We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Sunday Roast”

Restaurant at The Randolph
Ranked #15 of 53 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$61 - US$61
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 July 2017

I have eaten here many, many times in the past, whilst David & Donna were here and Derek & Teresa before that. It's always been good wholesome British food, using fresh food prepared and cooked on site and good portions. I'm pleased to say, it hasn't changed.

It was Sunday and they had roast on the menu. My parents both had the Roast Beef and I had the Roast Pork with a generous portion of crackling; delicious. My sister couldn't find anything she fancied on the mains menu, so she asked for the Ceasar Salad as a main course; they were happy to oblige. We all enjoyed our food.

The staff were friendly and attentive, everywhere was clean, including the toilets and prices were fair. We would definitely go back.

Thank Johnthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Restaurant at The Randolph, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear John,

Thank you for your lovely review again, it was a pleasure to see that you had been looked after so well, even though we were on our days off, We hope you look forward to continuing enjoying The Randolph's hospitality when Gareth and Jenny take over in the near future.

All the best

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

Fabulous food, more than just pub grub. Our preferences were catered for.
Delicious and good value, not your standard, some great healthy options.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank atworkabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Restaurant at The Randolph, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, I have passed this on to the team

many thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We were staying at the Randolph as the Crown was full and the Swan not open. The Randolph is clean simply furnished but very good. The food was well cooked and had a few foodie touches. Not just pub food but best of all the staff were attentive and friendly. Unlike the Crown where the staff were rude and just didn't seem to care. we had three vegetarians in our group who all had a good meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kentJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Restaurant at The Randolph, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

How disappointing to read that you didn't enjoy Adnams own hospitality at The Crown. We are glad that we made up your weekend and delivered on food and service.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

If you are a tourist you have to be prepared to share the dining room with the locals, as the Randolph run many 'special' nights. That said, what better recommendation could there be.

Thank sadoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Restaurant at The Randolph, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Great review thank you!

we look forward to looking after you again soon.

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Nice friendly small hotel. Cut off for food a little early but managed to order ok at 8.40pm. Lovely fish and chips plus good real ale options at bar. Restaurant was full as they run a special deal on Wed evenings.
Room nice and spacious and they upgraded me to larger room. very comfy bed.
One area to improve is bathroom which whilst clean was very dated.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shanker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at Restaurant at The Randolph, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

yes Wednesdays are almost always full, glad you liked the upgrade.

hope to see you next time

David and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at The Randolph also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 
Southwold, Suffolk
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Restaurant at The Randolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing