We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place - shame we live so far away!”

Pensthorpe Natural Park
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Fakenham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Multiple WINNER of Norfolk's Best Large Attraction, Pensthorpe Natural Park is a great day out for the whole family! Explore one of the largest Wildflower Meadows in Norfolk, enjoy the beauty of 4 stunning gardens, meet some of our rare and native species and run wild in WildRootz, our outdoor adventure play! Whatever the weather, kids can come in for an epic indoor adventure in Hootz House, the award winning indoor adventure play.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

What a day out! Pensthorpe Natural Park almost has it all. Wonderful scenery, a range of wildlife, stamp trails for the children, great walks and the most amazing play areas for all ages! My husband and daughter spent lots of time exploring and going down the bumpy slide at the indoor play area. It’s all made from natural materials (as the name suggests) and is strong enough to have no age limit on any of the equipment. We did say it would have been great if there had been lockers for the adults to store bags/money - that way both myself and my husband could have enjoyed playing with our daughter at the same time. Never the less a great time was had and after our walk we headed for a quick shop before leaving. We said that we would have happily stayed for the whole day if the cafe had been better (in our view it doesn’t have the same feeling of quality as the rest of the park). If we lived around here we would definitely be members here - shame we live so far away!

Thank K4tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe N, Marketing & PR Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. You've made some interesting comments which I shall pass on to the team.

We would be delighted if you made a return visit and hope the distance doesn't put you off visiting our lovely corner of North Norfolk again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"red squirrels"
in 71 reviews
"play area"
in 69 reviews
"the reserve"
in 57 reviews
"all ages"
in 66 reviews
"wild rootz"
in 22 reviews
"land rover"
in 14 reviews
"gift shop"
in 47 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 24 reviews
"conservation work"
in 12 reviews
"water birds"
in 14 reviews
"nature lovers"
in 11 reviews
"ducks and geese"
in 9 reviews
"breeding programme"
in 7 reviews
"bird life"
in 20 reviews
"pond dipping"
in 22 reviews
"great family day"
in 16 reviews
"amazing play"
in 7 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We primarily chose to come as it was supposed to rain and we wanted somewhere we could go inside when it did. However the rain held out and we thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor playground, walks and bird spotting, alongwith the indoor play which is one of the calmest and quietest we've ever visited. Lovely cafe and shop, all in all a great day out - super for active youngsters like ours.

Thank susiiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe N, Marketing & PR Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We have been thinking of taking a trip to Pensthorpe for a while but we have unfortunately never got around to doing so but, through an announcement on Facebook this morning that entry was £5 for the day due to the heavy rain, we finally made the journey.

After what felt like an eternity to get there (we live 10 miles away, but with all the surrounding roads flooded, it would of been easier to fly in!), we were met by a courteous assistant at the tills. As this was our first time to Pensthorpe, she explained where everything was on site and how to reach the indoor play area where our 5 year old was desperate to try out.

As I am no expert on indoor play areas, my son has reliably told me it was the best he has ever been to! I have seen a few reviews on here regarding its safety, but I can wholeheartedly say there's no issue whatsoever. The floor is rubber matted (think soft athletics track). There are plenty of soft pads at head height. There was a young lad who did bump his head while we were there. But a member of staff was quickly on hand with a cold pack for him and after a few tears he was up and running again in a matter of minutes. Accidents are always going to happen but everything is in place to try and prevent and to treat which was great to see.

After the indoor play area we decided to brave the rain (or as my son called it, God leaving the tap on and flooding his house). We had a good look around the site while completing the Easter trail to win a limited edition badge. My wife and I explored the hides with our son, explaining what they are used for and why we must be quiet around them. He was a little bit nervous around some of the larger birds but soon got used to them as we continued exploring, even going so far as to efesionally name a Swan "Steven" (he takes after his mother!).

After having a good look round (and the sun finally making its 5 minute cameo) it was time to call it a day.

Today was a day which hopefully our sons memories will be built around. Yes the weather was atrocious, yes what should of been a 30 minute drive took us an hour but it was completely worth it. In the day in which ipads and PlayStations are taking over jumpers for goalposts and 40/40, we are so lucky to have a place like this so close to home. We are already looking forward to our next visit, be it £5 in a monsoon, or full price in glorious sunshine.

2  Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe N, Marketing & PR Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you so much. Your end paragraph makes it all worth while for the team here - this is our ultimate goal - to get children and families outdoors and enjoy some quality time together, creating memories.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had meant to be going elsewhere but a member of our party wanted to go here, as it was their birthday nobody wanted to disagree, although didn’t seem as interesting as the zoo .

When we arrived, we were treated by a friendly lady who informed us that due to the weather (it was bank holiday Monday and the weather wasn’t amazing) that they’d put admission prices down which is always a bonus. Especially when least expected.

We first saw a lady with an owl who was also very kind spoke to the children and let them stroke the owl.

We then headed to our pre booked play session. It literally is amazing the kids would spend all day in their if they could, and to top it off adults are also allowed in also. With a little shop to buy refreshments (not meals) it’s great! The slides are super fast all ages from 3-26 enjoyed them!

We then went for a walk and done the trail around the park collecting stamps and finding the bunnies with the letters to win a prize.

All the excitement we stopped for food which is amazing and very good value for money ! I also found it very clean.

Another walk round the park the kids asked to play in the play area again. We said we can ask as obviously outside the time slot we book, and the guy kindly let us in again due to it being quiet !! Which us adults where happy about as we got to sit down for 5 mins (before obviously joining the kids racing down the slides)

All round good experience and a good 5hour day out too ! Kids are already asking to go back !

One tip though careful of the ducks they get a bit excited and may nibble your fingers or steal your bag of food !!!

1  Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe N, Marketing & PR Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We ended up being very lucky to have you as our visitors on a day you were supposed to go elsewhere! It sounds like you had a fabulous day and we really do hope you come back again soon.

Also, happy birthday to the person in your group who was celebrating - we hope it was a birthday to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I've been to Pensthorpe at least 5 times in the last few years. I can honestly say, the facilities for a family are superb. The indoor & outdoor childrens play areas are of a very high standard, clean, well maintained & enjoyable for kids of all ages. The birds are a lovely sight with good sized enclosures. Really nice nature trails, very relaxing to take a slow walk. I feel the admission price is good value for money, but mainly for children. There is a good café on site & a lovely gift shop. Perfect for sunny days, perhaps not the best place to visit if the weather isn't pleasant.

Thank HunterClanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe N, Marketing & PR Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.

We hope you continue to visit us over the next few years - have you thought about becoming a member?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pensthorpe Natural Park also viewed

 
Sheringham, Norfolk
 

Been to Pensthorpe Natural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing