We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at The Crown- Southwold”
Review of The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lunch at The Crown- Southwold”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our yearly lunch at The Crown Southwold lived up to its usual high standards. The extension to seating over the last couple of years has reduced the competition for seats.The menu remains varied and of a very high standard. Wine has a higher mark up than in the past when it used to be a £5 mark up-,shame that isnt still the case,however, excellent wine list. My Valentine pudding with Adnams cherry liquer was delicious. Avererage £40 per head for 3 courses plus one bottle of wine.Highly recommended.Children welcome as long as they enjoy good food.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, General Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that year after year we are still able to provide you with the usual high standards you have come to expect at the Crown. We hope to see you again next year, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    137
    61
    24
    8
See reviews for
60
238
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

5 of us decided to eat at The Crown on New Years' Day and we can't recommend it enough. There was a set menu on the day priced at a very reasonable £20.00 for 2 courses. The food was amazing and the service was fantastic.

We loved it that much that we went again the following day for a light bite and a bottle of vino!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie-Mau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Our friends were celebrating his 50th in Southwold so we were invited to join them as a suprise. They had an apartment, we booked the Crown.
As my husband said he had booked a very expensive hotel which ought to be very nice, we arrived Saturday afternoon and I was recovering from a rotten cold and still feeling rough. Checked in, reception staff lovely, very friendly, went up to the room and must say first impressions were 'overpriced and over-rated'. The room was fairly basic and FREEZING so husband went back to reception (lots of stairs) to ask for heaters and heating. Lady apologised, brought two heaters up, plugged them in and left. I walked across the room then BANG & BLUE FLASHES - heaters blew up. By now I'd had enough. Lovely receptionist de-camped us to sister hotel The Swan - MUCH better. Got into hot bath to heat myself up then sat wrapped in luxurious towels and dressing gown only to find BOTH TV's not working. Sent for maintenance man. He couldn't fix them and suggested we changed rooms. To be fair this was not his fault and he was very helpful. No, we didn't want to change rooms - I'd just got warm! So no TV. They gave us complimentary sandwiches and a drink, which was very nice of them. Went to the Crown for the meal to meet our friends. When they arrived, they were approached and asked if they had booked, which my friend told them she had. The waitress said 'Yes, there are four of you' (This was supposed to be a surprise!). Eventually had the meal which I would not rush back for. The 'birthday boy' had to ask for his chips which should've accompanies the steak. The waiters were great - nothing was too much trouble but obviously the kitchen is not in sync.As our friend treated us, we felt we couldn't complain.
Southwold is lovely, but honestly, the hotel(s) are vastly overpriced. We missed breakfast (latest 10 am) and were still charged the full price of £220. We've stayed in Gleneagles for less with much superior accommocation/food/service.Next time we will rent an apartment -oh, we recommend the Sole Inn - great hospitality and food (friends went next day for lunch, we had a drink there).
Apparently the Adnams tour is wonderful (friends went next day) and I can vouch for the toffee vodka which they brought back.
LOVED the evening with our friends, but so disappointed that my husband's first trip to Southwold was probably his last!

Room Tip: Go look first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizi090411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed recently, paying £173 for a standard room!!. The room was a lovely size,large bathroom and warm. But considering the price, we were disappointed with the state of the rooms. The bedroom area had large dried up wet patches on the wall and mould marks on the ceiling where a pipe once leaked. The bathroom was worse. The shower screen was almost falling off the wall, extremely tatty and falling apart from the bottom. It was filthy along the lower level too (damp sludge). The tiles by the taps were falling away from each other leaving dirty greasy gaps. The electric shower hose was untouchable!. The bathroom never had any toiletries replaced over 3 nights. We had to ask.
Having said that, I know the place is now closed for a huge refit and update to all the rooms. Boy we must have heard that a hundred times from the staff, but that didnt help us paying so much money at the time. I felt cheated.
The food doesnt seem to have the same quality to it in the evenings.My husband had the most expensive steak and it was the size of a small burger. My waldorf salad did not have all the ingredients as stated on the menu.It seems picky but we paid alot for the food.
But the breakfasts (cooked were very good), the bed extremely comfortable and the best of all were the staff, they were great.
To stay here again, I would go when there are offers on. It was very expensive for the poor quality rooms. (Regardless of being reminded so many times about the refurb!!)
I hope The Crown can get itself back on the map as a good quality hotel.
,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambridgegal67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We did not stay, but ate in the restaurant last night, and although a shockingly grubby carpet, and slightly tired decor, had a fantastic meal! My partner is a vegetarian, and she adored the bubble & squeak cake. I had the sirlion steak, which was cooked to perfection, and although originally thinking £22.00 was a bit over priced, discovered it was worth every penny. The wine list is up there with the best, packed full of choice. The service was friendly and welcoming. I strongly advise you to visit, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
1.4 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
331 reviews
0.1 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
599 reviews
0.5 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,000 reviews
19.7 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
652 reviews
9.8 km away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Property: The Crown
Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exciting and intimate combination of small hotel, wine bar, pub and restaurant, Adnams Crown Hotel is always buzzing with a lively informality. The food is famously good and the wine list wonderful. You don't have to take our word for it - The Crown is an award winning hotel and was named Suffolk Dining Pub of the Year by the Good Pub Guide in 2013 and 2014. Situated on Southwold's High Street in Suffolk, The Crown is at the heart of activities, and just a few moments away from the seaside. Relax before lunch or dinner in our snug 'Back Bar' with a pint of Adnams famous beer. Free WiFi available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing