We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
123
33
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
123
33
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lady tower king oswald spa bath the kitchen high standard a lovely stay stayed for nights country retreat double bed dining chairs we loved our stay lovely week owners michael lovely touch beautiful place apartment luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2020

The house is extremely grand externally and the grounds are simply stunning. The hot tub was cleaned whilst there and the little changing shed a lovely touch. The layout of the house is good (although we asked for a floor plan to prepare for our arrival but didn't get one, which led to a bit of confusion when we arrived) and its is tastefully decorated. Everything was clean and well appointed when we arrived. However, the beds were not comfortable at all, with a number of our party complaining about this: in our double bed we could feel the springs through the mattress. We did have a couple of issues when we were there and when we rang to get them rectified, some were (wifi issue sorted) and others weren't (we needed a bed converting back to a king from twin which wasn't facilitated). We had a maintenance man in to investigate a cupboard in one of the rooms, King Oswald, that actually smelt like something had died in there! The investigations concluded that some thing likely had(!) and there wasn't much they could do. The major negative incident occurred when delivery men were given the code for the door and opened it without any of our party being informed that this had happened. We had 6 children in the house, as well as all our possessions, and were pretty concerned from a safeguarding and security view, that strangers had access without our knowledge. They also left the delivery of 8 dining chairs in the entrance hall blocking access and creating a clear fire hazard. We did speak to a lovely man who does maintenance around the property who did come and moved the chairs, but the other staff we spoke to were quite abrupt on more than one occasion. One of these staff, a female cleaner (who we were aware was coming and going throughout our stay) left dirty laundry from another property in the same entrance hall which was a massive COVID risk from our standpoint and when questioned about it was quite rude to one of us stating the laundry company they normally used wasn't operating so she had to do washes in our machines. Overall, the house was lovely and we had a really nice time but for the price (over £6000 for 6 nights!) it wasn't very good value for money given the issues we had.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2020

First of all the wifi doesnt work so is not 'high speed' at all. Nor was it luxury in any way shape or form, there was damp everywhere, the paint was pealing. The kitchen is barley usable due to it being minute. I would not recomend staying.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1dhdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

We came to Staffield hall for 4 nights to get away from it all and it didn’t disappoint! We stopped in Dove Cote (right in the roof) and it was lovely. Very clean and tastefully decorated. It had everything we needed and was very homely. We loved waking up each day to the sounds of The birds singing, the sheep bleating and the pheasants calling without any traffic noise. So peaceful. The grounds are lovely - just perfect for an hour in the autumn sunshine with your book! It’s in the middle of nowhere but close enough to local towns and amenities to not feel too remote. There are a couple of excellent pubs nearby too for a spot if dinner. The communication from the owner was friendly and timely too, would certainly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mrs_hirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2019

Stayed here a few weeks ago and have held off doing a review because once more people know about this, it will be impossible to get booked.

Gorgeous place a mile or two from Kirkoswald. Surrounded by peace, quiet and fields. Apartment was perfect, large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and shower, fully equipped kitchen, comfortable bed and a lovely living room. Could have stayed for weeks rather than just the three nights we had booked for.

Only downside was getting our luggage from the car to the Peel Tower room which was at the top of the building. We chose to eat in on two of our nights and had taken provisions with us. The other night we ate at a local pub.

The most relaxing break we have had in a while, can’t wait to book again.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Service
Thank WendyAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Hi Wendy, Super to hear that you will be wanting to book with us again, we will be very pleased to help you reserve another relaxing break at Staffield Hall. Thank you so much for your compimentary comments - It´s great to feel so motivated by them. Kind Regards Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2019 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights at the end of April and we loved it from start to finish. Staffield Hall is a lovely old country house with many of the original features retained, in a beautiful country setting. It's location is great for both the North Pennines and the Lake District but you'll need a car. We had our dog with us, sometimes she can be a little unsettled on the first night in a new place but that was absolutely not the case here. We went to Coombs wood, a couple of miles north of Staffield, to take her for walks most days. It's a lovely wood with lots of paths and no sheep!! (there are lots of sheep around the area!)

The accommodation itself was first class. The kitchen had everything we needed but I did think it would have been a nice touch to provide fresh coffee for the cafetiere. The only other thing I would say is the pillows were very hard, they seemed quite old and could do with being replaced. Very minor points that would not stop us from returning. There was no disturbance from other guests and there was ample opportunity to use the shared hot tub.

All in all, we loved it!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alis0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Super to hear you enjoyed a great stay and enjoyed use of the Hot Tub too, what lovely views from there too. I will pass your kind comments on to Jackie the housekeeper too. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews