We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
522
176
64
29
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
522
176
64
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room restaurant nespresso machine outstanding room small bottle lovely hotel market place complimentary bottle car park special treat restaurant staff front of house fabulous stay brewery tour hadn t waiting staff adnams brewery short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2020

A wonderful break before Christmas, with great food, drink and service in a covid safe environment. The Christmas decorations were excellent and sitting in the dining room looking out onto the town square decorations made it all so special. Thank you. We look forward to returning soon.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Relaxing-venues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2020

Exceptional staff & food, great location, faultless service, beautiful decor. Avoid the rooms facing the brewery during the week as can be a bit noisy during business hours! Will be returning in the new year.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank olsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

Lovely rooms and a real improvement Post refurbishment. We were upgraded to a suite for our Ruby anniversary which was thoughtful and most welcome. Staff were lovely and all tried to make us feel welcome, we dined in the Still Room were food and wines were of exceptional quality.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank The Border R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020

Our stay at The Swan during these challenging times was perfect. It was our first visit to Southwold and we chose The Swan because of the excellent reviews and it did not disappoint. Their approach to the Covid situation was admirable, tables in the dining room spaced apart, cleaned well when diners left and they had a staggered timing for breakfast (which was the best hotel breakfast we’ve had for a long time!). The room was spotless. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and compliments to the Chef, the food was amazing. The rooms are well designed and it’s the small in room touches that made the stay special. The staff in this hotel are incredible, nothing is too much trouble. Our thanks go to Summer for her brilliant Front Office team, Emma in the restaurant for service and Espresso Martinis, and Matt for looking after us in The Lounge and delivering our drinks with a smile. Our only negative would be the floorboards...appreciating it’s an old building but we were on the first floor in room 4 and the creaking and footstep noise from the room above was extremely loud, disrupting our sleep during the night and waking us up extremely early the first morning by occupants packing, showering and leaving. That said it may have been our first but it will not be our last visit, I think we have found our perfect bolt hole and we will certainly return.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay Edwards, Sales at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2020

Thank you for your lovely review Angela. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your first visit to Southwold and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2020

Despite visiting Southwold many times and not stayed, we decided on a friends' get together in October with 6 of us all staying here. The hotel is bright and pleasant and the staff welcome was excellent. The hotel has, of course, had a revamp which is mainly successful. The room names are pretentious and caused a misbooking by me as my "Excellent" room is trumped by "Outstanding" and "Fabulous". I would have booked the latter instead of a perfectly pleasant, but average-sized Excellent room, had I not been beguiled by the nomenclature. There is nothing not to enjoy about The Swan at all and I recommend the restaurant, although consider as an alternative a meal at The Bell, Walberswick under the same ownership. Once more, I recommend the staff service here, which was excellent. Hope to come back when we are not all masked.

Room tip: Check the Fabulous rooms
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travelcelt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay Edwards, Sales at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2020

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay in October and we hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews