We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple breakfast”
Review of The Beach Cafe

The Beach Cafe
Ranked #44 of 53 Restaurants in Southwold
Price range: US$2 - US$20
Description: Join us bright and early and enjoy the sun rising over the sea while you tuck into one of our famously good breakfasts. Whenever you're feeling peckish, our all day family friendly menu has something for everyone and we'll even prepare a lovely picnic for you to enjoy on the beach!
Restaurant details
Description: Join us bright and early and enjoy the sun rising over the sea while you tuck into one of our famously good breakfasts. Whenever you're feeling peckish, our all day family friendly menu has something for everyone and we'll even prepare a lovely picnic for you to enjoy on the beach!
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Went in the morning for a breakfast. With a family member in a wheelchair and a dog it’s normally hard to find a place to eat in. The beach Cafe is dog friendly and there is wheelchair access but we did have to move the chairs and tables a bit to fit in. If the cafe was busy, I don’t think the wheelchair would fit.

Was disappointed with the breakfast, as the eggs were uncooked at the top and rubbery at the bottom.
Also the cutlery given was not very clean either.

Staff behind the counter were friendly and the lids to the sauces on the tables were clean.

1  Thank Guide742569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

The Beach Cafe is both dog friendly and very accessible for wheelchairs users, even when we are busy and the chairs and tables are easy to re-arrange as needed.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and the cafe clean and tidy.

Do come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Southwold Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2018

We managed to get all of our family together for an afternoon at Southwold and treated them to tea.......6 fruit shoot drinks for grandchildren £10.50 - 2 500ml bottles of coke £4 - 8 small chips and believe me they are small portions £16.80 - 3 battered jumbo sausages and chips £18.87 - total cost £50.17!!! Then treated the grandchildren to an ice cream cornet each - 6 small plain vanilla cost over £12!!!! Will find somewhere else next time as way overpriced.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bobjansteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear bobjansteward,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit.

I am sorry you felt the Pier was expense, we do regularly review our pricing to ensure that we are competitive within the local market. I trust you all enjoyed your food and please do come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Southwold Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Probably the best fish and chips I have ever eaten, with freshly prepared perfectly cooked moist fish and crispy batter. We did arrive very early for lunch and the queue formed shortly afterwards, so get there early!

Thank MWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear MWDevon,

Thank you for your review.

I was really pleased to read you enjoyed the Fish & Chips from the Beach Cafe. It does get really busy, so getting there early makes it much easier!

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again if you are ever back this way.

Kind regards,
Southwold Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Very expensive, poor quality food. Re-heated microwave potatoes.
Very disappointing. Poor advert for Southwold.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Louise B,

Thank you for your review.

I was disappointed to read your comments and would ask that you contact our General Manager, Peter, to discuss this further. He can be contacted on peter@southwoldpier.co.uk.

Kind regards,
Southwold Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

You think as at end of pier you will be getting good fresh food. We had a variety of takeaway food including fish and chips, veggie burger chips, fish cake chips. All were horrible chips frozen out of packet cheap fish cake, veggie burger from a frozen brick slapped between cheap bap this on its own with chips and Diet Coke was over £11. Massively expensive, quality very poor. Avoid.

1  Thank joannesinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear joannesinfield,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our General Manager would like to speak to you with regards to your comments. Please contact him via email peter@southwoldpier.co.uk.

Kind regards,
Southwold Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Cafe also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to The Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing