We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
13
31
40
27
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
31
40
27
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews selection of beers excellent location sea air decent size wi fi tea and coffee pluses owing
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Booked for a short trip away - room was adequate, clean and fresh, cleaned each day,we were not expecting a five star stay and we found the breakfast to be adequate and filling. Staff were excellent and polite.
Yes, the poor hotel could do with a lot of TLC but we found it OK for the price that we paid for our quick getaway.
Nice new TV in the room but unfortunately we had hardly any signals so the aerial/sky system needs updating. But we didnt go there just to watch T V!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We have just returned from a 4 day New Year break with David Urquhart travel staying at this hotel. We were concerned about what to expect as the reviews were saying that it was not a good hotel. We need not have worried as it turned out to be a lovely friendly hotel, it was clean comfortable with excellent food, staff could not do enough for us. There was entertainment each night including bingo Janice was the caller what an experience. We had one excursion which was to Ipswitch, if you get a chance don't miss it as it has plenty of shops and some lovely architecture.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holiday1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

...having read the reviews we dreaded arriving,but for the fact we could not get anything else as it was for New year, we had no choice. Although old fashioned it was clean, the rooms were spacious, it did not smell of smoke anywhere,the beds were comfortable, and no mould in the bathroom. The staff couldn't have been nicer very obliging and cheerful especially in the dining room. Janice on reception was very welcoming and helpful. Our full English breakfast was more than adequate and delivered to the table with a smile. Our only issue was that Room 120 has the bar fridge motors outside the window which work at all times so we found the noise annoying which did disturb our sleep but might not effect other people. It was good value especially as this was over the New Year holiday period and as we have family in the area we will be staying again but would request another room. Try it, you too might be surprised!

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunsetbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Stayed for a couple of nights in this hotel. Rooms extremely old and very basic, and in which you could smell cigarette smoke....eww!! As a nonsmoker not very nice. Told owner/manager who was totally rude and unsympathetic, staff
looked scared stiff of him!
Food average, could probably do a better job myself!
A maze of corridors that you could easily get lost in if there was a fire and a coffin sized cranky lift that you can just barely fit yourself and luggage in LOL!!!
If your looking for a basic stay and not worried about comfort or customer service, espesh from the owner, who I take from previous reviews is a Mr.Singh, then this is the place for you!!
Only thing going for this hotel is it's location by the sea....which says it all!!
I don't normally like to speak negatively about things, but felt I had to, as didn't want other people to have to an unnecessarily poor experience and have their holidays ruined.

Date of stay: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuranoBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Stayed there for 4 nights as part of a Leisure Time Coach trip. A little apprehensive, having read previous reviews. On arrival, my apprehension seemed correct. The hotel has a shabby exterior but our welcome was good with cups of tea while the other coach was attended to. Bedroom was basic but beds very clean, bathroom was adequate. However, we were at the back and could not see out of the windows because they were so dirty!! The promised entertainment consisted of 2 free bingo games lasting 15 minutes on the Monday night and a duo on Tuesday night. Bars usually closed by 10 or 10.30 p.m. Food was good but portions small and service slow. The first night we sat down at 6.30 but did not get all our food until after 8 p.m.!! Drinks were very expensive and the Flying Boat Bar smelled of stale smoke but the bar staff were nice. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would we stay there again - only as part of a coach trip. Their advertising brochure is very wide of the mark. All in all, definitely a 2 star experience but again, I liked the staff. However, my daughter had to pay £44 single supplement and the room was certainly not worth the extra.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlaenauGwentFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews