We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Great location, large comfortable room. The pools and the beach are amazing. Multiple pools had the advantage that the crowd is divided. The staff was kind and welcoming. The food was great and the all inclusive deal was fantastic. We sure will recommend everyone to book a vacation here.

Room Tip: close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaely301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you dedicated to write this wonderful review about your holidays at Creta Maris! We are glad to read that we met your expectations and succeeded to provide you a memorable time in Crete.

Really, hope to have the chance to welcome you again and provide our best services!

Best Regards,
Faye Papaioannou
Marketing & PR Manager
Creta Maris Beach Resort, Hersonissos, Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 3,222 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Amazing service Maria from family area were so kind trough all our vication.
The people here are very kind and delightful.
We were thrilled to spand our vacation in this hotel and we recommend to all our beloved.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Efrat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that we met your expectations during your stay at Creta Maris Beach Resort.

We are looking forward to accommodating you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Faye Papaioannou
Marketing & PR Manager
Creta Maris Beach Resort, Hersonissos, Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This was my first family holiday with my grandson and I couldn’t ask for a better place. The resort is very large but never felt too crowded. Lots of pools, amazing beach, many providing peace and quiet. Close to the airport, walking distance from the city's port – but the place was so fun we didn’t want to leave it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Efrat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the holidays' experience you had at Creta Maris Beach Resort with us and the TripAdvisor’s travelers. We are delighted that we met your expectations during your stay with us!

Hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future and offer another memorable holidays' experience!

Best Regards,
Faye Papaioannou
Marketing & PR Manager
Creta Maris Beach Resort, Hersonissos, Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We visited the hotel 2nd-12th September with a 1 and 4 year old. We were very excited to return to Crete and have always enjoyed the hospitality and food. We found the hotel to have lovely staff, an extremely well run and hard working animation team and good food. Lovely Greek cuisine throughout the hotel though we loved Estia the most due to the quieter nature and variety of Italian food that appealed to the kids.
Our room was nice and clean - fairly basic but did what it said on the tin. A couch instead of a table and chairs would have been nicer for the kids and to relax but hey ho.
TV is very limited for English language.
Didn't try the spa but heard good things.
Loved the quieter pools up at estia and the water slides were great fun.
4 year old went into the kids club voluntarily for a couple of hours and loved it - great space and very quiet.
Kids disco was cute - cheesy fun! Micheal jackson night good too.
Hersonnisis is more commercial now than we hoped but had a lovely meal at a restaurant beside the hotel which was right at the beach - excellent cocktails!
All in all we had a great time. We've been to the Middle East a lot over the last few years and I would say this is a 4 star resort in comparison. It's just not as luxurious but still a great find.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank emmacontract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your holidays at Creta Maris Beach Resort. We are glad that we met your expectations during your stay with us. Moreover, we would like to thank you for your comments, we will take them into consideration.

Looking forward to accommodating you again in our resort and providing our best services!

Best Regards,
Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

While I am hesitant to write a poor review on a business because I am a business owner myself, I do feel this review may be helpful to others.

We were booked at this resort by our travel agent and had no prior knowledge of this place. We read the website and related reviews on the resort and must say in my opinion the resort is greatly overrated. This is our 4th hotel/resort of our 30 day trip and not our first experience with all inclusive hotels or international travel. So this review is not from an inexperienced person.

We checked in around 8:00 pm. The check in process was like normal but the person who checked us in offered basically no greeting and when she finished her routine explanation we were shown to our room. For a resort this size, one needs more information to enjoy their stay. She offered none.

We were advised to make reservations for our restaurant choice 24 hours in advance and we did in the Estia. No where were we informed it was a 15 minute walk up hill to reach that place. We did manage to get a ride in a go cart there and chose to walk back. The restaurant that requires a 24 hour reservation probably seats 200 people.....there were 7 in there counting us. I understand during peak season it could be busy so I have no problem with the reservation requirement. We were not aware this was a buffet. We expected an elegant dining experience. Based on the repeated reminder of their resort dress code (elegant) it was a logical assumption. Our food was bland. Service was nonexistent once they placed the obligatory water on the table. We were never offered the chance to purchase a bottle of wine and never spoke to our server again during the meal. As we tried to make the best of it the staff began setting tables for the next morning's breakfast and made us feel we were in their way. Nothing like white paper napkins being placed all around you while you are trying to enjoy a nice dinner.

The resort is huge. The beach is like many in Greece. The beach bar service was poor at first but did get better during the day. Chairs, towels and umbrellas were adequate. However, if you are going for a peaceful day on the beach, this is not the place! It is a family resort and there were many crying kids all day.

The in room mini bar was another let down. Minimally stocked and only refilled once per week. Seriously? An all inclusive, "elegant" resort and the mini bar is stocked once per week.

This resort is designed for handling masses of people and appears to over advertise its ability to pamper their guests.

I do feel this is a good place for a family to stay and the grounds were nice. But for a middle aged couple traveling without kids, this is not a place I recommend. Again, it was chosen by our agent so the choice was ours to stay there.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lowcntryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the time you dedicated to write it. We appreciate our guests’ feedback, as we consider it the most important part of our constructive communication, thus we would like to assure you that we will do our best to ameliorate our services even more in the future, according to your comments.

However, we would like to offer you some explanation on the aforementioned points of your review.

Please let us explain you that the score Creta Maris Beach Resort has in Tripadvisor, as well as in all other platforms is the result of our guests’ personal ratings and reviews, and we are more than proud of it. We are sorry to read that you felt that Creta Maris Beach Resort is designed for handling masses of people, as our genuine Cretan hospitality and our staff is the reason our guests choose to come back again and prefer our resort even for decades. However, as we respect our guests’ feedback, we promise to take into consideration your comment.

In reply to your comment about our Reception agent, we would like to mention our surprise, as each one of our Reception agents are extremely friendly and they are more than happy to offer all the necessary information to all our guests. In particular, we would like to clarify that apart from the detailed map of the resort our guests are given upon their arrival, they are also advised by our staff to download our mobile Creta Maris application, which provides all the necessary information about the resort, as its amenities, facilities, services and a GPS system, showing your exact location on Creta Maris’ map. In addition, guests are advised to contact our Guests Service Desk for any necessary information needed about the resort and their stay. Moreover, please let us point out that after mentioning in your review about no greeting and lack of information upon your check-in, you state that you were advised to make reservations for our restaurants 24 hours in advance, which indicates that you were offered information about our restaurants’ reservation system. Additionally, please let us mention that you were also offered a free room upgrade upon your check-in from a Deluxe Sea View Room to a Deluxe Family Room.

Furthermore, please be kindly informed that our restaurant Estia is located approximately 200 m. from the reception desk and it can be reached in 2-5 minutes on foot (a walk without hurrying). As you mention in your review, our guests have also the chance to be transferred to any point of our resort by a club car, after making a simple request to the reception or our guest service desk.

As concerns the dining options of our restaurants, we would like to clarify that we mention them in our website, in our All-Inclusive description and through our cooperating tour operators and their brochures. Thus, we try to avoid misunderstandings with our guests, like happened in your case.

Furthermore, please let us mention that as the vast majority of our guests praise our staff and the services offered, we are surprised reading about the dissatisfaction you had in our beach bar and our Estia Restaurant. We hope you would have asked our F&B staff for a wine list or anything else you wanted, so they could have offered you. In addition, we are sorry that you felt uncomfortable due to the setting of the tables for breakfast, and would like to assure you that we will do our best so this will never happen again.

Continuing, it is inevitable that some areas of our resort, like our main swimming pool or the beach, will accommodate the majority of our guests. However, as Creta Maris Beach Resort is located in an area of 150,000 sq.m., and offers 6 different swimming pools with sunbeds and umbrellas, our guests can easily find a place to be accommodated in one more quiet area. Moreover, our pool attendants will be more than happy to assist you finding an available sunbed or proposing a quieter place, to relax.

Further, as it is mentioned in all our brochures and descriptions a mini bar, which is offered in Deluxe Rooms and Suites, is filled only upon arrival. In case a guest prefers this service on a daily basis, this can be offered with an extra fee upon request.

Lastly, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and did not succeeded to offer you a pleasant stay and memorable holidays’ experience, as this is our primary goal. We would like to mention that we hope you have contacted our Guest Service desk and expressed your concerns while staying at the resort, so we could have offered any information and solution possible, to make your stay a memorable one.

We hope to have the chance to accommodate you again in the future and offer an ameliorated holidays’ experience.

Best Regards,
Faye Papaioannou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
3.3 km away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
774 reviews
4.6 km away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.2 km away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.9 km away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
32.9 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: €146 - €560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing