and body lotion, and the smells are gorgeous. We tend to use these as we usually only have 1 or 2 nights and it is easier than having to pack your own.

There is coffee and tea making facilities in the lounge and dining room area which is available all day if you would rather have company or just to be out of your room.

The breakfast is another story. There is just everything and if it is not home made it is sourced from local butchers and shops.

When we stayed there was fresh fruit of strawberries, blueberries, melon, oranges and grapefruit. Prunes de-stoned and dried apricots and figs. There was a seed and cranberry mixture. Lovely thick strawberry yoghurt and plain thick yoghurt. There was a huge store of different cereals both in packets and containers. You could have loads of different spreads and there was home made jam and thick cut dark marmalade which was scrummy on your table with butter.

You hade a wide selection of cooked breakfasts and continental with a selection of toast and again a selection of drinks for you to choose from.

Fresh fruit juices on the day we were there was cranberry, orange and apple and fresh milk.

I had scrambled egg which filled half the plate, bacon and tomatoes, all beautifully cooked.

We have stayed in 4+ and 5 star hotels abroad and none of them have had a breakfast like that or a hospitality tray in the room with so much choice on.

The hotel is situated just across from the Del-a-War-Pavilion and the seaside. Just around the corner you can walk up and get to the town centre and also the train station and there are restaurants of all types along the sea front and up many of the side streets and you have a beautiful promenade to walk along both ways.

We love going back to see everyone at the hotel and usually have to book early or else you will be disappointed.

Please give this hotel a go if undecided as it is beautiful and the hosts are the loveliest and you will enjoy your stay whatever the weather.

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best view but we have been in everyone and all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This is the 6th year we have visited this gem of a bed and breakfast and once again it did not disappoint. Always a friendly welcome, spotlessly clean rooms with lots of extra touches... bottled water, freshmilk and fresh fruit always available. The breakfast choice is varied and always delicious with as much fresh tea and coffee as you would wish. Wether old or young you will always receive a warm welcome at Dunselma.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This really is the British seaside B&B at its best. The price at £80 for a double room was reasonable and the experience of staying there exceeded expectations. Terrific location overlooking the sea and just a couple of minutes walk from the De La Warr Pavilion where we were attending a wedding. The room was comfortable and spacious, the breakfast top class, and home made cake arrived at tea time. All this plus free parking opposite - a nice touch from friendly and professional hosts. Apparently, Dunselma is an old English word meaning 'house with a view' - you can see to Beachy Head

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TravellinmanLondonSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

I've just come home from an overnight stay at this excellent B&B in Bexhill. From start - being given a free parking pass - to finish - having a friendly goodbye from Mein Host - an extremely enjoyable experience. I was there for a family wedding and a cousin bumped into me as I was entering Dunselma, saying that he couldn't get into his B&B. The lovely landlady ushered us both up to my room, reappearing shortly with a pot of tea for two and some delicious homemade cake! My room was bright, spacious and scrupulously clean. This morning's breakfast was a revelation. Real jam and marmalade (homemade), not those awful little glass jars, and butter in a lidded butter dish. Call me old fashioned, but attention detail like this is rare. Nice selection of options for brekkie, I helped myself to fresh fruit and lovely thick yoghurt, followed by the 'full English'. Absolutely delicious! This is the best guest house I've ever stayed in, and is a great deal better than many hotels I've used too. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bexhill-on-Sea hotels
3.3 km away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
978 reviews
0.3 km away
Coast B&B
Coast B&B
#1 of 23 in Bexhill-on-Sea
254 reviews
0.2 km away
The Driftwood Bexhill
The Driftwood Bexhill
#2 of 23 in Bexhill-on-Sea
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Lodge
Park Lodge
#13 of 23 in Bexhill-on-Sea
72 reviews
0 km away
Buenos Aires Guest House
Buenos Aires Guest House
#7 of 23 in Bexhill-on-Sea
196 reviews
0 km away
Seaspray Rooms
Seaspray Rooms
#3 of 23 in Bexhill-on-Sea
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunselma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunselma

Address: 25 Marina, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range: €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunselma 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunselma, once a seafront edwardian town house,now offering quality guest accomodation,with the comforts of modern living but the charm of a bygone era.free wi fi throughout .all rooms fully ensuite.freeview digital tv / radiohospitality trays,bottled water,fresh fruit.full english or continental breakfasteasy walking distance to beach,promenade,bars restaurants,shopsideal base for short break or longer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunselma Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing