We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
308
151
38
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
308
151
38
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews popular with locals top floor minute stroll homemade shortbread friendly hotel pub with rooms steak town centre sunday night small hotel fire escape mini break evening meal large bathroom a lovely stay breakfast was excellent three nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

Why would anyone pay nearly £200 for southwold hotel when this lovely hotel with great bar and restaurant is 5 mins taxi ride or 20 min walk away ! Friendly and helpful staff . Got a small discount when I phoned to check availability. Nice , recently refurbished room . Decent bar with local beers and a wide selection of Gins. Popular with locals. Tidy bathroom with good shower . Good Full English breakfast included in price. Been here four times over past 3 years and always leave feeling satisfied.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Pete2665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennykE7870EE, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Excellent all round review - thank you for such positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019

We stayed for 1 night recently and had a lovely time. The hotel is small and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and had a nice touch with homemade shortbread.
Ideal location for Southwold and surrounding area.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent, cooked to a very high standard.
Will definitely return to The Randolph.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank N7666MQsarahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019

This small hotel is about one mile from Southwold pier and town centre and has plenty of parking. It is easily walkable to the town/beach and saves the issue of trying to find a parking space during the peak summer holiday times.

It is more like a pub with rooms than a hotel but the rooms are a decent size and comfortable. Value for money wise it is much better than the hotels in the centre of the town. We ended up eating our evening meal at the hotel - we chose to eat in the bar but there is a more formal restaurant area adjacent to the bar and you can have the restaurant menu in either. The food was excellent and offered as good a range of food as any of the town restaurants and at a much more reasonable price. The hotel has a nice garden area to relax in with a drink after a hard day relaxing by the beach...

All the staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: September 2019
3  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2019

Called in here for mid week dinner, it was nice and quiet in the restaurant although there was a lady with a rather unfortunate voice and a laugh that carried which was a bit off putting, but I guess if the restaurant hadn’t been so quiet it wouldn’t have been so noticable. Food was lovely though and the service was excellent.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank MidLifeMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2019

Myself and three friends have just had the Afternoon Tea.
After reading the raving review in the East Anglian news paper, we had very high expectations and were not disappointed.
We were served a lovely selection of freshly made sandwiches and warm sausage rolls. Followed by a delicious array of sweet treats. My favourite being the mini Apple and blackberry crumble!!
A perfect relaxing way to spend the afternoon catching up with friends.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank COGS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennykE7870EE, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

So pleased our Afternoon Tea lived up to the rave reviews- thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews