We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A feeling of welcoming spaciousness, good food & friendly, helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Randolph Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Randolph Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A feeling of welcoming spaciousness, good food & friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We had stayed here more than 20 years ago, when it had a different name, and it has improved greatly since then. Four of us stayed in two rooms. The rooms were large and well proportioned on a proper Victorian scale, giving a light and airy feel. Our bathroom was enormous. One very strange thing was that all the cold taps in the hotel (on sinks & baths) were fitted the wrong way round, ie they turned on clockwise and turned off anticlockwise, exactly the opposite to the normal way round! It took some getting used to, but once mastered it was OK. The staff were all attentive & obliging. The Hotel Bar had both a good wine list, and well kept Adnams (what else?!) Ale. The Hotel Restaurant evening menu was an attractive mixture of dishes, and between the 4 of us we tried almost everything. It was all very good, and much better than we expected. Only downside was at breakfast, when the smell of open bowls of brown sauce, amongst the cereals on offer, put me off my Cornflakes. Altogether though an excellent place to stay and enjoy Southwold. Very good value for money at the prices charges too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyloNorwichEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    87
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
183
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had a kingsize room on the top floor. The room was very comfortable and well furnished, but certainly not quiet so not suitable for a light sleeper. There was a humming noise overnight which might have been some form of pump and you could also hear running water at some times in the evening. You could clearly hear the occupants of the next room when they had a bath or shower. The room had a fire escape through it and also had a break glass point on the room door itself which meant that the room was not secure. I think it would have been helpful for peace of mind, for the proprietors to consider putting a small safe in the wardrobe of this particular room. The shower pressure was poor but the bath was fine. The hotel is in a great position for walking into Southwold and that means no parking problems! The staff were excellent and looked after us well. We would definitely stay again - although not in that particular room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darzet-Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The service was excellent the staff very friendly and the food superb in fact the beef was amongst the best we have enjoyed in our 60 yeras of life

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eynsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

The first time I have visited this part of the Country and we were invited to a wedding of a friends daughter the reception taking place at the Randolf.
We arrived early at 1pm on Friday and were ableto check in whilst the rooms were being finished by housekeeping and we left our vehicle on the car park and walkied into southwold. We returned and the room was ready. Room 8 1st floor at the front. large room clean smartly decorated lage comfy double bed . both still and spakling water provieded a nice touch alongside the tea and coffee. Bathroom large with real good powerful shower and nice selection of toiletries.
Friday night we decided to eat at the randolf instead trecking into town . Daughter had a ribeye steak with trimming asked for medium rare and thats exactly how it came, wife had the Haddock and chips i think the fisherman mixed up the fish and brough in a whale the size of the Haddock was humungus but with white tender flesh inside a light golden batter, as for me I went for the compfy of duck on a bed of vegatable noodles and hosin sause. Dave the owner who took the oder looked at me when i was wondering if to have any sides there was a slight shake of the head on his part Im glad I took his advice the portion was again massive. prices were fair given the quantity and quality.
Breafast again a good selection of cerals and main dishes with neverending supply of toast.
I managed to meet the chef and had to congratulate him.
Drinks are cheaper than some of the other establighments in town from what i could see and the bar had a very nice selection across the board to suit most tastes.
Saturday afternoon and evening was the reception again the food was of a very high standard and one of uor guests at the wedding was a noted chef from the area.he commented on how good the food was. Having said ththe previous the vast majority of the wedding part myself included had travelled from Stoke on Trent for the wedding and I believe we actually had booked all the rooms. I state that having seen 3 other rooms other than my own all were of a similar high standard.
One slight down point. It did not bother me as I was attending the fuction and it would not affect people if there was no function on but our room was right over the diningroom so that the noise of the laughter and music could be well heard until it finished sometime after midnight. Again that is the only slight down side and I would think that when receptions are taking place most of the rooms would have been booked by guests attend the function.

To Dave your good wife and all your team housekeeping waitresses, and the hard working barstaff thats for a brilliant weekend

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrckoWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Welcome was extremley good and informative the staff are very freindly and gave us good local knowledge.
The room was very clean and we could not fault the facilites.We chose to have dinner the first night in the hotel and the food was so good that we chose to eat there on the second night.We think that this smashing little hotel deserves more than two stars,we have spent weekends in London in four star hotels that have not been a patch on this.
We hope too visit again in September it was that good!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loisandant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
1.5 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.4 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.9 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
20.7 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
20.7 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randolph Hotel

Property: Randolph Hotel
Address: 41 Wangford Road | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Randolph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Randolph is a family run hotel in the village of Reydon near SOUTHWOLD. You will be assured of a relaxing stay in the Number One Hotel in the Southwold area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randolph Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing