We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family based holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aldemar Cretan Village
Ranked #17 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We were a party of mother and daughter and arrived back 3 days ago. Aldemar Cretan Village is a large complex built on a side of a hill with lots of steps/slopes. For a 4* holiday I think that a safe should have been standard. Although we never had any qualms about security I am not sure our insurance company would have been sympathetic that our valuable belongings were not in a safe. There is a small fridge. Our room would be described as rustic with low wattage lights and in need of an update (Room 611). The shower was good. The complex encourages you to put all paper waste in a bin by the side of the loo which is emptied every day. The rooms were cleaned every day. There is an army of people keeping the complex clean and tidy. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was near the beach and children's pool so it was surrounded by families with young children. The beach has a little shale type sand suitable for young children to paddle but for swimmers there is a need to overcome the many rocks to see the many fish. Beach shoes would be an idea.
The animation team were great and went around trying to encourage people to take part in various games. Enjoyed the get together of the team for their Settimari Club routine. Looked at it on utube but Cretan Village's routine was the best. Uk visitors probably made up about 1% with people from mostly Russia and Germany. Everyone was kind and good mannered. The food was ok if you weren't fussy with a roast every night but got a bit the same after a week. Always pasta, chips and rice available. The desserts were lots of Es and all flavourless mousses. The battered deep fried food was always very pale in colour. Not sure about deep fried broccoli. It was interesting to see what food people from other countries liked. Cake for breakfast!
There are 6 pools. I liked that there were smaller pools dotted around rather than one huge pool for the whole of the complex. The pool nearest the evening bar was the coldest and the one that water polo was played with not many young children around. The children's pool was warmer and the sea very warm. There was a day when there was big waves and the red flag was up. We never found any problem getting a sun bed. There are pool bars were coffee, beer, E slush, and wine available. The coffee was really great. the best I have ever tasted abroad.
We enjoyed sitting out on the veranda by the bar in the evening and the bar staff worked quickly serving drinks. Special mention to Christine (?) who always smiled and even remembered my favourite drink request. It wouldn't hurt if visitors could remember to say please and thankyou - in Greek would be even better. Would be an idea if smokers had a special area in the bar.
We did use the little train to go to Hersonissos. As mentioned by other reviewers a taxi would have been more comfortable and cheaper. We also got a local bus from outside the complex. Air Con and coach seats.
We had a late check out but found that there was no need to pay 50 euros to keep our room. There are showers in the loos in the main entrance and shower gel and towels available.

Room Tip: Rooms 600+ nearest the children's pool and beach on lowest level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repmgr, Reputation Manager at Aldemar Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Yvonne L,
thank you for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor subscribers.
We value your kind patronage, I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality provided by Aldemar Resorts.

We look forward to welcoming you once again.

With kind regards,
Tamarova Alina
Reputation Manager
Aldemar Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Myself, partner and 12year old daughter stayed here from 20th August for 11 nights. What a fabulous hotel, staff and food! Unfortunately for me I had a very bad accident which resulted in a badly broken wrist and badly sprained ankle!! Well what can I say, all the staff from Anna the guest relations lady, bar staff, managers, chef, receptionists were all so helpful and concerned. Our Jet2 rep Nikki was also brilliant! Everyone couldn't do enough for us and considering how incapacitated I was nothing was a problem. We can't express our gratitude to everyone at this fabulous hotel. This hotel is all you could wish for in a holiday, not just because of our holiday disaster, I would have said it was fabulous before the accident!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repmgr, Reputation Manager at Aldemar Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Samantha D,
thank you for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor subscribers.
We value your kind patronage, I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality provided by Aldemar Resorts.

We look forward to welcoming you once again.

With kind regards,
Tamarova Alina
Reputation Manager
Aldemar Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The hotel is perfect for family vacation. Large area with a lot of plants, clean and pleasant everywhere, very friendly personnel, perfect food and incredible see. There are a lot of interesting places to visit :) Very nice hotel in perfect place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank irinaa874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repmgr, Reputation Manager at Aldemar Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear irinaa874,
thank you for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor subscribers.
We value your kind patronage, I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality provided by Aldemar Resorts.

We look forward to welcoming you once again.

With kind regards,
Tamarova Alina
Reputation Manager
Aldemar Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The rooms are clean, the food is very good and the Sea is fantastic and it look likes a fishtank....
But the best I found here is the animation team! They're very friendly hardworking, professional and also funny.
Big thanks to Giovanni and Stefano for the awesome days toghether!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repmgr, Reputation Manager at Aldemar Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Luca M
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that the overall experience during the recent stay met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you, once again.

With kind regards,
Tamarova Alina
Reputation Manager
Aldemar Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Aldemar Cretan Village is a very beautiful and welcoming resort situated right on the seafront, about 3 km from the town of Hersonissos. Situated downhill the resort is divided into 3 large areas with bungalows and each has direct access to at least one swimming pool. In the center of the resort there is the restaurant, bars, shops, etc.

For us, a family with 2 adults and 2 children, the stay here was very beautiful, because unlike the opulence of the Turkish resorts, here you are closer to nature, beach and sea. The resort is full of alleys and green spaces, and although outside was a grueling sun, the air was not suffocating. The beach is wide enough and very long, there are plenty of pools, and children have a good time on a very long slide. The rooms have a balcony or the ground floor outlet directly in the courtyard, are quite large and originally arranged in rustic style. Perhaps the climbing and lowering of the steps sometimes gave us some difficulties, but it was compensated for the authenticity and beauty of the place. The food was very good and quite diversified.

The staff is especially welcoming, friendly and kind, especially Sofia, Mihaela and Ianis, whom we thank for hospitality. Cretan Village is a welcoming place where we would like to come back with great pleasure!

Room Tip: the front-line rooms in front of the beach are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank razm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repmgr, Reputation Manager at Aldemar Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear razm,


We would like to thank you for the kind and encouraging comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Cretan Village.

We are more than pleased to know that our hotel and services exceeded your expectations and your appreciating comments fill us with pride. Your comments are already shared with all our personnel and they are much appreciated. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result. Your kind remarks encourage us to continue the good and hard work, assuring you of our best of attentions and quality services at all times.

With kind regards,
Tamarova Alina
Reputation Manager
Aldemar Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.5 km away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#13 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,459 reviews
1.6 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
2.4 km away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
4.1 km away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#29 of 172 in Hersonissos
786 reviews
2.1 km away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Anissaras
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Cretan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Cretan Village

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: €95 - €330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldemar Cretan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this small traditional village overlooking the sea, the two-story buildings are decorated in bright colors and surrounded by flowers in bloom. Cretan Village offers a holiday full of activities and new experiences. All our restaurants offer Mediterranean dishes and authentic local cuisine. Youngsters can embark on voyages of endless fun on board the pirate ship in our children's play area. Embrace our spontaneous Cretan hospitality and enjoy a carefree vacation with your beloved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldemar Cretan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Cretan Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Cretan Village Hersonissos
Aldemar Cretan Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing