We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience with some things to improve”
Review of Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #64 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Regarding the staff, all of them were always smiling and very helpful, even though you could see they had crazy shifts.

The food in the restaurant had a great variety and good quality. I would just improve the drinks and the coffee, since in a place like Greece you can't just have that coffee :).

The worst thing about the hotel is the lack of insonorisation in the rooms. The doors makes a lot of noise when closing, so sleeping is almost impossible. Strongly recommend you to ask for a room not facing the street (really noisy). Also the bathroom in our room was extremely small (I'm 1,75 tall and I couldnt barely move in the shower)

It has as well a swimming pool who everybody is able to access from the street and nobody is controlling (which was for me weird .. )

Apart of that, I would definetely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDpt, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Jorge,

We would like to thank your for your comments, and we promise to use your review in order to improve our service in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We originally booked with Armava hotel but were transferred to Golden beach as armava was fully booked. Wow we were so stunned when walking in to reception. Outstanding modern features and a lot of space.
FOOD. Food was fairly good, although we ate downstairs where Armava guests eat. Breakfast was very nice with fresh bread. Lunch was okay but the dinners in the evening were top notch although sometimes there wasnt a selection of meat available.. not a big fan of pork so sometimes I didnt consume meat.
DRINKS. Bit of a downer that we paid extra money for cocktails etc. Even though in all inclusive you get your basic drinks, you have to pay extra for nice cocktails such as a mojito and strawberry daiqiri. We ended up dishing out another £120 on top. However the bartender who made the cocktails was very professional, enthusiastic, friendly and outgoing. He really enjoys his job and making customers days. His name was Lefteris and wow, what a kind gentleman he is. Also the waitresses Anna, Magda and Isabella were fantastic. Catarina was very hard working.
ROOM. Room was not the biggest but very well layed out. Big wardrobe, big telly, free air conditioning, fantastic bathroom with hot water. The balcony not huge but nice to enjoy the sun in. Our bed was lovely too.
Overall comments...
I think the hotel needs some entertainment for guests as sometimes the guests do nothing but eat and stare at each other. The location is good however the hotel is easy to find and the bus stop is 2 mins away. The outside area of the hotel is really nice, so nice to chill out with a cocktail. We ate everyday over looking the sea. Overall, im really going to miss Crete and this hotel I think for the money we paid we got what we were hoping for, especially seeing as we were originally meant to stay in Armava. Not complaining, will be looking to return for sure. thank you especially to LEFTERIS for making our stay so so pleasant. Big love

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martamaria1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDpt, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments regarding our hotel and our staff, and we hope to welcome you again to Golden Beach.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a sleepless stay in the Golden Beach hotel. The noise late at night and on a morning is quite unbelievable: people were chasing each other down the corridors in the early hours and the maids were speaking at the top of their voices early doors. The maids, by the way, who attempted to enter your room at 8am and refrained from sweeping the floor when they were able to enter! When we complained at reception, we were offered another room but there were no promises it would be any quieter so we stayed put, hoping the drilling of the air con might drown out the other guests.

We stayed on a half-board basis, with breakfast and dinner included. The first night we ventured to the restaurant and whilst seated quickly and attentively, this sadly cannot make up for the dire food. We ate out every other night. Breakfast was marginally better with yoghurt and some lovely fresh bread. However, don't be fooled when they tell you it finishes at 10:30 each morning- they pack away at 10:00 prompt. Because of the sleepless nights and mediocre food, we 'slept in' and ate out for breakfast at the highly recommended Plaza Verde bar for the majority of our stay.

Outside, the pool is small and most sunbeds are placed away from it. I personally wouldn't bother with the pool and would recommend seating in the Plaza Verde section where beds are comfier and with more space. The service here is impeccable too and a saving point of an otherwise poor hotel.

Despite all this, Golden Beach is in a good location and the room is equipped as you would expect - although I don't know which guests require a large flat screen tv; I personally would have preferred the dressing table space. However, due to the noise, I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDpt, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Laura,

We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are sorry that we didn't offer a more enjoyable stay, and we will use your remarks in order to improve our service.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We just came back from the wonderful,Greek island Crete.We stayed in this hotel for 11 nights/12 days.Everything went pefect.
We had the room on the second flor;nice,new,modern furniture;mini bar.The room was in a quiet part of the hotel as we asked,because we were traveling with our son who is 5 years old.The sleep quality is high, the bads are confortable, the mattresses are new.The room is large and nice.A/C works perfect.WF also excellent.
The balcony is small and unusefull,but you want need it because there is a box form A/C and it is too hot there in july so it has no sence sitting on the balkony even in the evening.
The food is great;we went half board;breakfast and dinner were really tasty and varied- for 12 days never had the same food in the evening.
The hotel is baby friendly.
The stuff is polite and kind.
The hotel is on the beach which is lovely.2 sunbeds and sunumbrella costs 8 euro per whole day.There are lots of bars and restaurants near the beach.Sea is wonderful warm and blue...
We would recomand this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarijaUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDpt, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Marija,

We are very happy to read your really nice comments regarding our hotel, and your enjoyable stay with us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Golden Beach Hotel.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in July 2017 as a couple. Nice rooms and polite staff.

Food was good and varied.

No evening entertainment but the plaza beach bar at the back is very nice (you have to pay for it)

Would recommend for people looking for a nice hotel but not a resort you can stay on all day and night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Trina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDpt, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Trina,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments, and we are looking forward to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Armava
Hotel Armava
#131 of 172 in Hersonissos
40 reviews
5.8 km away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
0.2 km away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#58 of 172 in Hersonissos
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Evelyn Beach Hotel
Evelyn Beach Hotel
#106 of 172 in Hersonissos
165 reviews
0.1 km away
Glaros Beach Hotel
Glaros Beach Hotel
#75 of 172 in Hersonissos
250 reviews
4.9 km away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Hotel

Address: 191 Eleftheriou Venizelou Street | Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: €48 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous holiday resort of Crete, Hersonissos, just few steps from a sandy beach.Golden Beach has recently undergone a change of appearance achieving a beautiful balance of comfort and style, featuring 162 rooms, many of them enjoying blue views.Our outstanding friendly service and carefully crafted design that our guests enjoy are elements that achieve a relaxing stay in Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Hersonissos
Golden Beach Creta
Hotel Golden Beach
Golden Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing