We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting,welcoming atmosphere,good food,attentive staff - shame about the noise from the room overhead” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briarfields Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Briarfields Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice setting,welcoming atmosphere,good food,attentive staff - shame about the noise from the room overhead”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent for those who enjoy exploring the local area and wildlife.
There is a warm and welcoming atmosphere as soon as you arrive and the staff are attentive without being overbearing. At the time of booking, I requested that the hotel arranged for a small cupcake with a candle to be brought to our dinner table as a surprise for my husband's 50th birthday and that the table be decorated. Unfortunately they were not able to do either which was a little disappointing.
The food was of a very good standard although by no means "fine dining" however the steak ordered was perfecly cooked as requested. Choice was excellent and use of local ingredients was pleasing. In particular the breakfast offering is extensive and the full English was nicely cooked.
The room we stayed in (17)was well appointed beautifully clean and the large double bed was decked with good quality linen. The bathroom again beautifully clean could benefit from underfloor heating and double glazing as the ceramic floor tiles are incredibly cold underfoot in winter! The walk in shower looks stylish but drains too slowly and threatens to flood the whole room in less than a couple of minutes.
Overhead noise was an issue. Did not appreciate being woken by what sounded like people moving around upstairs in shoes before 6am and the sound of water thundering down as the shower was running.(when raised this issue was told that this was surprising as sound proofing measures had been taken - obviously such measures were inadequate)
Internet access in the room is not reliable - signal only strong enough near reception.
Overall a good hotel,would return provided no overhead room. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on here.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at Briarifields, and would both return and reccomend.

With regard to the issues of overhead noise you encountered, I am very sorry that this was an issue during your stay. As you mention, we have used sound proofing foam beneath the flooorboards in the room above the one you stayed in, along with sound proofing underlay beneath the carpet.

I have noted the other issues raised regarding the bathroom, and am working to reslove these issues.

Thanks again for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Briarfields again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    102
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
63
194
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
440 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in Room 11 which was very large, beautifully furnished with a bathroom and shower en-suite. The room was all one could ask for. We were greeted and shown to our room, a nice touch. We were on a dinner bed & breakfast deal and had gone with group of 11 to do some bird watching. The hotel is handily placed for Titchwell and other bird reserves are not very far away.

We were given the menu which did not change for any of the three nights we stayed. There was a specials board which had a few options on it and had some changes daily. The service was fine. There was only one vegetarain option on the menu although they happily found three others when asked. They also made me omelette and chips on one day when I did not fancy the options. The mussels were, I am told, very good, as was the mackerel and they could obviousely cook fish well.

Breakfast was a full English or selection of cooked dishes plus fruit, cereals etc.

The concerns were; they ran out of beer, custard and porridge plus the croissants were not good and they ran out of them too.

Staff were very polite and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: we were upgraded to room 11 which appeared to be the biggest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on here.

I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be all you required, and that you seemed to enjoy the food also.

I must apologise that we ran out of certain items, including one of our real ales. We do of course strive to keep all items in stock, but unfortunately there will be occasions when we run out.

I hope to welcome you to Briarfields again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMBS, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Need a place to stay for a few days to completely chill out - this place fits the bill perfectly. It is situated on the main coastal road just outside Hunstanton. We popped in to see if there were any rooms available, which luckily there were - we were shown around a few rooms to see what suited and I was impressed with them all - everywhere looked newly decorated and furnished. We chose a room in the right hand corner (if you are coming out of the door leading into the courtyard) - it was very spacious, but still cosy, a massive bed, with a big bath and a walk in shower. In the main building there are lots of leather sofas that you can sink into and a big fireplace. On the first night, we went to the restaurant - the food was outstanding and it was decided that we didn't need to find anywhere to eat for the next night as we would definitely be back for more! The breakfast was also very good. The staff were relaxed and helpful. I'm hoping to need to chill out again some time soon so i can stay at The Briarfields again!

Room Tip: Just ask if you can view some first - if only to be nosey!!! :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRINCESSP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on here.

I was thrilled to read you found Briarfields to be such a good place to relax and chill out,and also that you were impressed by our food and service.

Such positive feedback is excellent for our staff, it really does help to keep us motivated and striving for improvement where possible.

We hope to welcome you to Briarfields again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at Briafields instead go the Lifeboat this year for our post Christmas "chill out" what a good move. Briafields was very comfortable, the staff very attentive and friendly, the food out of this world. Maybe not the fullest of menus but everything we chose was excellent. The room we had was comfortable and it was nice to sit by the open stove with a roaring fire with a beer before dinner. The only down side was the information packs still had Christmas leaflets. They should have been pushing st Valentines day? This did not if fact affect us!! Thank you a for a lovely break.

Room Tip: Don't be too close the the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackbottle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on here.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much,and that the food and service also impressed. It is a great motivator for our team to read such positive feedback, it does incentivise us to keep up the good work.

We hope you will find the time for another chill out at Briarfields soon.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

For several years now, this has been our first choice for a short break in North Norfolk. Ideally placed close to the coast and most of the hot birdwatching spots. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff extremely helpful and the food good value for money. A nice touch with the latter is extra bonuses for residents with no supplements for higher priced choices and coffee or tea included in the dinner price.
It fits perfectly for birders in that there is an incentive to change into smart casual clothes for meals but without the need to take a suit of tie. A nice area for pre-meal drinks and the whole hotel provides a comfortable feel at all times. Also a large convenient car park.

Room Tip: We have stayed in hald a dozen different rooms and all have been very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barney067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacsandy, Manager at Briarfields Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on here.

I am very happy to hear, that as often returning guests you find our Hotel to be excellent value, and enjoy our restaurant, lounge and bar facilities.

Your comments are brilliant motivation for our team to keep pushing ahead, and continuing to make Briarifelds a popular retreat,that offers great value.

We look foreward to welcoming you to Briarfields again in the future.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Bradley.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titchwell
0.2 km away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
7.6 km away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
7.5 km away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
7.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
7.3 km away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarfields Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields Hotel

Property: Briarfields Hotel
Address: Main Road | Norfolk, Titchwell PE31 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Titchwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titchwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the peaceful North West Norfolk Coastline, Briarfields at Titchwell is a hidden gem. Take the A149 coastal road to find us and enjoy our tranquil setting and warm welcome that our Norfolk Hotel offers. Situated between RSPB Titchwell and Royal West Norfolk Golf course, both overlooking the beach at Brancaster, Briarfields offers peace and relaxation and as much outdoor activity as you choose. Briarfields has stunning views of the open space of Norfolk's skies and Titchwell salt marshes, which are the natural home for both freshwater and saltwater wildlife. In the winter, enjoy sitting by our log fire with a pint of real ale or our special afternoon tea. In the summer, take in the views whilst enjoying a glass of Pimms on the terrace. Briarfields has many nooks and crannies for you to find your own space to relax and enjoy time out. An ideal location for holidays, short breaks, weddings, functions and private parties, Briarfields Norfolk Hotel offers a relaxed charm and atmosphere. Many of our guests use us as a base to explore the Norfolk coast, Norfolk's historical houses and the nearby market towns of Hunstanton, Burnham Market, Fakenham and King's Lynn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Briarfields Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Titchwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing