We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of The Sail Loft

The Sail Loft
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Welcome to The Sail Loft, our café-bar and restaurant right next to the beach in Southwold on Ferry Road, just along from Gun Hill towards the harbour. With our own private parking and a separate public carpark next-door, The Sail Loft is in an ideal location, Perfect for everyone, we welcome families with children, dog-walkers, business meetings and any kind of special celebration with family or friends. Our relaxed informal destination has a warm welcome, caring service and good hearty food, with daily specials in abundance. The Sail Loft has recently changed ownership and is now run by local chef-restaurateur, Jonathan Nicholson, who also owns The Bell At Sax' in Saxmundham. Jonny and his general manager Luke White, hope you will come and visit us soon. We look forward to welcoming you. We have a passion for specialist coffees, craft ales, wines and spirits. We put our efforts into a local, seasonal, artisan menu of comfort food, using great Suffolk and East Anglian ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to The Sail Loft, our café-bar and restaurant right next to the beach in Southwold on Ferry Road, just along from Gun Hill towards the harbour. With our own private parking and a separate public carpark next-door, The Sail Loft is in an ideal location, Perfect for everyone, we welcome families with children, dog-walkers, business meetings and any kind of special celebration with family or friends. Our relaxed informal destination has a warm welcome, caring service and good hearty food, with daily specials in abundance. The Sail Loft has recently changed ownership and is now run by local chef-restaurateur, Jonathan Nicholson, who also owns The Bell At Sax' in Saxmundham. Jonny and his general manager Luke White, hope you will come and visit us soon. We look forward to welcoming you. We have a passion for specialist coffees, craft ales, wines and spirits. We put our efforts into a local, seasonal, artisan menu of comfort food, using great Suffolk and East Anglian ingredients.
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Really excellent quality and reasonably wide choice. The food was outstanding with helpful, cheerful staff but, Oh Dear - when we arrived we were shown to a table and promised menus... unfortunately after 20 minutes I had to go and ask for a menu and was told that they had run out! On the way back I saw several tables which still had menus despite having already received their food!
Eventually menus and fairly swiftly food arrived- all very good.
However when we asked for a liqueur coffee (at 9.15) we were told that that was not possible as the coffee machine was turned for cleaning!
So food four star,
Service four star
Management 0 star

Anthony c k

1  Thank AnthonyCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at The Sail Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for your review, this should not have happened and will not in the future, sorry for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2018

We had a great meal as a family outing. This venue is in a lovely setting right next to the beach. Had a nice walk after which just made the day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wattygadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at The Sail Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Fab - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, check in was easy & staff friendly. Has a car park next to the hotel but only about 10 spaces. We stayed in room 3, the room was clean and looking over the sand dunes but could not see the sea, but not a problem. In the room was tea & coffee, fresh fruit, juice, croissants and biscuits- enough for a small continental breakfast. The room was large and the bathroom had a shower only but well equipped. The only disappointment with the room was hearing snoring noises from the room next door, kept me awake. The breakfast was very nice but no full English, except at an extra cost. The breakfast is served in my opinion far to late 9.30 till 11am. In all it was a very nice break but I do feel a little bit over priced.

Thank CarolArnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at The Sail Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for your comments and glad on the whole you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

We had a great family meal here, with excellent service. As soon as we arrived the delightful waitress gave Our four year old daughter a pot of coloured pencils and the kids menu with drawing shapes on the other side. The kids menu had lots of choices and my daughter enjoyed the fish and chips and ice cream for pudding. For grown ups, The brunch menu continues until 6pm which was perfect as some of our party just wanted lighter dishes. The smoked haddock and leek chowder with an organic poached egg was delicious. My husband enjoyed the lobster and crayfish risotto. My mother in law ordered steak but didn't like the sauce it came with - the staff offered to provide another meal without the sauce which was greatly appreciated. We will definitely return to this lovely restaurant.

Thank jules0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at The Sail Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

That's lovely - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We used to go here every day of our holidays. But now it seems to have lost focus, there are many broken chairs around the seating areas, tables not cleared and clearly not cleaned, they are sticky ! We were the only ones in and 3 staff walked past the uncleared tables, we were going to eat but left. The outside tables attract gulls because they are not cleared, very poor all round.

1  Thank Winelover19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan N, Owner at The Sail Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for your comments, we have addressed the issue of service and I do hope that you will return to find a different experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sail Loft also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to The Sail Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing